Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

Best Children's Books for British Science Week 2022

Books for British Science Week 2020

British Science Week runs 11th-20th March 2022 and is a ten day celebration of science, technology, engineering and maths. There are many different ways you can get involved, including their annual design a poster competition, loads of events and brilliant activity packs to explore.

There are heaps of books about science, technology, engineering and maths but we've handpicked the very best for your budding scientist, whatever their age.

Toppsta
2022-03-11
Best Children's Books for British Science Week 2022
Book pages Placeholder Book

Toddler Take-Along Nature: Your Outdoor Adventure

There's so much to discover on a nature adventure! What will YOU spot?

This fun and chunky board book encourages little ones to explore their environment and learn about the world of nature outside. Toddlers will love carrying the book around with the pair of bright and sturdy fabric handles! Each page contains simple labels to help curious explorers identify the plants and animals in their own surroundings, with bright, bold illustrations and peep-through pages for extra fun.

Toddler Take-Along Nature is the first title in a new series of board books focussed on child-led learning. Each book encourages children to explore their environment by spotting different things around them - perfect for keeping kids busy when you're out and about!

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

Percy the Park Keeper Nature Trail Activity Book

Discover nature with Percy the park keeper and his animal friends! A fun-packed spring and summer activity book from the bestselling creator of One Snowy Night .

Learn all about spring and summer in this fun-filled nature activity book.

Percy and his animal friends are here to guide you on an amazing discovery of plants, birds, animals, insects and more! Including wildlife facts and photos, nature-spotter guides and exciting creative projects - as well as more than four hundred stickers - this book is bursting with indoor and outdoor fun for all the family! Perfect for young nature lovers.

Percy and his animal friends have delighted readers around the world for over thirty years!

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

Fantastically Great Women Scientists and Their Stories

Prepare to be inspired with this fantastically great new series for young readers from bestselling author Kate Pankhurst, descendent of suffragette Emmeline Pankhurst. 


In this first book, read the true stories of amazing scientists and discover things that are out of this world! Women have been responsible for many of the world's most groundbreaking scientific discoveries. These are the stories of incredible female scientists whose hard work and persistence changed our understanding of science, and transformed people's ideas of what women can do. 
* Reach for the stars with the first African-American woman to go into space Mae Jemison
* Explore volcanoes with the fearless Katia Krafft
* Invent a treatment for malaria with the determined Tu YouYou
* Make scientific discoveries that will change the world with Marie Curie 
 Including comic strips, family trees, maps and more, Fantastically Great Women Scientists and Their Stories is a celebration of women who made some of the world's most important scientific breakthroughs. A fantastic gift for girls and boys alike! 
 List of women featured: Mae Jemison, Marie Curie, Elizabeth Blackwell, Janaki Ammal, Caroline Herschel, Katia Krafft, Tu Youyou and Rosalind Franklin.

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

SuperQuesters: The Case of the Stolen Sun

Meet Lilli and her best friends Leo and Bea - three endlessly curious kids with BIG imaginations. When they unite to solve a challenging science problem, they turn into SUPERHEROES Lillicorn, Leo Zoom and Bea Bumble and journey to a world full of magic, adventure and quests. And now they want YOU to join in the mission and the fun. Can you help them to track down Lord Grumble and his Snapettes and return the stolen sun to Questland? Discover your inner superhero in this unique interactive story with hands-on activities, expertly designed in line with the Key Stage 1 Computing, Maths and Science National Curriculum to help children develop their STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics) skills in innovative new ways. Features over 100 reusable stickers including magical charm rewards, a reward chart to mark progress and celebrate success, plus a glossary and answer page. If you're a superhero enthusiast, love learning through play or enjoy books such as Ada Twist, Scientist, Good Night Stories for Rebel Girls and the Fantastically Great Women series, you'll LOVE this! It's time to Read, Quest, Learn!

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

Everything You Know About Dinosaurs is Wrong!

Dinosaur fans will quickly become dinosaur experts with this informative, inventive and entertaining take on a dinosaur book! Do you know all there is to know about dinosaurs? They're mean, green and not very smart, right? Well, this book is here to show you that you're WRONG! But don't worry, even the experts can't be right all the time . . . So, let's uncover the truth! From fossilised feathers to long-necked lookalikes, this ingenious book is packed with so many amazing dinosaur discoveries, you'll soon become a palaeontology pro. 


Including jaw-dropping research that will debunk many myths about all kinds of prehistoric creatures - you'll never look at a pigeon the same way again! 
 With fascinating, friendly and easy-to-understand text written by zoologist Dr. Nick Crumpton and amazingly detailed colour artwork on every page, this beautifully produced hardback gift book with an incredible tactile cover will delight dinosaur fans of any age.

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

World-whizzing Facts: Awesome Earth Questions Answered

In this new book, TV science expert Dr Emily Grossman answers incredible and important questions about our natural world. You'll find out silly things like why some animals do square-shaped poos and which direction a dog is likely to face while weeing, but you'll also learn what climate change and wildlife loss are actually doing to our planet and what YOU can do to help. 

Covering a diverse range of key science topics, from human biology and animals and plants to the weather and space, Dr Emily shows readers why Earth is so weird and wonderfully great. Did you know there's a planet in our solar system where it actually rains diamonds? Imagine that! If you lived there, you'd always be picking them out of your hair, your pockets and probably your pants! 
 Dr Emily also tackles Earth's BIGGEST problem: climate change. Through clear, sensitive explanations, you'll find out what is actually happening to our Earth and what this means for both humans and wildlife - and what we can all do to help! 
 Written by TV science expert, STEM ambassador and advocate for women in science Dr Emily Grossman, this book will make your eyebrows rise, your jaw drop and your world WHIZZ! It will also give you hope about our future and how we can ALL make a difference. 
 Science presenter, comedian and author Emily Grossman's first book Brain-fizzing Facts: Awesome Science Questions Answered was shortlisted for the Teach Primary Book Awards 2020.

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

Thylacine

TV scientist Ben Garrod presents the biggest extinction events ever, told from the point of view of evolution's superstars, the most incredible animals ever to swim, stalk, slither or walk our planet. Whether you're 9 or 90, his unique exploration of the most destructive, yet most creative, force in nature makes top level science fun.

 Here are the superstars of the story of life, from the super-weird to the super-ferocious. Usually a species has 10 million years or so of evolving, eating, chasing, playing, maybe doing homework, or even going to the moon before it goes extinct.

   Thylacine   was super-hunted. Wiped out by humans. The last wild thylacine was shot in 1930, and the last captive one died in 1936. We humans are the only species with the power to eliminate other species from the story of life. But who are the winners and losers?

 Collect all eight books about animals we have lost in mass extinctions caused by asteroids or mega-volcanoes, clashing continents and climate change.

 Also includes:
 * Past brought to full-colour life by palaeoartist Gabriel Ugueto
 * Ask an Expert contributions from leading scientists
 * Glossary and pronunciation guide

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

Swarm Rising

For fans of Alex Rider, Young Bond and Cherub, this exciting action-adventure is the first children's book by astronaut Tim Peake and bestselling author Steve Cole, and it's based on space-age science and technology.
When Danny is kidnapped by Adi - who can run through brick walls and make cars drive on water - he realises that all humans are in danger. Adi is part of a super-advanced hive mind, the Swarm, which intends to protect the Earth from the environmental catastrophe caused by the human race.

Adi - Alien Digital Intelligence in the form of a girl - can bend the laws of physics and control digital data, but as a digital being she wants to know what it's like to be human. Which is where Danny comes in.

But what exactly is the 'help' the secretive Swarm is offering? Can Danny and his friend Jamila help Adi stop the Swarm Agents and give humanity a second chance?

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

Wonders of the Night Sky

Inviting all who dare to wonder - come navigate the spectacular treasures of the night sky with bestselling and award-winning Professor Raman Prinja's inspiring look into our galaxy and beyond, published in association with Royal Observatory Greenwich.

Encourage your kids to reach for the stars with this inspiring exploration of the night sky. Anyone with a view of the sky and a curious mind can be the next great Universe explorer!

Wonders of the Night Sky invites children all over the world to look up - just as curious people before them have done for millennia - and to know why each wonder appears before their eyes. This beautiful book connects readers to the many parts of our Universe visible to the naked eye against the sky , explodes them on the page, then provides inspiring connections to the science behind the stellar backdrop.

Professor Raman Prinja is the multi-award-winning Head of Department for Physics and Astronomy at University College London and a celebrated children's author. Professor Prinja pens this definitive look at the wonders above us, following on from the enormous success of his book Planetarium . Illustrator Jan Bielecki's striking depiction of each natural marvel will draw in readers to a lifetime of astronomical wonder . Astronomy starts with just looking up!

View Book COMPARE PRICES

Board Books

Toppsta
2022-03-11
Best Children's Books for British Science Week 2022

PICTURE BOOKS

Toppsta
2022-03-11
Best Children's Books for British Science Week 2022

fiction for ages 7+

Toppsta
2022-03-11
Best Children's Books for British Science Week 2022

fiction for ages 9+

Toppsta
2022-03-11
Best Children's Books for British Science Week 2022

Non-Fiction & reference books for ages 7+

Toppsta
2022-03-11
Best Children's Books for British Science Week 2022

Reference Books for ages 9+

Toppsta
2022-03-11
Best Children's Books for British Science Week 2022

Activity Books

Toppsta
2022-03-11
Best Children's Books for British Science Week 2022

11th March 2022

Share this read with others...

Tweet Email