Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

View all Blogs
Featured Book
Magicborn
Magicborn

BOOK OF THE MONTH - The first in a sumptuous new historical-fantasy series from Peter Bunzl, bestselling author of the Cogheart series. Recommended for ages 9+

View book
Featured Books

Best books by age

Best New Children's Books May 2022

Best New Children's Books

Every month we pick our favourite children's books from ALL the new books just published. This month we've got some absolute corkers for you, read on to see which books tickle your fancy. We update this page every month, so if you save it as a favourite, you'll always be up to date with our top picks!

Toppsta
2022-04-30
Best New Children's Books May 2022
Book pages Placeholder Book

Legendarium

From the bestselling author of Wonderscape and The Uncommoners , comes this fast-paced gaming adventure through the universe's greatest legends.

PLAY THE GAME. BRAVE THE LEGEND.


Arthur, Ren and Cecily are stuck in Legendarium in the year 2493, where the secretive villain Deadlock has discovered dangerous time-travel technology.

To save the universe, the friends must enter the deadly Irontide Tournament, where legends are real and one wrong move could cost them their lives...

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

Ghostcloud

Catch the wind. Find your freedom.

A riveting, magical adventure set deep underneath a richly reimagined London for 9+ readers.

Kidnapped and forced to shovel coal underneath a half-bombed, blackened power station, 12-year-old Luke's life is miserable. Then, he discovers he can see things others can't. Ghostly things. Specifically, a ghost-girl named Alma. Alma, who can ride clouds through the night sky and bend their shape to her will, befriends Luke. And with Alma's help, Luke discovers he is in fact a rare being - half-human and half-something else ...

Then Luke learns the terrible truth of why children are being kidnapped and forced to work in the power station, and he becomes even more desperate to escape.

Can Luke find out who he really is ... and find his freedom?

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

Our Sister, Again

On a small island off the Scottish coast, Isla and her family are grieving the loss of her older sister Flora, who died three years ago. Then they're offered the chance to be part of a top-secret trial, which revives loved ones as fully lifelike AI robots using their digital footprint.

Isla has her doubts about Second Chances, but they evaporate the moment the 'new' Flora arrives. This girl is not some uncanny close likeness; she is Flora - a perfect replica. But not everyone on their island feels the same. And as the threats to Flora mount, she grows distant and more secretive. Will Isla be able to protect the new Flora and bring the community back together?

An intriguing, thoughtful and poignant exploration of what makes us 'us', for fans of SHOW US WHO YOU ARE, A POCKETFUL OF STARS and TROOFRIEND .

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

The Good Turn

From the award-winning author of High Rise Mystery

'Brilliant; a joy to the very end' Katherine Rundell

'I love it!' Elle McNicoll

A sharp, funny middle grade adventure with themes of real-life activism and how to help others for fans of The Goonies and The London Eye Mystery .

Josephine Williams is a future-focused, internet-loving eleven-year-old who is desperate to explore the world beyond her cul-de-sac - and her browser.

When she learns about Josephine Holloway - a woman who started the first Girl Scout Troop for Black girls in America - she's certain she must start her own.

Enlisting her friends Margot Anderson and Wesley Evans, the trio begin their quest for their Camping Badge. Drawn to an abandoned factory nearby, they stumble across something strange. A square, ancient television and two tatty armchairs. Beside it, a wooden sideboard with an old photograph of a young, happy couple.


What is this? Who, or what, lives here - and why?

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

Magicborn

The Curse is changed. You'll never know. The truth is lost. The lie will grow. The year is 1726 and the Royal Sorcerer of England is on the hunt for those who are magicborn. When Tempest is captured after accidentally unleashing a power she didn't know she had, she is taken to Kensington Palace alongside a boy like her, Thomas. Trapped, Tempest and Thomas find their magic flickering to life - and with it, long-buried memories. For they are the lost prince and princess of Fairyland, bound by a deadly curse...and now the fairies are coming to get them. A battle is building - one only they can end. But who will survive? The first in a sumptuous and enthralling new historical-fantasy adventure series from the bestselling author of The Cogheart Adventures.

View Book COMPARE PRICES

30th April 2022

Share this read with others...

Tweet Email
Featured Book
Magicborn
Magicborn

BOOK OF THE MONTH - The first in a sumptuous new historical-fantasy series from Peter Bunzl, bestselling author of the Cogheart series. Recommended for ages 9+

View book
Featured Books