Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

JFiglet

Aged 9
Joined November 2018

Favourite book EVER is The Boundless
Group
RFiglet
RFiglet, 12 7 books
JFiglet
JFiglet, 9 14 books
EFiglet
EFiglet, 6 10 books
EEFiglet
EEFiglet, 6 0 books
My Timeline Follow

Was read to me 16th February '19

The Bad Guys:Episodes 1 and 2
Author: Aaron Blabey Illustrator: Aaron Blabey
Technically we have all read this book to ourselves - nearly 10, 13 and adult and we have all enjoyed it's humour. A book in comic strip form. Classic bad guys under Wolf's leadership try to be good guys, but their actions get misinterpreted. We loved the humour and the drawings, despite being a bit old for these books. We've read episodes 1-4 in the double books and have ordered 5-8 from the library. Suitable for ages 7 upwards, the youngest is waiting her turn to read them too.

I read this book 24th January '19

The Star-spun Web
Author: Sinead O'Hart
This booked sucked you into another reality and you didn't want to put the book down until it was finished. The characters are brave and courageous, who tried to stop something evil happening no matter what. This was a great adventure and an exciting read. The start of each chapter has a spiders web, but it doesn't have any other pictures. The front cover makes you want to read the book - it's interesting and has shiny gold on. This book is suitable for both boys and girls, but it's probably got more appeal to girls as the main character is a girl. The spider in this book is a very friendly pet taranchula who wouldn't hurt a fly, so if you don't like spiders, don't let it put you off. This book is suitable for 9 to 12 year olds. I would love to read another book by Sinead O'Hart having read this one. 

Was read to me 15th January '19

Super Cats
Author: Gwyneth Rees Illustrator: Becka Moor
We really enjoyed this fast paced Super Cats story and were all gripped as the kittens developed their super powers and solved the mystery. There are lots of illustrations in each chapter that they enjoyed. We are looking forward to more Super Cat adventures and hope Gwyneth Rees writes more adventures. Whilst the back of the books said "for fans of Holly Webb", I felt it was more like an Alex T. Smith Mr. Penguin book. The age range of this book I think is more like 7-9 years,  but younger children will still enjoy this being read.
E aged 6 loved everything about the book.
J aged 9 enjoyed the book and said he'd probably read it himself now he's heard it, but it wouldn't be one he'd choose as it looks young and girlie, but it is suitable for boys and girls.

I read this book 10th January '19

The Train to Impossible Places
Author: P. G. Bell Illustrator: Flavia Sorrentino
The Train to Impossible Places is a magical adventure. I liked this book because you never knew what would happen next and it was very imaginative. It felt quite exciting. The characters were friendly and the kind of people you'd like to meet. There were some illustrations every now and again, some of which were quite detailed and I liked looking at them. Whilst the paper cover on front wasn't terribly exciting, if you removed it, the hardback cover was beautiful. I think this book is suitable for 8/9+ year olds as it's quite a big book. 

I read this book 8th January '19

Airborn
Author: Kenneth Oppel
This is a great adventure book, it was intriguing and there was always something exciting going on. It was a nice thick book so it last a few days reading it. The characters were curious and brave. The book was exciting so I wanted to read on, I couldn't put the book down. A first class novel! I can't wait to read the next book. I liked "the Boundless" you'll love this book.