Our Favourite New Children's Books this Month

Best New Children's Books

And BOOM suddenly it's May! As always, we're here to help with children's book recommendations and we're kicking off the month with five books we think you and your children will love. Read on to discover more...

Toppsta
2024-05-01
Our Favourite New Children's Books this Month
Book pages Placeholder Book

Magicalia: Race of Wonders

We loved the Wonderscape and The Uncommoners books, so this new fantasy series for readers aged 9+ by the same author is one of our most anticipated releases of the year.

The story is set in a world of ancient meteorites and secret organisations, where incredible creatures from a powerful bestiary called Magicalia can be conjured using emotions. Here, a young girl’s father is kidnapped, and she must follow a trail of clues across the world in a race to rescue him.

This series is fast-paced, full of imagination and magic, perfect for fans of Skandar and Impossible Creatures.

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

Rainbowsaurus

This joyful, colourful and inclusive picture book is a brilliant read-aloud - you'll love all the animal sounds!

The story follows two dads and their three children as they search far and wide for a Rainbowsaurus, meeting a whole bunch of other colourful creatures along the way.

We think this book, created by the same author-illustrator behind the fantastic Mr Panda series and The Queen’s Hat, is destined to be a classic story all family set-ups will love

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

Angel of Grasmere: From Dunkirk to the Fells

Another fantastic historical fiction book from Tom Palmer. This beautiful book set in WW2 is about kindness, family and community.

This story begins with a young girl Tarn who has lost her brother in the chaos of the British retreat at Dunkirk. And while she deals with the pain of her grief, the war continues on and a Nazi invasion is a constant threat. Then a stranger comes along, and changes Tarn’s reality forever…

Children (and adults) will love this story about friendship, grief and the kindness of strangers.

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

Rainbow Flamingo

We’re so happy to be sharing this rhyming picture book about courage, self-love and letting our true colours shine.

Rhyming picture books are a wonderful way to help children learn phonics and build new vocabulary. And they’re even better when they have important messages at their core, just like this picture book about a young flamingo who has a secret: an incredible rainbow is under her feathers! Throughout the story, she will have to learn to step into her spotlight and celebrate what makes her so perfectly unique.

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

Benji's Emerald King

This is the perfect illustrated woodland story series for parents guiding their children from picture books to their very first chapter books.

In this series, five friends who call themselves the Woodland Explorers work hard to protect all the animals of Willow Wish Woods, as well as its magic. In this first book, the explorers discover some terrible damage to the ancient Emerald King tree and a bunch of rubbish in Tadpole Run stream. They’ve got a mystery to solve, and a forest to save.

We love the diversity of characters in this series, as well as the friendship and magic, and couldn’t recommend it more for first-time independent readers.

View Book COMPARE PRICES

First published

Updated:

Share this read with others...

Tweet Email