Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

Best New Children's Books April 2020

1st April 2020

Best New Children's Books

Every month we pick our favourite children's books from ALL the new books just published. And they're all up to win in our giveaways too! Read on below and click through to enter each giveaway.

Toppsta
2020-04-02
Best New Children's Books April 2020
Book pages Placeholder Book

The Great Brain Robbery

Suzy can't wait to return to the Union of Impossible Places on the Impossible Postal Express. But when she arrives, she overhears a dastardly plan to destroy Trollville from a shadowy and unexpected villain. Suzy and her friends must race from magical cloud-worlds to secret caverns to catch the culprit, before Trollville comes crashing down...

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

PESTS

When the lights go off, the PESTS come out! The laugh-out-loud new series f rom the author/illustrator of the bestselling DIARY OF PIG series. With amazing GLOW IN THE DARK cover, and a hidden message for young pests to find.

Meet Stix, the tiny but heroic mouse who might be living behind your washing machine. But is he naughty enough to join the PESTS?

Stix is the size of an egg cup, can jump the width of a dog's bottom, and LOVES cheese. That's because Stix is a mouse. He probably lives behind your washing machine, but you wouldn't know it, because his grandma taught him to always stay out of trouble and NEVER let the humans know he's there. But now Stix has stumbled across PESTS - the Peewit Educatorium for Seriously Terrible Scoundrels - in the basement of his building, and along with a whole host of new pesty friends (and enemies), he's about to rip up Grandma's rule book and make a REAL pest of himself...

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

The Magic Faraway Tree: Silky's Story

The perfect introduction to the wonderful world of the Faraway Tree. Discover the magic! Explore the Enchanted Wood with Joe, Beth and Frannie and meet their very special friends, Silky the fairy, Moonface and Saucepan Man. When a runaway elephant visits the tree, there's a lot of mess for the friends to sort out . . .

Ideal for reading with 3-6 year-olds, this picture book is a delightful way to discover the extraordinary world of the Magic Faraway Tree.

This is a brand-new story, specially written by bestselling picture book author Jeanne Willis, and illustrated by Mark Beech (cover illustrator of all the Magic Faraway Tree books).

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

The Vanishing Trick

'A thrilling, original, evocative and eerie tale - I adored it!' Michelle Harrison , author of A Pinch of Magic

Step into a world of secrets, folklore and illusions, where nothing is as it seems and magic is at play...

Madame Augustina Pinchbeck , travels the country conjuring the spirits of dearly departed loved ones... for a price. Whilst her ability to contact ghosts is a game of smoke and mirrors, there is real magic behind her tricks too - if you know where to look.

Through a magical trade, she persuades children to part with precious objects, promising to use her powers to help them. But Pinchbeck is a deceiver, instead turning their items into enchanted Cabinets that bind the children to her and into which she can vanish and summon them at will.

When Pinchbeck captures orphan Leander , events are set into motion that see him and his new friends Charlotte and Felix , in a race against time to break Pinchbeck's spell, before one of them vanishes forever...

A historical adventure with a magical twist from an outstanding debut talent. Perfect for fans of Michelle Harrison, Sophie Anderson and Emma Carroll.

View Book COMPARE PRICES

Share this read with others...

Tweet Email