Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

Best New Children's Books July 2020

1st August 2020

Best New Children's Books

Every month we pick our favourite children's books from ALL the new books just published. This month we've got some absolute corkers for you, read on to see which books tickle your fancy. We update this page every month, so if you save it as a favourite, you'll always be up to date with our top picks!

Toppsta
2020-07-31
Best New Children's Books July 2020
Book pages Placeholder Book

The Wild Way Home

When Charlie's longed-for brother is born with a serious heart condition, Charlie's world is turned upside down. Upset and afraid, Charlie flees the hospital and makes for the ancient forest on the edge of town. There Charlie finds a boy floating face-down in the stream, injured, but alive. But when Charlie sets off back to the hospital to fetch help, it seems the forest has changed. It's become a place as strange and wild as the boy dressed in deerskins. For Charlie has unwittingly fled into the Stone Age, with no way to help the boy or return to the present day. Or is there? What follows is a wild, big-hearted adventure as Charlie and the Stone Age boy set out together to find what they have lost - their courage, their hope, their family and their way home. Fans of Piers Torday and Stig of the Dump will love this wild, wise and heartfelt debut adventure.

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

Sky Pirates: Echo Quickthorn and the Great Beyond

Take to the skies in this thrilling new series from author Alex English. (BEWARE: THERE WILL BE PIRATES!)

11 year-old Echo Quickthorn has grown up believing that nothing exists outside the Kingdom of Lockfort, but everything changes when an eccentric professor parks his airship outside her window armed with a map that shows all the magical places that exist beyond the city walls.

Together with her pet lizard, Gilbert, Echo sets off on an incredible adventure to find her missing mother; an adventure that will take her to unimaginable places filled with giant butterflies, mechanical dragons and . . . sky pirates!

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

When Secrets Set Sail

Secrets from the past are the keys to the future...if two children can find them. Bold adventure, timely themes and breath-taking writing from award-winning author, Sita Brahmachari.

Usha is devastated when her grandmother Kali Ma passes away. Then straight-talking Imtiaz arrives - her new adoptive sister - and the two girls clash instantly. They both feel lost. That is until Kali Ma's ghost appears...with a task for them.

Immy's and Usha's home is full of history and secrets. Many years ago it was The House of the Ayahs - for those nannies who couldn't return to their Indian homeland - and Kali Ma made a promise she couldn't keep. She can't pass on to the other side until the girls fulfil it.

Today, Usha and Immy's over-worked parents run the house as a home for refugees, but eviction threatens. The precious documents that could save them are lost. As the house slowly fills up with ghosts, that only Usha and Imtiaz can see, the girls realise they have more to save than just one grandmother's ghost.

With help from their new friend Cosmo, Usha and Immy must set off on a quest through London, accompanied by two bickering ghosts, working together to find a series of objects that shine a magical light on their family's past and hold the clues to securing their future.

If they can set the secrets of generations free, will they be in time to save their home?

Endorsed by Amnesty International

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

Pizazz

Being a superhero is the best thing ever, right? WRONG!

HELLO! My name is Pizazz and I'm a superhero...

You probably think that's really AWESOME and while it can be, it's also REEEEEEEAAALLLLY annoying.

Don't believe me? Well, I have to wear the same outfit ALL THE TIME?! I'm always dashing off to save the world right in the middle of fun stuff. Plus I have to be the good guy even when I might not want to be. And sometimes I just want to be, well, normal.

You see, it's not easy being SUPER ...

PS. DON'T even ask me about my super "POWER"...

The first in a super (like, actually, with powers and stuff) NEW series for 7+ readers from the amazingly talented illustrator and author Sophy Henn!

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

The House of Clouds

Tabby's fed up. Fed up with losing her best friend and fed up that Grandad has come to stay. Grandad's always telling the same old silly, made-up stories and now Tabby has to walk his smelly dog Buster every day after school. When one of Tabby's walks takes her to a lonely hilltop house she spots something strange going on. So strange she can't help but mention it to Grandad who of course turns it all into another fantasy. But when tragedy strikes, Tabby's left wondering if Grandad's impossible story could be true? A poignant and uplifting story of family, connection and imagination, from the Blue Peter Book Award shortlisted author of Owen and the Soldier. Particularly suitable for struggling, reluctant or dyslexic readers aged 8+

View Book COMPARE PRICES

Share this read with others...

Tweet Email