Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

Natboff! One Million Years of Stupidity

by
,

Natboff! One Million Years of Stupidity Reviews | Toppsta

Book Rating: 5 based on 13
13 Reviews
Write a Review

WELL, DIP ME IN HISTORY AND CALL ME A TIME TRAVELLER! It's the brand new book from the author of the award-winning and bestselling Mr Gum series!


NATBOFF! is a hysterical collection of stories, all set in Mr Gum's hometown of Lamonic Bibber. Strap on your laughter goggles as you embark on a time-travelling journey through the funniest and maddest moments in history. From the Stone Age to Medieval times, from the Great Fire to the First World War, to one million years in the future, it's all here - and it's all completely crazy.


Meet the town's most famous residents, including: Natboff the caveman! Princess Snowflake! A malcontent squirrel! Strange Mildred the witch! A talking grape called Plover! Cribbins, the mysterious Victorian inventor, who invented mysterious Victorian things! And plenty more besides!


Packed full of stories, poems, an extremely odd history of the British monarchy, and even a `Shakespearian' play (penned by William's less-famous brother, Terry) - and with plenty of Easter eggs for Mr Gum fans to spot along the way - this book is perfect for fans of Horrible Histories, Roald Dahl and David Walliams. Plus it's the only one that's got the word `kingandqueeniest' in it, most likely.


With hilarious illustrations by David Tazzyman.


Have you collected all the well brilliant Mr Gum books?


You're a Bad Man, Mr Gum!


Mr Gum and the Biscuit Billionaire


Mr Gum and the Goblins


Mr Gum and the Power Crystals


Mr Gum and the Dancing Bear


What's for Dinner, Mr Gum?


Mr Gum and the Cherry Tree


Mr Gum and the Secret Hideout


Praise for Mr Gum:


`They are the funniest books ... I can't recommend them enough' - Stephen Mangan


`Smooky palooki! This book is well brilliant!' - Jeremy Strong


`Worryingly splendid' - Guardian


Andy Stanton studied English at Oxford but they kicked him out. Before becoming a children's writer he was a film script reader, a market researcher, an NHS lackey, a part-time sparrow and a plum. Today he is best-known for the hilarious and much-loved Mr Gum books, which have sold over 3.6 million copies in the UK alone and have been translated into 32 languages. The series has won numerous awards, including the inaugural Roald Dahl Funny Prize, the Red House Children's Book Award and two Blue Peter Book Awards.

Natboff! One Million Years of Stupidity Reviews | Toppsta

9781405290982

Share on

Featured Book
Book pages Starfell: Willow Moss and the Lost Day
Starfell: Willow Moss and the Lost Day

Misfit witch Willow Moss holds the fate of the magical world of Starfell in her rather unremarkable hands . . . A spellbinding new fantasy series for ages 8+

View book
Featured Book
Book pages Malamander
Malamander

Our reviewers LOVED this magical mystery set in Eerie-on-Sea, recommended for ages 8+

View book

Category

See More Humorous stories

See More Historical fiction

See More Adventure stories

Sign up to our newsletter for...

Free Book Giveaways, Recommendations & more

13th July '18
Jbwise read it themselves aged 10 aged 10
Natboff! One Million Years of Stupidity 9781405290982
5 stars
This book was absolutely hilarious! One of the best books I have ever read. Once I started it I couldn't put it down. I loved the illustrations because they made the book even funnier. I couldn't even pick a favourite part it was that good!
11th August '18
Esa Mahmood Asghar read it themselves aged 14 aged 14
Natboff! One Million Years of Stupidity 9781405290982
5 stars
This is, hands down, one of the greatest books of all time. This is absolutely hilarious, and makes no sense whatsoever! Each of these short stories are as daft and random as the next! A great read!
5th July '18
Yzabelle read it themselves aged 8 aged 8
Natboff! One Million Years of Stupidity 9781405290982
5 stars
This book is hilarious, full of stories and poems. my favourite character is the talking grape, he is super funny.  I love books like this, the illustrations are awesome too.
9th March '19
TopLegomaster read it themselves aged 8 aged 8
Natboff! One Million Years of Stupidity 9781405290982
5 stars
This amazing book is super fun and is a great compendium of funny stories. My  favourite thing about this book
10th July '18
I read it to Rory aged 10 aged 10 & to Addie aged 8 aged 8
Natboff! One Million Years of Stupidity 9781405290982
5 stars
Yes this book is daft, yes it makes little sense in parts and yes Rory and Addie laughed out loud more than they have when reading in a very long time. We would recommend reading this book out loud. Some of the made up language is a little difficult to get your head round in places so We would recommend this to a confident reader. So much fun! 
8th August '18
Booyu read it themselves aged 9 aged 9
Natboff! One Million Years of Stupidity 9781405290982
5 stars
A tickle your sides, laugh out loud on the bus book.  Love the characters the caveman and the mighty insects. Great book if you are a Mr Gum fan you will love this. Full off really interesting charcters like nothing you read before! 
19th August '18
I read it to Bobbin aged 10 aged 10 & to Piglet aged 6 aged 6
Natboff! One Million Years of Stupidity 9781405290982
5 stars
The publication of this book was well timed for my younger son - we had just finished reading the Mr Gum series, and he was feeling a bit sad about that. When this book arrived  he was SO excited, and read the first 4 or 5 pages to himself! 

The book itself follows the history of Lamonic Bibber (the town where Mr Gum lives). Each period of history is written in a contemporary style. Some styles were a bit harder to understand when read aloud, and he probably didn't appreciate the literary references. What he DID enjoy was the sillyness of words and situations that he has come to know and love from the Mr Gum stories. This book made him giggle lots, especially sections where there was lot of repetition (of words and of plot/themes). It wasn't long before my ten year old was also actively listening in! 

The ending is brilliant and possibly the chapter that produced the most laughter from the whole family. I really hope that my younger son re-read this again in a few years, and again when he is an adult as there are many levels on which to enjoy this book. 
11th August '18
Esa read it themselves aged 14 aged 14
Natboff! One Million Years of Stupidity 9781405290982
5 stars
This is, hands down, one of the greatest books of all time. This is absolutely hilarious, and makes no sense whatsoever! Each of these short stories are as daft and random as the next! A great read!
11th August '18
Ali read it themselves aged 13 aged 13
Natboff! One Million Years of Stupidity 9781405290982
5 stars
This bok is beter than eveh! My favorit caracteh is Mr Ibetyouthoughtthiswouldbeanumberbutitisnt the jografy techer. I fownd that it is a fasinating bok becos it is extreemeley exsiteing wen you turn the pajes as it maks a satisfiing sownd that sownds lik peenut buter beeng spred on a masive peace of bred. All so the bok conatayns fabulistic storys, lik the tim wen the wis man of asterly met Saint Follican dooiing a poo and he diclared it a miricle but it was just a poo so he becam rechrisened as Brownhand. Unfortunutlee it didunt inclood the fabulus tim tat i met a pola bare in the saharara deserta and he asket me to giv him a hand movig som coal boxs so i wet to the shopp next dor and boat a hand movig sum coal boxs and gav it to him. Al in al this bok is fabulus and Andy Stanton shud hav a disco to selebrat.
23rd July '18
I read it to NPTait aged 8 aged 8
Natboff! One Million Years of Stupidity 9781405290982
4 stars
It took quite a few pages to get into the caveman language! My son loved me reading this book to him and we had lots of laugh out loud moments. He really enjoyed this book. I would recommend reading this book to younger readers as the language/spelling could be a little challenging.
7th July '18
I read it to rsa aged 8 aged 8
Natboff! One Million Years of Stupidity 9781405290982
4 stars
A bit of a hit and miss one. Some of it my son found absolutely hilarious, for unknown reasons where the cavemen, Natboff tries to get help with the aid of 'Google', in those times a rock. The next chapter (The Massive Giant and the Flea) he found very dull with a lot of repetition in it. The 1916: To My Wife, Mary was similarly a bit irritating. 'Tis Rubbish Being a Squirrel - a faux Elizabeth play extract went down very well though. Overall, a very daft history of Lamonic Bibber from cavemen to far off in the future. (I must admit I rather liked the ending.) , enjoyable but only for competent readers or to be read aloud.
6th August '18
I read it myself (an adult) & to Jack Clary aged 9 aged 9
Natboff! One Million Years of Stupidity 9781405290982
4 stars
Set in the geographical location of Lamonic Bibber, this is not another Mr Gum story, although you will recognise the slapstick humour and a few distant relations of characters.  Natboff is a history of Lamonic Bibber, told in a long series of stories, plays, letters and bibbering - sometimes difficult to follow but always funny.  I found a few of the stories a bit difficult to understand (because I am an adult of increasing years) until I realised that I need to read them out loud to myself in the style of Andy Stanton, and then they made sense - almost! Any fans of Mr Gum will devour this but I think you might struggle coming to this fresh?  The language in Natboff (as in Mr Gum) is quite challenging, and would be best tackled by confident readers.  If you want to read this aloud to your children, it will work brilliantly, but you may want to practice first (with your teeth in!).
11th July '18
Ginjan22 read it themselves aged 9 aged 9
Natboff! One Million Years of Stupidity 9781405290982
3 stars
This was a very funny book lots of different things eg poems, plays and songs.
Show More (0)
ajax loader
Featured Book
Book pages Starfell: Willow Moss and the Lost Day
Starfell: Willow Moss and the Lost Day

Misfit witch Willow Moss holds the fate of the magical world of Starfell in her rather unremarkable hands . . . A spellbinding new fantasy series for ages 8+

View book
Featured Book
Book pages Malamander
Malamander

Our reviewers LOVED this magical mystery set in Eerie-on-Sea, recommended for ages 8+

View book

About Andy Stanton

Andy Stanton studied English at Oxford but they kicked him out. Before becoming a children's writer he was a film script reader, a market researcher, an NHS lackey, a part-time sparrow and a grape. He is best known for the hilarious, bestselling and award-winning Mr Gum series and has also written picture books, including Danny McGee Drinks the Sea. Andy liv...

More about Andy Stanton

About David Tazzyman

David Tazzyman Biography
David Tazzyman is an illustrator of many children's books including the popular Mr Gum series and Agatha Parrot series. His...

More about David Tazzyman

Ratings

  • (9 Reviews)
  • (3 Reviews)
  • (1 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)