Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

Greta Zargo and the Amoeba Monsters from the Middle of the Earth

by
,

Greta Zargo and the Amoeba Monsters from the Middle of the Earth Reviews | Toppsta

Book Rating: 5 based on 1
1 Review
Write a Review

Greta Zargo doesn't know it, but once again she is about to unwittingly and unknowingly save the world ...

Intrepid young schoolgirl-turned-reporter Greta Zargo is always in search of a Big Scoop and for once there are plenty of strange goings-on in the usually quiet little town of Upper Lowerbridge. Not only has Aunt Tabitha, the great inventor, gone missing, but weird, wobbling, blob-like monsters are appearing via a very deep hole in Greta's garden - and they are slowing but surely devouring her neighbours one by one ...

A laugh-out-loud funny new series from the author of the critically acclaimed The Imaginary, perfect for fans of Mr Gum, Chris Riddell, and Philip Reeve and Sarah McIntyre's Oliver and the Seawigs

Greta Zargo and the Amoeba Monsters from the Middle of the Earth Reviews | Toppsta

9781408881774

Share on

Sign up to our newsletter for...

Free Book Giveaways, Recommendations & more

14th September '18
I read it myself (an adult)
Greta Zargo and the Amoeba Monsters from the Middle of the Earth 9781408881774
5 stars
This is funny, zany, fast-paced adventure featuring the kick-ass Greta Zargo.  The young journalist has to go on a quest to find her missing aunt, after she mysteriously disappears just before the start of the inventors conference that she is hosting.  The story features an octopus, a cow that... poos?... hamburgers, tanks, twins & clones and, of course, the amoeba monsters from the middle of the earth (as noted in the title).  There is a lot of playful and silly language, and this series looks like it is a good next step to read after the Mr Gum series. The illustrations fit the story perfectly, and the story would make a perfect cartoon (and if ever made into a cartoon, my children would definitely love it!).

I loved that the main character, her best friend and the (largely absent) mad scientist who has gone missing are all female characters.  Not a huge fuss is made about this, BUT, it is unusual for a children's book and I applaud the author for having strong, brilliant and curious female characters that both boys and girls can enjoy.
Show More (0)

About A.F. Harrold

A.F. Harrold is an English poet who writes and performs for adults and children. He spends his time showing off onstage, writing poems and books, and stroking his beard (it helps churn the ideas). He is the author of the Fizzlebert Stump series and the CILIP Carnegie and Kate Greenaway Medal longlisted The Imaginary, illustrated by Emily Gravett. He lives in...

More about A.F. Harrold

About Joe Todd-Stanton

A.F. Harrold is an English poet who writes and performs for adults and children. He spends his time showing off onstage, writing poems and books, and stroking his beard (it helps churn the ideas). He is the author of the Fizzlebert Stump series and the CILIP Carnegie and Kate Gre...

More about Joe Todd-Stanton

Ratings

  • (1 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)