Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

Barry Hutchison

  • 5 stars across 35 books

     Barry Hutchison hails from the Highlands of Scotland, where he spends time writing screenplays, comics and children's books. He is in his early thirties - but on a good day could easily pass for mid-forties - and lives happily with his long-term partner and their children

     
    1st June 2016

    World's Greatest Liar

    Dylan Malone, aka Beaky, has a habit for telling porkies - every time he opens his mouth, out pops a whopper... But then... More

    (17 reviews)
    Review
    12th January 2017

    Worst Ever School Trip

    A hilarious new series from best-selling author, Barry Hutchison, perfect for fans of Tom Gates, Wimpy Kid and Barry Los... More

    (11 reviews)
    Review
    23rd August 2018

    Anty Hero

    Ant isn't like many other boys. His clothes are always dirty, there are often bugs in his hair and he doesn't even kno... More

    (11 reviews)
    Review
    1st June 2017

    Super Creepy Camp

    When Beaky, Theo and Wayne are chosen to take part in the annual inter-schools contest with Foxley Hill it can mean only... More

    (10 reviews)
    Review
    7th September 2017

    Spectre Collectors: Too Ghoul For School

    Denzel is having no luck with his maths homework. First, it's too difficult, then there's a terrifying mess of smoky bla... More

    (9 reviews)
    Review
    5th February 2015

    The Shark-Headed Bear Thing

    In an alternate 15th century, where dragons roam, sailing ships transform into submarines, and blacksmiths build steampu... More

    (4 reviews)
    Review
    3rd September 2015

    The Moon-Faced Ghoul-Thing

    In an alternate 15th century, where dragons roam, sailing ships transform into submarines, and blacksmiths build steampu... More

    (3 reviews)
    Review
    4th June 2015

    The Swivel-Eyed Ogre-Thing

    In an alternate 15th century, where dragons roam, sailing ships transform into submarines, and blacksmiths build steampu... More

    (2 reviews)
    Review
    1st March 2012

    Afterworlds: The 13th Horseman

    The first hilarious book in Barry's AFTERWORLDS sequence. Drake has just met the Horsemen of the Apocalypse but is tha... More

    (2 reviews)
    Review
    28th February 2013

    Afterworlds: The Book of Doom

    The second hilarious book in Barry's AFTERWORLDS sequence - comic fantasy perfect for fans of Pratchett and Douglas Ad... More

    (2 reviews)
    Review
    Image to show page is loading Show More Books

    New Book

    Most Popular Book

    Recent Reviews

    • Afterworlds: The Book of Doom

      Afterworlds: The Book of Doom

      by rsa

      This is the sequel to The 13th Horseman ( But it can be still read as a stand alone book). It is fantastic fantasy book. I really enjoyed it. It is ab...

    • Mr Mumbles

      Mr Mumbles

      by Hutch2

      I really enjoyed that. It was definitely spooky but not too scary.  I am glad I never had an imaginary friend! Aimed at yr5+...

    • Afterworlds: The 13th Horseman

      Afterworlds: The 13th Horseman

      by rsa

      This is a really excellent fantasy adventure book. It is about a young boy named Drake, who has had to start a new school due to being expelled from t...