Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

View all Blogs
Featured Book
The Boss of Everyone: The brand-new comedy adventure from the author of The Day the Screens Went Blank
The Boss of Everyone: The brand-new comedy adventure from the author of The Day the Screens Went Blank

BOOK OF THE MONTH - This father-daughter story is knee-slappingly, tear-inducingly FUNNY! All about a little girl who takes over her dad's workplace with her fresh ideas!

View book
Featured Books

Best books by age

Our Favourite New Children's Books March 2023

Best New Children's Books

This month we've picked our five favourite books out in March and they're all up to win in our giveaways too!

Toppsta
2023-02-28
Our Favourite New Children's Books March 2023
Book pages Placeholder Book

The Boss of Everyone: The brand-new comedy adventure from the author of The Day the Screens Went Blank

This father-daughter story is knee-slappingly, tear-inducingly FUNNY! All about a little girl who takes over her dad's workplace with her fresh ideas!

Joss is the boss. She is ten years old and ready to take on the world...or maybe just her dad's workplace. This father-daughter story is knee-slappingly, tear-inducingly FUNNY! When Joss has an EXCITING and INNOVATIVE new idea for her dad's company at Take Your Kid to Work Day, she gets a standing ovation! And suddenly, she's RUNNING THE SHOW. Even her dad will have to be on his best behavior at all times! As Joss whips everyone into shape, maybe they can all learn a lesson or two... even Joss herself. Get ready to laugh uncontrollably with this brand-new comedy from bestselling author, comedian and presenter Danny Wallace, with illustrations throughout from Gemma Correll. Perfect for children aged 8+ and fans of David Baddiel, Stephen Mangan, David Walliams, Andy Griffiths, Jenny Pearson and Helen Rutter.

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

Tourmaline and the Island of Elsewhere

Get ready to be drawn in a whirlwind of adventure with this band of feminist pirates in an amazing fantasy world for ages 8+! 

When Tourmaline's mother goes missing on a search for precious artefacts, she sets off with determination to find her. Joined by her best friend George and her frenemy Mai, an adventure unlike any other is about to unfold. The three friends will encounter a band of female pirates, a maze of talking trees and a series of challenges that test them and their friendship. But will it be enough to reunite Tourmaline with her mother? The first book in a fun, feminist fantasy adventure series, with a protagonist that is full of force and will stop at nothing on her quest. This is the perfect next read for fans of Katherine Rundell, Vashti Hardy and Abi Elphinstone. Ahoy! Get ready for an adventure unlike any other.

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

Crookhaven: The School for Thieves

An action-packed and contemporary Robin Hood! This amazing new series is about chosen family, high stakes thievery, and doing good by conning the bad.

Where do thieves learn their lock-picking, forgery and... 'crim-nastics'? 13-year-old Gabriel is a brilliant pickpocket until... one day he gets CAUGHT! But he is not arrested; instead he is invited by the mysterious Caspian Crook to attend Crookhaven, a school for thieves where students are trained to do good in the world by CONNING the bad and giving back to the innocent. With a school-wide competition to be crowned Top Crook, many mysteries to uncover, and the challenges of any 13-year-old, Gabriel's first year at Crookhaven will be one to remember... An action-packed series about chosen family, high stakes thievery and doing good for fans of Harry Potter, M.G. Leonard and Anthony Horowitz.

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

Catfish Rolling

Buckle up: this is an incredibly emotional story of magic, Japanese mythology and legends, mixed with grief, memory, time-shifting and the lengths you will go to for family. 

Years ago, a horrendous earthquake shook Japanese islands so hard that Sora's mother is lost and time suddenly starts moving sloooowly or super quickly. The culprit: a CATFISH, rocking and rolling under the islands, making the land rise and fall.  When Sora's father also goes missing, she has no choice but to venture into uncharted spaces within the time zones to find him, her mother and risking to come face to face with the catfish itself... This brilliant thought-provoking story for teens aged 14+ explores themes of identity, philosophy, science, ecology, life, loss and love. 

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

Being you: Poems of Positivity to Support Kids’ Emotional Wellbeing

Friendship, self-belief and celebrating our differences in 50 illustrated poems

This powerful collection of 50 illustrated poems is perfect to inspire children to be confident, courageous, overcome worries and spread kindness! Whether read alone or with friends or family, positive thinking is explored through themes of friendship, self-belief, embracing change and celebrating people's differences! Readers will love coming back to these poems time after time.

View Book COMPARE PRICES

28th February 2023

Share this read with others...

Tweet Email
Featured Book
The Boss of Everyone: The brand-new comedy adventure from the author of The Day the Screens Went Blank
The Boss of Everyone: The brand-new comedy adventure from the author of The Day the Screens Went Blank

BOOK OF THE MONTH - This father-daughter story is knee-slappingly, tear-inducingly FUNNY! All about a little girl who takes over her dad's workplace with her fresh ideas!

View book
Featured Books