Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

Bee Alert

by

Bee Alert Reviews | Toppsta

Book Rating: 5 based on 4
4 Reviews
Write a Review

When Ben goes to stay with his grandpa in the country for the summer, he’s hoping that somewhere, somehow, there’ll be a mystery to solve. Stumbling on a case of alarming disappearances, he comes to realize that solving this case may prove more dangerous than anything he could ever have imagined. Will he survive the hornet’s attack? Is there anyone who’ll believe his incredible story? Can he kickstart changes that may just save the world?

During a stay in France, Barbara Rustin became concerned about the dramatic bee losses there and, decided to keep bees and research the problem with a view to writing a bookBee Alert!, Barbara’s first children’s book, brings together her life work of writing, editing and activism.
 
The Bee Movie meets Beetle Boy with engaging characters and a pacy story that skilfully conveys the horrors of current falling bee populations.
- Cross-generational mix, simple plot lines and exciting visual scenes from both the six-legged and two-legged perspectives. 
- Educators looking for fiction that connects to and supports science curricula will be wowed by this.
- Perfect for fans of M.G. Leonard, Ross Welford and Roald Dahl
- Brilliant debut author with impassioned green credentials

Bee Alert Reviews | Toppsta

9781527217416
  • ISBN: 9781527217416
  • Pub Date: 26th September 2018
  • Publisher: Barbara Rustin
  • Imprint: Barbara Rustin
  • Format: Paperback
  • Number of Pages: 224

Share on

Sign up to our newsletter for...

Free Book Giveaways, Recommendations & more

6th October '18
I read it myself (an adult) , to isaacb aged 12 aged 12 & to elib aged 10 aged 10
Bee Alert 9781527217416
5 stars
Bee Alert is an extremely well written book that conveys the importance of bees. Exciting, amusing and full of interesting facts, Bee Alert was unputdownable - a family favourite! Throughout the book, there are a range of amazing illustrations making it even more engaging for younger children. It would appeal to both boys and girls, having both male and female heroes, gives a positive message about equality whilst still being accessible to younger readers. I would definitely recommend this to anyone who wants an empowering book for their children aged 8-14.
6th October '18
elib read it themselves aged 10 aged 10
Bee Alert 9781527217416
5 stars
When I read Bee Alert, my first impression was the exciting mystery that Ben is faced with. There were really good illustrations and lots of funny bits. I really liked the way that it taught me about bees whilst being a thrilling story! I really recommend Bee Alert to anyone who wants to read an action packed book. 
6th October '18
isaacb read it themselves aged 12 aged 12
Bee Alert 9781527217416
5 stars
Bee Alert is a thrilling and absorbing book which you will not be able to put down. It has interesting characters who you will empathise with wholeheartedly. The illustrations, which are realistic and imaginative, bring the book together. You will be sure to love this book.
6th October '18
isaacb read it themselves aged 12 aged 12
Bee Alert 9781527217416
5 stars
Bee Alert is a thrilling and absorbing book which you will not be able to put down. It has interesting characters who you will empathise with wholeheartedly. The illustrations, which are realistic and imaginative, bring the book together. You will be sure to love this book.
Show More (0)

Giveaway

Bee Alert

Enter to win a copy of this book to review for us!

Paperback Edition
UK & IE Only


Enter your details

About Barbara Rustin

Barbara Rustin is a writer, artist and activist, living in London and rural France. Her early career was in publishing, editing for Victor Gollancz, Chatto & Windus and Jonathan Cape. After a degree in Fine Art, she focused on painting, but maintained her link with the publishing industry as a reader advising on the acquisition of French books. She ha...

More about Barbara Rustin

Ratings

  • (4 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)