Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

readerfrombrighton

2 children aged 11 & 7.
Joined April 2015

Favourite book EVER is Anne of Green Gables by L M Montgomery AND The Poisonwood Bible by Barbara Kingsolver
  1. #27 of 4478 reviewers for 7 year olds
  2. #23 of 2219 reviewers for 11 year olds
Group
Bobbin
Bobbin, 11 230 books
Piglet
Piglet, 7 375 books
Following 15
Damodad
Damodad 88 reviews
astridthecrafty
astridthecrafty 7 reviews
TCR75
TCR75 335 reviews
Loopyloo
Loopyloo 11 reviews
Katieml
Katieml 406 reviews
Bellboo's Mumma
Bellboo's Mumma 269 reviews
KathrynKelly
KathrynKelly 342 reviews
Sam’s Mommy
Sam’s Mommy 121 reviews
Loubydoo
Loubydoo 609 reviews
Loubydoo
Loubydoo 609 reviews
LibraryGirlandBookBoy
LibraryGirlandBookBoy 114 reviews
ttcm
ttcm 143 reviews
KingJason
KingJason 123 reviews
Jon Biddle
Jon Biddle 8 reviews
34 Followers
giguk
giguk 46 reviews
tarek.kamal
tarek.kamal 0 reviews
furryclumsy48
furryclumsy48 2 reviews
ThisBookMummy
ThisBookMummy 37 reviews
Keeccles
Keeccles 69 reviews
Lara4eva
Lara4eva 193 reviews
Loopyloo
Loopyloo 11 reviews
JamesMinter
JamesMinter 0 reviews
Damodad
Damodad 88 reviews
br1jade19
br1jade19 9 reviews
Christine
Christine 0 reviews
Toppa
Toppa 138 reviews
Jessiicalouiise
Jessiicalouiise 12 reviews
KathrynKelly
KathrynKelly 342 reviews
VassilikiP@78
[email protected] 2 reviews
David Crosby
David Crosby 5 reviews
skye3105
skye3105 0 reviews
skye3105
skye3105 0 reviews
skye3105
skye3105 0 reviews
Flavia
Flavia 7 reviews
Flavia
Flavia 7 reviews
Flavia
Flavia 7 reviews
tutenfisch234
tutenfisch234 0 reviews
Elena
Elena 0 reviews
Elena
Elena 0 reviews
Elena
Elena 0 reviews
Elena
Elena 0 reviews
Elena
Elena 0 reviews
Funky bear
Funky bear 49 reviews
Funky bear
Funky bear 49 reviews
Emmapaintbrush
Emmapaintbrush 7 reviews
0 reviews
Moominatormama
Moominatormama 6 reviews
Brooke.Hawtin
Brooke.Hawtin 7 reviews
My Timeline Follow

Wrote a Review 16th March '19

Book pages Charlie Changes Into a Chicken
Charlie Changes Into a Chicken
I read it to Piglet aged 7
'Charlie changes into a chicken' is (probably) unlike any other book you will read.  It is ridiculous, funny and has some serious themes running through it (the main character, Charlie, has a brother in hospital who is awaiting the results of a scan, and is also the target of the school bully).  How does Charlie cope with his anxieties? By changing into various animals, of course! Why does this happen?  Charlie's group of friends are determined to find out, and undertake various experiments to seek out the cause.  This book is full of quirky characteristics (footnotes, Q & A's from readers, the author discussing the plot with the reader...).  It bounces around and keeps you entertained the whole way through, there are certainly never any boring bits.  It was a great story to read aloud to my son, and as with all good children's books it was an enjoyable story for both of us.

My son loved this book, and we are pleased to learn there will be more. Definitely recommend for fans of Mr Gum and The Nothing to See Here Hotel series.

Wrote a Review 11th March '19

Book pages Fanatical About Frogs
Fanatical About Frogs
I read it to Bobbin aged 11 & to Piglet aged 7
My children are huge fans of this series of books by Owen Davey, and I was delighted to find his newest book in the library.  As with his other books, there are lots of bright, engaging pictures and diagrams and fascinating facts.  The book covers everything you might ever want to know about frogs, from what they have in common, what they eat (with some truly gruesome facts!), how they communicate, their role in mythological tales and how the reader can engage in frog conservation. As ever, there was plenty in this book for both my children and I to learn.  This is a fantastic book in that it is full of interesting facts which means that my children are learning without it feeling forced. It definitely puts a bit of fun into learning, and I feel it helps to know that there will be no test at the end. Highly recommend this book for any young nature lovers, and it would make a fantastic gift.

Entered a Giveaway 11th March '19

Book pages Placeholder Book
Swimming Against the Storm
For Ages
9, 10, 11 & 12
No. of Copies
11
End Date
9th Apr '19
Open to residents of Republic of Ireland & United Kingdom

Entered a Giveaway 11th March '19

Book pages Placeholder Book
The Sea: Exploring our blue planet
For Ages
9, 10, 11, 12, 13 & 14
No. of Copies
11
End Date
9th Apr '19
Open to residents of Republic of Ireland & United Kingdom

Entered a Giveaway 4th March '19

Book pages Placeholder Book
Collins Primary French Dictionary: Learn with Words
For Ages
7, 8, 9 & 10
No. of Copies
11
End Date
31st Mar '19
Open to residents of Republic of Ireland & United Kingdom