Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

Spectre Collectors: Too Ghoul For School

by

Spectre Collectors: Too Ghoul For School Reviews | Toppsta

Book Rating: 4 based on 9
9 Reviews
Write a Review

Denzel is having no luck with his maths homework. First, it's too difficult, then there's a terrifying mess of smoky black tendrils that wants to kill him, then two teenagers explode through his window holding guns and throwing magic. They are the Spectre Collectors, and spooky is their speciality.

Realising that Denzel has a special gift, they sweep him off to their headquarters for training. Tested with awesome weapons and ancient magic, Denzel realises just how little he knows. But there's a serious problem on its way from the Spectral Realm, so Denzel has a lot to learn. FAST.

Spectre Collectors: Too Ghoul For School Reviews | Toppsta

9780857639608
  • ISBN: 9780857639608
  • Pub Date: 7th September 2017
  • Publisher: Nosy Crow Ltd
  • Imprint: Nosy Crow Ltd
  • Format: Paperback
  • Number of Pages: 240

Share on

Featured Book
Book pages Starfell: Willow Moss and the Lost Day
Starfell: Willow Moss and the Lost Day

Misfit witch Willow Moss holds the fate of the magical world of Starfell in her rather unremarkable hands . . . A spellbinding new fantasy series for ages 8+

View book
Featured Book
Book pages Malamander
Malamander

Our reviewers LOVED this magical mystery set in Eerie-on-Sea, recommended for ages 8+

View book

Series

This is Book 1 in the Spectre Collectors Series. See all Spectre Collectors books here.

Sign up to our newsletter for...

Free Book Giveaways, Recommendations & more

28th November '17
Alex Readalot read it themselves aged 10 aged 10
Spectre Collectors: Too Ghoul For School 9780857639608
5 stars
I read this book because I’ve read books by Barry Hutchison before and they were really good! This book made me feel excited to find out what happens next. I liked it because in most books something goes missing or they need to get something for someone but in this book they need to stop ghosts and stop someone else.

I would rate this 5 stars because it was awesome and I think everyone should definitely read this book! And everyone should read Barry Hutchison’s other books too, especially the Benjamin Blank books.
11th December '17
SportyJ read it themselves aged 8 aged 8
Spectre Collectors: Too Ghoul For School 9780857639608
5 stars
I absolutely loved this book because it was hilarious, mysterious and I couldn't put it down.  Even my mum really enjoyed it too and was cross when I sneakily read it without her.  The main characters are funny and I really liked the secret about Denzel's best friend, Smithy!  I really would recommend this!  :D  
12th September '17
I read it to seany aged 8 aged 8
Spectre Collectors: Too Ghoul For School 9780857639608
5 stars
Really good book!! Lots of adventures especially for any boys reading this.
17th September '17
I read it myself (an adult)
Spectre Collectors: Too Ghoul For School 9780857639608
5 stars
Denzel is struggling with his homework when his eraser jumps out of his pencil case. And then, there’s the dark shape lingering in the corner of the dining room, spreading across the walls. As ornaments start flying across the room, his escape through the window fails when it’s blown up. The Spectre Collectors have arrived. What they don’t understand is how Denzel can see the poltergeist, but with a pinch of memory dust and a clean up crew, it’s like it never happened.

Until the trash monster chases Denzel through school the next day. There’s no memory wipe for Denzel this time though – with spectres attacking him twice in two days, he’s off to the Spectre Collectors HQ whether he wants to or not. It’s time his unique ability was put to work, but for whose benefit?

Action-packed from the start, with Hutchison’s trademark humour and brilliantly depicted characters, this is such an entertaining read that had me laughing out loud. Perfect for reluctant readers to help them appreciate the wonder of books.

Great for fans of My Brother Is A Superhero, Jim Reaper and Kid Normal.

Many thanks to Nosy Crow and Toppsta for sending me a copy for my school bookshelf.
9th January '18
Poohbear read it themselves aged 10 aged 10
Spectre Collectors: Too Ghoul For School 9780857639608
5 stars
This book is vwry exciting and funny. I really enjoyed it and would recommend it to my friends.
14th October '17
MissMessy read it themselves aged 11 aged 11
Spectre Collectors: Too Ghoul For School 9780857639608
5 stars
Really enjoyed reading this, nice story & loved the characters
9th October '17
Yzabelle read it themselves aged 7 aged 7
Spectre Collectors: Too Ghoul For School 9780857639608
5 stars
Action-packed and a great read, I really enjoyed this book
4th March '18
I read it myself (an adult)
Spectre Collectors: Too Ghoul For School 9780857639608
3 stars
Mash together Ghostbusters with Men In Black, add a big dose of snark, a comic book villain and several surprising twists, and this is what you get. Enjoyed it far more than I expected to as I'm not usually a fan of movie-like books, but Spectre Collectors looks like it has the makings of a great series for KS2 readers. My one nit-pick is that I'd like to have seen the Spectre Collector kids a bit more fleshed out.

Hat-tip for diversity - Denzel appears to be BAME from the cover, is adopted and the book casually refers to "dads" as his parents without making it a central "issue". Very nice to see.
1st October '17
Bee read it themselves aged 9 aged 9
Spectre Collectors: Too Ghoul For School 9780857639608
1 stars
I didn't like this book because it was too spooky. I have only read a few chapters and will update this review soon. I recommend this book to boys.
Show More (0)
ajax loader
Featured Book
Book pages Starfell: Willow Moss and the Lost Day
Starfell: Willow Moss and the Lost Day

Misfit witch Willow Moss holds the fate of the magical world of Starfell in her rather unremarkable hands . . . A spellbinding new fantasy series for ages 8+

View book
Featured Book
Book pages Malamander
Malamander

Our reviewers LOVED this magical mystery set in Eerie-on-Sea, recommended for ages 8+

View book

About Barry Hutchison

Barry Hutchison hails from the Highlands of Scotland, where he spends time writing screenplays, comics and scary children's books. He is in his early thirties - but on a good day could easily pass for mid-forties - and lives happily with his long-term partner and their children.


He is tall - but not like the BFG or that - and likes...

More about Barry Hutchison

Ratings

  • (7 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (1 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (1 Reviews)