Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

Barry Hutchison

Author Links

Barry Hutchison

  • 5 stars across 32 books

    Barry Hutchison hails from the Highlands of Scotland, where he spends time writing screenplays, comics and scary children's books. He is in his early thirties - but on a good day could easily pass for mid-forties - and lives happily with his long-term partner and their children.


    He is tall - but not like the BFG or that - and likes seafood, comics and Elvis, though not necessarily in that order.

    2nd June 2016

    World's Greatest Liar

    Dylan Malone, aka Beaky, has a habit for telling porkies - every time he opens his mouth, out pops a whopper... But then... More

    (16 reviews)
    Review
    12th January 2017

    Worst Ever School Trip

    A hilarious new series from best-selling author, Barry Hutchison, perfect for fans of Tom Gates, Wimpy Kid and Barry Los... More

    (11 reviews)
    Review
    1st June 2017

    Super Creepy Camp

    When Beaky, Theo and Wayne are chosen to take part in the annual inter-schools contest with Foxley Hill it can mean only... More

    (10 reviews)
    Review
    7th September 2017

    Spectre Collectors: Too Ghoul For School

    Denzel is having no luck with his maths homework. First, it's too difficult, then there's a terrifying mess of smoky bla... More

    (9 reviews)
    Review
    23rd August 2018

    Anty Hero

    Ant might seem to have an odd attraction to insects, and it's weird that he doesn't know anything about footie, but thes... More

    (8 reviews)
    Review
    4th June 2015

    The Swivel-Eyed Ogre-Thing

    In an alternate 15th century, where dragons roam, sailing ships transform into submarines, and blacksmiths build steampu... More

    (2 reviews)
    Review
    1st April 2014

    The Shark-Headed Bear Thing

    In an alternate 15th century, where dragons roam, sailing ships transform into submarines, and blacksmiths build steampu... More

    (2 reviews)
    Review
    3rd September 2015

    The Moon-Faced Ghoul-Thing

    It's the Feast of Scarrabus, and Ben and his friends are out, stalking the dark streets, armed only with bags of sweets.... More

    (1 review)
    Review
    3rd February 2011

    The Crowmaster

    After Kyle's ordeal at school, his mother packs him off to the safety of the countryside, where there will be no tempt... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    4th February 2010

    Mr Mumbles

    Kyle's imaginary friend from childhood is back... with a vengeance. Kyle hasn't seen Mr Mumbles in years... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    5th January 2012

    The Beast

    The fifth thrilling book in this darkly funny, horror series Darren Shan called 'deliciously nightmarish'. The first b... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    1st March 2012

    Afterworlds: The 13th Horseman

    The first hilarious book in Barry's AFTERWORLDS sequence. Drake has just met the Horsemen of the Apocalypse but is tha... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    5th August 2010

    Raggy Maggie

    DARREN SHAN describes this book as "A fast-paced fury of a novel, packed with genuine scares and thrills. It made me s... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    1st August 2012

    The Darkest Corners

    The concluding part of this darkly funny, horror series Darren Shan called 'deliciously nightmarish'. Ky... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    4th January 2016

    Little Red

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    28th February 2013

    Afterworlds: The Book of Doom

    The second hilarious book in Barry's AFTERWORLDS sequence - comic fantasy perfect for fans of Pratchett and Douglas Ad... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    1st November 2012

    Tunnel of Terror

    "Enter the Tunnel of Terror and prepare to scream ... for your lives." Best friends Jim and Karl sneak o... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    20th February 2014

    The Return of Frankie Stine

    Frankie woke up, flat on his back on a hard wooden board. He had a banging headache. That was the first thing he notic... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    4th August 2011

    Doc Mortis

    The fourth thrilling book in this darkly funny, horror series Darren Shan called `deliciously nightmarish'. The first bo... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    4th January 2018

    The Goozillas!: Attack on Fungus Fort

    Gooey and green - the ultimate team! Meet the Goozillas! When max accidentally sneezes himself into his World of Slime ... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    1st March 2018

    The Goozillas!: Race to Slime Central

    Gooey and green - the ultimate team! Meet the Goozillas! When Max accidentally sneezes himself into his World of Slime ... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    11th January 2018

    Weirdest Show on Earth

    Beaky still can't tell a lie and life isn't getting any easier. When he somehow manages to land a lead part in the schoo... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    31st May 2018

    Magna Cow

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    5th July 2018

    The Goozillas!: Battle of the Gunge Games

    Gooey and green - the ultimate team! Meet the Goozillas! When Max accidentally sneezes himself into his World of Slime c... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    3rd May 2018

    The Goozillas!: Quest for Crusty Crater

    Gooey and green - the ultimate team! Meet the Goozillas! When Max accidentally sneezes himself into his World of Slime c... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    6th September 2018

    Spectre Collectors: A New York Nightmare!

    The second in Barry's Hutchison's very funny series about Denzel and his unusual friend, Smithy, full of ghouls, magic a... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    6th September 2018

    Night of the Living Ted

    When Lisa Marie and her step-brother Vernon pop into town to get their dad a birthday present, they discover the Create-... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    4th April 2019

    Revenge of the Living Ted

    Just when Lisa Marie and Vernon thought they'd seen the last of Grizz and his terrifying army of Halloween teddy bears, ... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    View all Books

    New Book

    Most Popular Book

    Coming Soon

    Recent Reviews

    • Anty Hero

      Anty Hero

      by MicahW

      It was quite a short book, so didn't take long to read. There wasn't many illustrations, but they helped bring the characters to life. I did enjoy the...

    • Anty Hero

      Anty Hero

      Started this on Monday and my class are really enjoying it so much so we have read it twice a day so far!  Great storyline and they love seeing the pi...

    • Anty Hero

      Anty Hero

      this is a fun book about a boy named Ant who is something between human and a bug and his friends.  Ant gets in trouble and its up to his friends to h...