Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

The Last Kids on Earth Series

by
  • (17 reviews)

    The Last Kids on Earth is a brilliant graphic novel series for kids 8+ that has been described as Wimpy Kid meets The Walking Dead - a perfect mash-up!

    Self-described late developer, thirteen-year-old Jack Sullivan has so far survived the zombie apocalypse by hiding out in his treehouse, playing video games and eating junk food. Jack’s life has actually become more like a video game than reality, battling monsters on a daily basis. Once he has found his best friend Quint Baker, rescued his crush and defeated Blarg – the baddest monster in town he will be well on his way to becoming the ultimate zombie warrior.

    The action adventure series follows Jack, Quint and their friends on their mission to become post-apocalyptic action heroes and beat the zombies. Each book reveals a new adventure and, despite the zombies, Jack is somehow having the time of his life – living in a treehouse with his best friends, battling monsters and escaping certain death. Jack’s adventures are brought to life by hilarious illustrations by Douglas Holgate.

    The bestselling book series by American author Max Brallier was adapted into an animated series by Netflix in 2019. A second season of the post-apocalyptic zombie adventure is due to come out in 2020.

    The laugh out loud cartoon monster adventure series is perfect for even the most reluctant readers, with its comic strip illustrations and exciting plots.

     Zombies for kids may not seem the obvious choice but the books are not too scary and are great for readers 8+ who love adventure. Fans of Timmy Failure, Diary of a Wimpy Kid or Tom Gates will love Jack’s mission to defeat the zombies. Start with book one The Last Kids on Earththere are currently four books in the series with book 5 The Last Kids on Earth and the Midnight Blade coming soon. 

    All the The Last Kids on Earth Books in order:

    Book 1: The Last Kids on Earth (2015)
    Book 2: The Last Kids on Earth and the Zombie Parade (2016)
    Book 3: The Last Kids on Earth and the Nightmare King (2017)
    Book 4: The Last Kids on Earth and the Cosmic Beyond (2018)
    Book 5: The Last Kids on Earth and the Midnight Blade (2019)
    Book 6: The Last Kids on Earth and the Skeleton Road (2020)
    Book 7: The Last Kids on Earth and the Doomsday Race (Sep 2021)

    Standalone books:

    Book 1: The Last Kids on Earth: Survival Guide (2015)
    Book 2: The Last Kids on Earth: Junes Wild Flight (2020)
    Book 3: The Last Kids on Earth:Thrilling Tales from the Tree House (2015)
    Book 4: The Last Kids on Earth: Quint and Dirk's Hero Quest (2015)

    Additional Resources

    Book 1
    Book 1

    The Last Kids on Earth

    'Terrifyingly fun! Max Brallier's The Last Kids on Earth delivers big thrills and even bigger laughs.' Jeff Kinn... More

    (12 reviews)
    Review
    Book 2
    Book 2

    The Last Kids on Earth and the Zombie Parade

    Soon to be a major NETFLIX series! 'Terrifyingly fun! Max Brallier's The Last Kids on Earth delivers... More

    (1 review)
    Review
    Book 3
    Book 3

    The Last Kids on Earth and the Nightmare King

    Wimpy Kid meets The Walking Dead in this hilarious graphic novel series packed with monsters and zombies In their thir... More

    (2 reviews)
    Review
    Book 4
    Book 4

    The Last Kids on Earth and the Cosmic Beyond

    Soon to be a major NETFLIX series! 'Terrifyingly fun! Max Brallier's The L... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    Book 5
    Book 5

    Last Kids on Earth and the Midnight Blade

    Now a major Netflix series! 'Terrifyingly fun! Max Brallier's The Last Kids ... More

    (1 review)
    Review
    Book 6
    Book 6

    Last Kids on Earth and the Skeleton Road

    Now a major Netflix series! 'Terrifyingly fun! Max Brallier's The Last Kids ... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    Book 7
    Book 7

    The Last Kids on Earth and the Forbidden Fortress

    Now an Emmy award-winning Netflix series! The highly-anticipated new book from the New York Times bestse... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    Book 4
    Book 4

    The Last Kids on Earth: Quint and Dirk's Hero Quest

    Now an Emmy award-winning Netflix series! The highly-anticipated new book from the New York Times bestse... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    View all Books
    Featured Book
    The Last Hours: Chain of Thorns
    The Last Hours: Chain of Thorns

    BOOK OF THE MONTH - The exciting and much-awaited conclusion to Cassandra Clare's Last Hours series, you will not want to miss this!

    View book
    Featured Books

    Most Popular Book

    Coming Soon

    Recent Reviews

    • The Last Kids on Earth

      The Last Kids on Earth

      I enjoyed this book. I liked how it was written; from the boys point of view. It was very funny. There is a monster apocalypse and the boy has to surv...

    • The Last Kids on Earth

      The Last Kids on Earth

      I absolutely loved this book. I got through it in a couple of hours and am looking forward to the next one. ...

    • The Last Kids on Earth

      The Last Kids on Earth

      by Saachi

      I really like this book! Its an adventure and I would defiantly recommend this book to anyone over the age of 8 !...