Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

Barry Hutchison

Author Links

Barry Hutchison

  • 5 stars across 33 books

    Barry Hutchison hails from the Highlands of Scotland, where he spends time writing screenplays, comics and scary children's books. He is in his early thirties - but on a good day could easily pass for mid-forties - and lives happily with his long-term partner and their children.


    He is tall - but not like the BFG or that - and likes seafood, comics and Elvis, though not necessarily in that order.

    2nd June 2016

    World's Greatest Liar

    Dylan Malone, aka Beaky, has a habit for telling porkies - every time he opens his mouth, out pops a whopper... But then... More

    (16 reviews)
    Review
    12th January 2017

    Worst Ever School Trip

    A hilarious new series from best-selling author, Barry Hutchison, perfect for fans of Tom Gates, Wimpy Kid and Barry Los... More

    (11 reviews)
    Review
    23rd August 2018

    Anty Hero

    Ant might seem to have an odd attraction to insects, and it's weird that he doesn't know anything about footie, but thes... More

    (11 reviews)
    Review
    1st June 2017

    Super Creepy Camp

    When Beaky, Theo and Wayne are chosen to take part in the annual inter-schools contest with Foxley Hill it can mean only... More

    (10 reviews)
    Review
    7th September 2017

    Spectre Collectors: Too Ghoul For School

    Denzel is having no luck with his maths homework. First, it's too difficult, then there's a terrifying mess of smoky bla... More

    (9 reviews)
    Review
    27th August 2015

    All That Glitters

    "My name is Harriet Manners, and I have always been a geek." The fourth book in the award-winning GEEK G... More

    (4 reviews)
    Review
    3rd September 2015

    The Moon-Faced Ghoul-Thing

    It's the Feast of Scarrabus, and Ben and his friends are out, stalking the dark streets, armed only with bags of sweets.... More

    (3 reviews)
    Review
    1st April 2014

    The Shark-Headed Bear Thing

    In an alternate 15th century, where dragons roam, sailing ships transform into submarines, and blacksmiths build steampu... More

    (3 reviews)
    Review
    2nd June 2016

    The Secrets of the Wild Wood

    A Sunday Times and Daily Telegraph Book of the Year 'Fans of The Letter for the King will be delighted with its sequel'... More

    (2 reviews)
    Review
    6th September 2018

    Night of the Living Ted

    When Lisa Marie and her step-brother Vernon pop into town to get their dad a birthday present, they discover the Create-... More

    (1 review)
    Review
    Image to show page is loading Show More Books

    New Book

    Most Popular Book

    Coming Soon

    Recent Reviews

    • The Moon-Faced Ghoul-Thing

      The Moon-Faced Ghoul-Thing

      by Darth

      It was very exciting. There is a lot going on in the story. Ben and his friends get picked up by the moon faced ghoul thing and get sent to another re...

    • The Shark-Headed Bear Thing

      The Shark-Headed Bear Thing

      by Darth

      This book is all about a young boy named Benjamin Blank he goes on an adventure with two others, Wesley a grade one wizard and Paradise the mayers dau...

    • The Moon-Faced Ghoul-Thing

      The Moon-Faced Ghoul-Thing

      I really liked all of the twists in this story. I also loved the setting of the story and thought it was a great story. I didn't give five stars becau...