Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

Recent Book Reviews
Book pages Agents of the Wild: Operation Honeyhunt
Read by a child aged 9 Agents of the Wild: Operation Honeyhunt
by Kellyloul

I enjoy reading stories like this and this reminded me of a book I had read before "The Night Zoo Keeper" where the animals had put a young boy in charge, but this was a young girl called Agnes, she i...

Read more
Book pages Ladybird Tales of Adventurous Girls: With an Introduction From Jacqueline Wilson
Read by an adult to a child aged 5 Ladybird Tales of Adventurous Girls: With an Introduction From Jacqueline Wilson
by NLester

Amy has chosen this book for nights on the trot until we read them all. Some we recognised (Hansel and gretel) but others we didn’t. The stories were probably aimed at slightly older children, so Amy ...

Read more
Book pages Fox's Socks
Read by an adult to 2 children aged 5 & 3 Fox's Socks
by NLester

My children loved this book. The characters are beautifully drawn. Only criticism is the flaps get worn very quickly. But it was a favourite!

Read more
Book pages Brown Bear, Brown Bear, What Do You See?
Read by an adult to a child aged 3 Brown Bear, Brown Bear, What Do You See?
by NLester

My son loves this book, and has done for the last 2 years. He loves joining in with the colours The pictures are lovely and it’s so colourful

Read more
Book pages The World's Worst Parents
Read by an adult to 2 children aged 10 & 8 The World's Worst Parents
by ProfessorSnape

There are some laugh-out-loud moments in this book but it seems that the material has been stretched out and the jokes lose their impact. I would have liked shorter chapters with more characters and m...

Read more
Book pages The Cat in the Hat
Read by an adult to a child aged 5 The Cat in the Hat
by NLester

My daughter loved this book. The rhymes really make her giggle. The pictures are fun and help the rhymes. Characters are fun and charming

Read more
Book pages Dogger
Read by an adult to 2 children aged 5 & 3 Dogger
by NLester

Given to us by a family friend who also bought it for my husband when he was a boy. Lovely illustrations, son particularly related to the main character as he has a special toy. And my daughter loved ...

Read more
Book pages Shark In The Park
Read by an adult to 2 children aged 5 & 3 Shark In The Park
by NLester

The kids love this book. It gets everyone involved in the story shouting along with the character Timothy. We even add our own duh-dum! The illustrations are great and we especially love the final ill...

Read more
Book pages The Umbrella Mouse
Read by an adult The Umbrella Mouse
by ProfessorSnape

I had heard really good things about this book and was looking forward to reading it. However, it took two attempts to finish it as I just wasn’t engaged by it. I found the plot developments a little ...

Read more
Book pages Moomin and the Birthday Button
Read by an adult to 2 children aged 5 & 3 Moomin and the Birthday Button
by NLester

We really enjoyed this book, the characters are really brought to life. The pictures are vivid and brightIt brought discussion about how it would feel to be left out and had a good discussion about in...

Read more
Top Reviewers
1
Placeholder profile image
lpwilford Follow 1254 reviews
2
Placeholder profile image
Wormmcd42 Follow 1203 reviews
3
Placeholder profile image
Loubydoo Follow 899 reviews
4
Placeholder profile image
Chris11 Follow 822 reviews
5
Placeholder profile image
Katie-birmingham Follow 726 reviews
6
Placeholder profile image
7
Placeholder profile image
Nicki.Hogan Follow 661 reviews
8
Placeholder profile image
rda Follow 587 reviews
9
Placeholder profile image
Ellielebug Follow 575 reviews
10
Placeholder profile image
Featured Book
Book pages The Wild Way Home
The Wild Way Home

AUGUST BOOK OF THE MONTH: This is a time-slip adventure with a big heart, perfect for fans of Piers Torday and Stig of the Dump, recommended for readers aged 9+

View book
Top 10
Authors & Illustrators
Latest from our Blog
feature image

7th August 2020

Reading Levels Explained

images of inside pages of Toppsta Reading Pack

1st August 2020

Toppsta Reading Pack