Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

Barry Hutchison

Author Links

Barry Hutchison

  • 5 stars across 34 books

    Barry Hutchison hails from the Highlands of Scotland, where he spends time writing screenplays, comics and children's books. He is in his early thirties - but on a good day could easily pass for mid-forties - and lives happily with his long-term partner and their children

    2nd June 2016

    World's Greatest Liar

    Dylan Malone, aka Beaky, has a habit for telling porkies - every time he opens his mouth, out pops a whopper... But then... More

    (16 reviews)
    Review
    12th January 2017

    Worst Ever School Trip

    A hilarious new series from best-selling author, Barry Hutchison, perfect for fans of Tom Gates, Wimpy Kid and Barry Los... More

    (11 reviews)
    Review
    23rd August 2018

    Anty Hero

    Ant isn't like many other boys. His clothes are always dirty, there are often bugs in his hair and he doesn't even kno... More

    (11 reviews)
    Review
    1st June 2017

    Super Creepy Camp

    When Beaky, Theo and Wayne are chosen to take part in the annual inter-schools contest with Foxley Hill it can mean only... More

    (10 reviews)
    Review
    7th September 2017

    Spectre Collectors: Too Ghoul For School

    Denzel is having no luck with his maths homework. First, it's too difficult, then there's a terrifying mess of smoky bla... More

    (9 reviews)
    Review
    27th August 2015

    All That Glitters

    "My name is Harriet Manners, and I have always been a geek." The fourth book in the award-winning GEEK G... More

    (4 reviews)
    Review
    22nd March 2016

    Little Red

    A striking new interpretation of the beloved Little Red Riding Hood story - with a dark and witty twist. Little Red... More

    (4 reviews)
    Review
    1st April 2014

    The Shark-Headed Bear Thing

    In an alternate 15th century, where dragons roam, sailing ships transform into submarines, and blacksmiths build steampu... More

    (4 reviews)
    Review
    3rd September 2015

    The Moon-Faced Ghoul-Thing

    It's the Feast of Scarrabus, and Ben and his friends are out, stalking the dark streets, armed only with bags of sweets.... More

    (3 reviews)
    Review
    2nd June 2016

    The Secrets of the Wild Wood

    A Sunday Times and Daily Telegraph Book of the Year 'Fans of The Letter for the King will be delighted with its sequ... More

    (3 reviews)
    Review
    Image to show page is loading Show More Books

    New Book

    Most Popular Book

    Recent Reviews

    • Afterworlds: The Book of Doom

      Afterworlds: The Book of Doom

      by Darth

      A boy named zac and an Angel/demon named angelo are set off to search for the book of everything or also known as the book of Doom to hell. I really l...

    • Afterworlds: The 13th Horseman

      Afterworlds: The 13th Horseman

      by Gina

      A young boy stumbles across a secret shed in his garden. Three men live in the shed, they are the horsemen of the apocalypse. They offer Drake a space...

    • The Shark-Headed Bear Thing

      The Shark-Headed Bear Thing

      This is a really, really, really, really, adventurous book, and I love really, really, really, really, adven...