Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

View all Blogs
Featured Book
Pop!: Fizzy drinks. A trillion dollars. The adventure that ends with a bang.
Pop!: Fizzy drinks. A trillion dollars. The adventure that ends with a bang.

BOOK OF THE MONTH: Mitch Johnson, bestselling author of Kick is back with another action-packed adventure about the power of courage. For ages 9+

View book
Featured Books

Best books by age

Best New Children's Books May 2021

Best New Children's Books

Every month we pick our favourite children's books from ALL the new books just published. This month we've got some absolute corkers for you, read on to see which books tickle your fancy. We update this page every month, so if you save it as a favourite, you'll always be up to date with our top picks!

Toppsta
2021-05-07
Best New Children's Books May 2021
Book pages Placeholder Book

Pop!: Fizzy drinks. A trillion dollars. The adventure that ends with a bang.

An outrageous theft. A huge reward. Two friends on the run. An uproariously funny, action-packed new adventure about the power of courage, standing up for what's right, and fizzy drinks, from the award-winning author of Kick.

Queenie stares out at the ocean and dreams of a world beyond her small-town. She's about to get her wish...


When the priceless recipe to the world's most popular drink - thought to be lost forever - washes up at her feet, Queenie's life instantly changes. Everyone wants it, and with a $10 million bounty on her head, Queenie's soon on the run.

Pursued by bounty hunters, black-ops helicopters and angry mobs, Queenie's journey involves a trip to Area 51, a man-eating alligator and an unlikely new friend, Todd.

But being on the run also makes Queenie begin to see the world around her more clearly - a world in which a big corporation's excess has left the planet covered in its plastic bottles and waste. Suddenly, the home she always dreamed of escaping, and the ocean she grew up with and took for granted, don't seem so bad.

If Queenie and Todd can bring down the bad guys, maybe she can go back home and make a difference...

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

The Exploding Life of Scarlett Fife: Book 1

Scarlett Fife has BIG feelings. And she's about to get into BIG trouble. From the bestselling Maz Evans comes a heartfelt and hilarious new series, perfect for fans of Roald Dahl's Matilda.

'A laugh-out-loud story full of warmth, Big Feelings and explosive results.' Dominique Valente, author of Starfell

Scarlett Fife has BIG FEELINGS. And when she has BIG FEELINGS, they explode out of her like an over-squeezed stress ball.

Scarlett's in big trouble after a BIG FEELINGS episode leads to a runaway hamster getting into the vicar's trousers at her aunty's engagement party. If she loses her temper ONE MORE TIME, she's going to miss out on her trip to Mega Awesome Sicky Fun World, the best theme park on the planet.

But feelings are like slime in a party bag. No matter how much someone tells you to keep it in, it'll always find its way out. And very soon, Scarlett notices that every time she pushes her feelings down, something explodes. Like ... really, properly explodes.

It might be her teacher's slimy green smoothie. A huge pot of purple paint. Or a massive pile of elephant poo at the zoo. And let's hope Scarlett doesn't get mad at Aunty's wedding - that wedding cake is HUGE ...

Laugh-out-loud action for every child and parent who has ever lost control of their feelings - this is sparkling, heartwarming and beautifully illustrated throughout.

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

The Lightning Catcher

Alfie has noticed a few things since his family moved to Folding Ford. He really misses life in the city. He and his sister don't exactly fit in here. But the most interesting one is that the weather is BONKERS. One frost-covered branch on one tree in the middle of June? A tiny whirlwind in a bucket in the garden? Only in Folding Ford. Armed with his bike, a notepad and his new best mate Sam, Alfie is going to investigate. His best clue is Nathaniel Clemm ... the only thing in town weirder than the weather. When Alfie 'investigates' Mr Clemm's garden, only SLIGHTLY illegally, he finds a strange box that freezes his trainers and makes his teeth tingle. And when he opens it, only SLIGHTLY deliberately, SOMETHING gets out. Something fast, fizzing and sparking with electricity and very, very much alive. But the creature from the box brings trouble of its own, and as barometers and tempers go haywire in Folding Ford, Alfie finds himself at the centre of a perfect storm. Skellig meets Stranger Things in this funny, heartfelt adventure story perfect for fans of Ross Welford, Christopher Edge and Frank Cottrell Boyce.

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

Best Nerds Forever

From bestselling author James Patterson comes the next middle grade hit with this ghostly adventure story.
________________________________

I'm Finn McAllister, I'm a normal middle schooler, and on June sixth I died.

I know, I know - you weren't expecting me to die so soon. Me neither. But dying is just the beginning of my story. You see, now I'm a ghost!

I don't have to go to school. I can play as many video games as I want. And I can try every ice cream flavor in the store.

I've made a new friend, too. She's also a ghost. It's pretty neat, huh?

Only thing is, I have some unfinished business. And until I, well, finish it, I can't really move on...

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

The Incredible Record Smashers

A record-smashing, feel-good adventure packed with heart, humour and Guinness World Records from Costa Award-shortlisted JENNY PEARSON, and Kid Normal illustrator Erica Salcedo Lucy is a fixer of broken things. But there's one thing she can't fix and that's her unhappy mum. Until she comes up with an INCREDIBLE plan. Along with her best friend, Sandesh, Lucy is going to SMASH a world record. Because she's convinced that starry Paul Castellini - Record Smashers TV host and singing legend - is the answer to her mum's problems. But breaking a world RECORD when watermelons, kumquats, two baddies and a 30 cm shatter-resistant school ruler are involved isn't quite as easy as Lucy thought. Can she learn that sometimes happiness doesn't come with a plan? "Breaks records for funny and touching storytelling." David Baddiel "One of the juiciest ideas for a story you've ever seen and super-miraculously Jenny Pearson makes it every bit as funny and tender as it could ever be." Frank Cottrell-Boyce

View Book COMPARE PRICES

30th April 2021

Share this read with others...

Tweet Email
Featured Book
Pop!: Fizzy drinks. A trillion dollars. The adventure that ends with a bang.
Pop!: Fizzy drinks. A trillion dollars. The adventure that ends with a bang.

BOOK OF THE MONTH: Mitch Johnson, bestselling author of Kick is back with another action-packed adventure about the power of courage. For ages 9+

View book
Featured Books