Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

View all Blogs
Featured Book
Bone Music
Bone Music

BOOK OF THE MONTH: The new stand-alone novel from David Almond - Bone Music is a timely masterpiece that explores the connections between the past and the present, between civilisation and wilderness. For ages 12+

View book
Featured Books

Best books by age

Recommended children's books for Mental Health Awareness Week

colourful umbrella protecting child from the rain

We are all aware that looking after our mental health has never been more important. Youth Mental Health Day (7th September) is the perfect time to focus on how we are feeling and support people around us, including our children. 

It's so worrying as a parent when you see a child struggling with anxiety and many are going to be feeling wobbly about life opening up again and being back at school after spending so much time at home this year. Children's books are a fantastic way to help children with anxiety and to spark conversations about mental health in general. 

We use many at home, from poignant picture books through to practical activity books. They've helped us understand both what causes anxiety as well as giving strategies to deal with anxiety on a day to day basis.

Toppsta
2021-08-09
Recommended children's books for Mental Health Awareness Week
Book pages Placeholder Book

The Worries: Sohal Finds a Friend

.

'Funny, sweet and very useful for opening conversations with anxious children' - Guardian

Everyone feels worried sometimes. But what if your worries came to life and started following you around?

Sohal worries about a lot of things: the dark, mutant sheep, being alone - you name it, he worries about it! So one night he tries drawing his worries to make himself feel better - and somehow they look a lot less worrying once they're scribbled down.

But then imagine Sohal's surprise when he wakes up the next morning to find a set of funny, furry friends at the end of his bed!

His worries have come to life, and it's not long before Hurt, Fail, Anger, Big and Alone have turned his world upside down. Now it's up to Sohal to work out how to keep his worries under control - and have some serious fun while he's at it!

The Truth Pixie meets Inside Out in this hilarious, highly illustrated new series, perfect for helping children gently work through their worries and concentrate on having fun.

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

Rain Before Rainbows

An uplifting, stunningly beautiful book about optimism in the darkest of places.

A girl and her companion fox travel together from a place of loss and despair, through uncertain times, towards the hope of colour, light and life. Along the way, they find friends to guide and support them. Together, they build a glorious future and discover there is a way out of the darkness, into the light of the rainbow. A book with immense hope at its heart, this is a positive message for anyone who's ever gone through a tough time.

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

The Problem with Problems

Have you ever met a Problem? They come in all shapes and sizes, and can pop up at the most inconvenient times. But you should know some things about them that will help you make them disappear... This one-of-a-kind picture book will help little ones and grown-ups alike deal with their every day problems, from award-winning children's poet Rachel Rooney and highly acclaimed illustrator Zehra Hicks. For fans of Ed Vere and Kes Gray.

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

Be Positive! Mindful Kids: An activity book for children who want to feel more self-confident

Be Positive! is an interactive self-care activity book for children aged 7+ to colour and doodle their way through emotions tied to self-esteem and body acceptance. The encouraging and simple activities and exercises tackle the feelings of low self-esteem, body acceptance and confidence; children will enjoy using their creativity to combat negative feelings and work out how to cope with these emotions through writing, colouring, doodling and drawing. The quirky illustrations will keep the reader entertained and focused as they work through the book, or simply dip into the pages for ten minutes of calm colouring. 


Part of Mindful Kids a thoughtful range of activity books for children from Studio Press that includes No Worries, Hello Happy, Stay Strong and Be Brave. Written by Dr. Sharie Coombes, Child & Family Psychotherapist with an introduction and notes for grown-ups. 

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

Big Book of Feelings

This BIG board book helps children to talk about how they feel. With a lift-the-flap matching game!

Big Book of Feelings helps busy, curious toddlers understand and express their feelings. There are questions to answer on every page, lots to spot and giggle at and a lift-the-flap matching game to play. Each page features a different emotion, and essential first words are placed in engaging contexts that prompt further talking and interaction between parents, carers and little ones. Perfect for boosting empathy and reducing frustration by equipping children with the words they need to express themselves.

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

How do you feel?

How do you feel? is a picture book to help children express their feelings. Different emotions are illustrated using colour-coded balloons in red, yellow, green or blue relating to the four colour Zones of Regulation currently used in many primary schools. With a wide range of vocabulary to facilitate expression. AGES: 5 to 8

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

Baby Blue

Baby Blue lives in a blue world - everything is blue, from the trees, to the flowers, to the animals. When he accidentally tears a hole and a strange light pours in, he can see someone that isn't blue - another little person like him, only they are yellow. Scared but curious, he overcomes his fear and introduces himself to Baby Yellow. With his new friend, he realizes that the world is full of new and wonderful things to discover. This sweet story encourages children to conquer their fear of the unknown and take a chance on new and different things.

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

The Calm Book

The Calm Book is a friendly and engaging picture book to help young children understand their feelings using simple science. Featuring mindfulness tips, breathing exercises and calming craft activities that give children the ability to take charge of their own emotional state and the tools to become more resilient.

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

Today I'm Strong

An uplifting and empowering picture book about finding your inner strength when school life gets tough, from the winner of The Great British Bake Off and national treasure, Nadiya Hussain, beautifully illustrated by Ella Bailey.

I love to go to school. Well, most days I do.
There are some days when what I really want
is to stay at home with you.

A touching story about building the courage to overcome bullying, with a powerful reminder to always be kind.

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

Worst. Holiday. Ever

A hilarious new book from the bestselling children's author - Adrian Mole for the new generation!

Stan is going on holiday to Italy with his (fifth) best friend Felix and a load of strangers.

Stan is absolutely terrified.

Luckily, his mum's given him an emergency list that includes how to survive a shark attack, and what to do if he gets kidnapped.

Stan thinks that a better list would include how to cope with odd food, and what to do if he accidentally calls Felix's mum 'mum' in front of everybody.

And it soon turns out Italy is full of dangers and things that can go wrong.

One thing's for certain, Stan's not going to come back the same boy he left. He just hope he comes back at all . . .

Worst. Holiday. Ever is a story about facing fears, dealing with worries, and how it's OK to be anxious, scared, and sometimes a little bit brave.

View Book COMPARE PRICES

Picture Books (Fiction)

Toppsta
2021-08-09
Recommended children's books for Mental Health Awareness Week

Picture Books (Non-Fiction)

Toppsta
2021-08-09
Recommended children's books for Mental Health Awareness Week

Reference, Non-fiction & Activity Books

Toppsta
2021-08-09
Recommended children's books for Mental Health Awareness Week

Young Fiction

Toppsta
2021-08-09
Recommended children's books for Mental Health Awareness Week

Older Fiction

Toppsta
2021-08-09
Recommended children's books for Mental Health Awareness Week
Book pages Placeholder Book

The Worries: Sohal Finds a Friend

.

'Funny, sweet and very useful for opening conversations with anxious children' - Guardian

Everyone feels worried sometimes. But what if your worries came to life and started following you around?

Sohal worries about a lot of things: the dark, mutant sheep, being alone - you name it, he worries about it! So one night he tries drawing his worries to make himself feel better - and somehow they look a lot less worrying once they're scribbled down.

But then imagine Sohal's surprise when he wakes up the next morning to find a set of funny, furry friends at the end of his bed!

His worries have come to life, and it's not long before Hurt, Fail, Anger, Big and Alone have turned his world upside down. Now it's up to Sohal to work out how to keep his worries under control - and have some serious fun while he's at it!

The Truth Pixie meets Inside Out in this hilarious, highly illustrated new series, perfect for helping children gently work through their worries and concentrate on having fun.

View Book COMPARE PRICES

29th April 2021

Share this read with others...

Tweet Email
Featured Book
Bone Music
Bone Music

BOOK OF THE MONTH: The new stand-alone novel from David Almond - Bone Music is a timely masterpiece that explores the connections between the past and the present, between civilisation and wilderness. For ages 12+

View book
Featured Books