Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

A Far Away Magic

by

A Far Away Magic Reviews | Toppsta

Book Rating: 5 based on 11
11 Reviews
Write a Review

When Angel moves to a new school after the death of her parents, she isn't interested in making friends. Until she meets Bavar - a strange boy, tall, awkward and desperate to remain unseen, but who seems to have a kind of magic about him. Everyone and everything within Bavar's enchanted house is urging him to step up and protect the world from a magical rift through which monsters are travelling, the same monsters that killed Angel's parents. But Bavar doesn't want to follow the path that's been chosen for him - he wants to be normal; to disappear. Fighting one another as well as their fears, Angel and Bavar must find a way to repair the rift between the worlds, and themselves, before it's too late . . . Praise for A Girl Called Owl ' A story of wild winds and bitter frosts with the warmth of friendship at its heart' - Abi Elphinstone, author of The Dreamsnatcher 'This debut is a sparklingly frosty read, full of feisty characters, myth and mystery' - Daily Mail 'A winter treat full of frosty magic' - Katherine Woodfine, author of The Mystery of the Clockwork Sparrow 'A perfect read for those who love wintery magic and a strong female character proving her place in the world.' Booktrust

A Far Away Magic Reviews | Toppsta

9781509837755

Share on

Featured Book
Book pages The Wizards of Once: Knock Three Times: Book 3
The Wizards of Once: Knock Three Times: Book 3

BOOK OF THE MONTH: Book three in the bestselling series from current Children's Laureate and author of How To Train Your Dragon, Cressida Cowell.

View book
Featured Book
Book pages The Strangeworlds Travel Agency
The Strangeworlds Travel Agency

Pack your suitcase for a magical adventure! Perfect for fans of The Train to Impossible Places and The Polar Bear Explorers' Club.

View book

Videos

If you would like to provide a video review please sign up to our video panel.

Sign up to our newsletter for...

Free Book Giveaways, Recommendations & more

Show More (0)
ajax loader

REVIEWER'S AGE

           
Age 7 9 10 11 12
Featured Book
Book pages The Wizards of Once: Knock Three Times: Book 3
The Wizards of Once: Knock Three Times: Book 3

BOOK OF THE MONTH: Book three in the bestselling series from current Children's Laureate and author of How To Train Your Dragon, Cressida Cowell.

View book
Featured Book
Book pages The Strangeworlds Travel Agency
The Strangeworlds Travel Agency

Pack your suitcase for a magical adventure! Perfect for fans of The Train to Impossible Places and The Polar Bear Explorers' Club.

View book

About Amy Wilson

Amy Wilson has a background in journalism and lives in Bristol with her young family. She is a graduate of the Bath Spa MA in Creative Writing and is the author of the critically acclaimed novels A Girl Called Owl - nominated for the CILIP Carnegie medal - and A Far Away Magic . Snowglobe is her third novel for Macm

More about Amy Wilson

Ratings

  • (8 Reviews)
  • (3 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)