Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

Best New Children's Books September 2020

Best New Children's Books

Every month we pick our favourite children's books from ALL the new books just published. This month we've got some absolute corkers for you, read on to see which books tickle your fancy. We update this page every month, so if you save it as a favourite, you'll always be up to date with our top picks!

Toppsta
2020-09-18
Best New Children's Books September 2020
Book pages Placeholder Book

Dog Gone

A brand-new, wonderfully waggy story of one dog day afternoon, from the genius behind the #DrawWithRob phenomenon and the bestselling and award-winning Blown Away !

Every dog has his Dave (or otherwise-named human)... but on a walk in the park, the adorable Teddy the pug, loses his!

And when Teddy finds himself at the shed of the TERRIBLE TROLL in the woods, he might find more than he bargained for... a new friend.

Packed with delight, dogs, and even a Dave, this hilariously funny and exquisitely illustrated new book from the incredible Rob Biddulph, the creative star behind the viral and phenomenal #DrawWithRob, will have you panting for more!

This is the perfect story for boys and girls of 4+, and dog-lovers everywhere, to share with their families! Roll around in the rhymes and enjoy Rob Biddulph's trademark warm-hearted humour.

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

Dare to Be You: Defy Self-Doubt, Fearlessly Follow Your Own Path and Be Confidently You!

From the bestselling, award-winning author of You Are Awesome comes the much-anticipated follow-up, Dare to Be You .

What would you dare to try if you stopped worrying about fitting in?

If you're the kind of person who thinks: I don't like standing out from the crowd ... I wish I could be more like the cool kids ... There's no point trying to change things ... then this book is for you.

Because guess what? There's no such thing as normal.

Drawing examples from sport, science and even business, Dare to Be You empowers young readers to follow their own path, love what makes them different and question the world around them. With You Are Awesome 's trademark mix of hilarious text, stylish illustration, personal insights and inspiring real-life examples, including Greta Thunberg and Malala Yousafzai, Matthew Syed introduces children to the power of diverse thinking.

When you stop doubting yourself, embrace change and let your kindness loose, you become your own action hero. This groundbreaking, practical and positive book will help kids develop the inner confidence to grow into happy adults who know - and, more importantly, LIKE - themselves.

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

The Tindims of Rubbish Island

The tiny Tindims are like the Borrowers-on-Sea, who turn our everyday rubbish into treasure. Mother-and-daughter duo, prizewinning Sally Gardner and Lydia Corry, create a fun new world of characters and adventures in their empowering new series for 5-8 year olds inspiring conservation and inventive ways to recycle.

'What is rubbish today is treasure tomorrow.' Discover Rubbish Island which the Tindims have built entirely from things we have thrown away. Captain Spoons, Mug, Jug, Brew, Skittle and friends are busy recycling when Ethel B Dina is blown out to sea and the Tindims must launch a rescue operation with the help of some friendly fish and surprises along the way.

Printed in dyslexia-friendly font with pictures on every page and perfect for the reluctant reader, the Tindims show keen young ecologists how to help protect our planet for the future.

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

Kicking Off: Dick, Kerr Girls

The remarkable story of the Dick, Kerr Ladies is brought to young readers for the very first time by award winning and CILIP Carnegie nominated Eve Ainsworth. It's 1917, and Britain is at war. Shy teenager Hettie wants to help the war effort, and signs up to work in the local Dick, Kerr & Co. munitions factory. She's nervous, but she has no idea quite how much her life is about to change ... For, inside this factory are young women who are about to make sporting history. Can Hettie find the courage to join them, and in doing so, find her own place in the world? Based on the thrilling true story of the Dick, Kerr Ladies team - football's forgotten legends.

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

The Littlest Yak

Perfect for fans of Simon Philip and Pip Jones, The Littlest Yak is joyous, rhyming caper that reminds us to celebrate our own unique talents!

On the tip of the top of a mountain all snowy, where the ice-swirling, toe-curling blizzards were blowy, in a herd full of huddling yaks, big and small, lived Gertie . . .the littlest yak of them all.

Gertie is the littlest yak in her whole herd, and she's feeling stuck in her smallness - she wants to grow UP and have bigness and tallness!

But when it turns out that there are some things that only Gertie can do, might she come to see that she's perfect, just the way she is?

A rollicking, heartwarming and reassuring story from debut author, Lu Fraser and much-loved illustrator, Kate Hindley .

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

Dragon Mountain

The first adventure in the ROAR some DRAGON REALM series for 9+ readers!

Deep within the mountain, a great creature stirred in its sleep. Its eyes rolled back in its head, and its wings jerked wide open...

When 12-year-old Billy Chan finds out his parents are sending him to a summer camp in middle-of-nowhere China he doesn't know what to expect. There he meets fellow campers Dylan, Charlotte and Ling-Fei and together they stumble upon an age-old secret: four powerful warrior dragons, hidden deep within the mountain behind the camp. They have been trapped since an epic battle with the Dragon of Death and need the children's help to set them free before terrible evil is unleashed on the earth. Billy and his friends must set off on a dangerous adventure that will take them to the heart of the Dragon Realm. But can they save the dragon and human worlds from destruction?

DRAGON MOUNTAIN is the first book in the DRAGON REALM series by Katie and Kevin Tsang, co-authors of SAM WU IS NOT AFRAID

View Book COMPARE PRICES

31st August 2020

Share this read with others...

Tweet Email