Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

The Battle of the Beetles Series

by
(81 reviews)

This trilogy has won awards, hearts and lots of Toppsta love! We recommend this black-and-white illustrated series to all readers aged 8 and up, and fans of Roald Dahl will especially love it. 

Please do not shy away from this series even if you hate insects! We promise you it is worth it, and might have you rethinking these creepy little crawlies that so often are hated by children and adults alike...

The story begins with Darkus, a young boy whose father has mysteriously gone missing. But one day a huge insect seems to be asking for his attention, and Darkus begins to wonder if he might have a little something to do with his missing scientist father. 

As the story unravels, we meet more and more interesting characters: 

- Lucretia Cutter, a woman with a taste for very creepy-looking jewellery, who will later be the star of Beetle Queen
Humphrey and Pickering, two nasty crooks
- Novak, Lucretia's daughter and Hollywood diva
Bertolt and Virginia, two very helpful friends to Darkus

This series, with illustrations throughout by  Julia Sarda, is adventurous, full of surprises and also quite emotional at various points. It's a book that so many different readers will enjoy.

M. G. Leonard is a great children's middle grade author, and is the writer behind some of our other favourite series: The Twitchers and the Adventures on Trains books

All the Beetle Boy books in order:

Book 1: Beetle Boy (2016)
Book 2: Beetle Queen (2017)
Book 3: Battle of the Beetles (2018)

The Beetle Collector's Handbook (2018)

Additional Resources

Book 1
Book 1

Beetle Boy

The first book in the bestselling BATTLE OF THE BEETLES series – perfect for fans of Roald Dahl! Winner of the Branford... MoreBeetle Boy

(49 reviews)
Review
Book 2
Book 2

Beetle Queen

The second book in the BATTLE OF THE BEETLES series – perfect for fans of Roald Dahl! 'Truly great storytelling.' MICHA... MoreBeetle Queen

(16 reviews)
Review
Book 3
Book 3

x Battle of the Beetles

The spectacular finale to the BATTLE OF THE BEETLES series – perfect for fans of Roald Dahl! 'Truly great storytelling.... Morex Battle of the Beetles

(13 reviews)
Review
Handbook
Handbook

Beetle Boy: The Beetle Collector's Handbook

"Jaw-droppingly gorgeous" - The Bookseller Beetle mania is spreading, thanks to M.G. Leonard's bestselling BEETLE BOY tr... MoreBeetle Boy: The Beetle Collector's Handbook

(3 reviews)
Review
View all Books

Most Popular Book

Recent Reviews

  • Beetle Boy

    Beetle Boy

    Grades, oh grades, the eternal judge of a student's worth. Whether we like it or not, these seemingly innocent letters hold immense power in determini...

  • Beetle Boy: The Beetle Collector's Handbook

    Beetle Boy: The Beetle Collector's Handbook

    My mum got me this book because I read Beetle Boy a while ago and she thought I would like it. It is full of interesting facts about beetles. I didn't...

  • x Battle of the Beetles

    x Battle of the Beetles

    I read this series knowing nothing about beetles and finished it identifying them! It's adventurous, exciting and you really get to know the character...