Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

Our new favourite animal books

30th December 2018

4 animal stories book covers

There are some brilliant new animal books coming out this Spring. I find that sometimes sensitive children can find animal stories with complex themes, easier to read or listen to. Having the story one step removed, can somehow make it less real and less worrying. Whatever age your animal-loving child is, there's something for everyone in this list; a That's Not My Puppy book for babies, some comedy in the brilliant Dog Diaries book for ages 5+, and an adventure, Florence and the Mischievous Kitten for ages 7+

Toppsta
2019-09-21
Our new favourite animal books
Book pages Placeholder Book

That's not my puppy...

A sparkly special edition of the very first That's not my... book to celebrate 20 years of That's not my... books! Babies and toddlers will love touching the textured patches as they meet puppies with fluffy tails, shaggy ears and bumpy paws. The bright pictures and textures to stroke are designed to help develop sensory and language awareness. (Out January)

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

Florence and the Mischievous Kitten

The brilliant new book from Megan Rix, telling the story of Florence Nightingale through the eyes of her young ward. Florence loved cats, and had many during her lifetime. This is the perfect introduction to the Lady with the Lamp for young children, told with warmth, humour and adorable animals.  (Out January)

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

Super Cats

Cats with superpowers! This brand-new series from bestselling author Gwyneth Rees is every young animal lover's dream come true. Perfect for fans of Holly Webb, Alex T. Smith, and those who want their animal stories with a bit more action!

When Tagg discovers that his parents have superpowers, his life is changed forever. And just to think, all this time he thought he was an ordinary cat. Suddenly a whole new world opens up before his eyes. His mum has the most extraordinary claws. His dad is super strong. What will Tagg's power be? He can't wait to find out!

But cats are disappearing from the streets - cats rumoured to have special abilities of their own. And when a new cat arrives in town, things aren't quite what they seem. Nemesissy is a sleek lilac Siamese with the power to hypnotise humans. Unfortunately for Nemesissy she messes with the wrong cats when she targets Tagg and his new friend, Sugarfoot - they may be kittens, but they are SUPER!

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

The Dog Who Saved the World

The astounding new novel from the bestselling and Costa-shortlisted author of  Time Travelling with a Hamster, this is a story for everyone of ten and older who loves adventure, laughs and tears.

When eleven-year-old Georgie befriends an eccentric retired scientist, she becomes the test subject for a thrilling new experiment: a virtual-reality 3D version of the future.

But then a deadly disease threatens the life of every dog in the country and Georgie's beloved dog, Mr Mash, gets sick. And that's only the start of her troubles.

Soon, Georgie and Mr Mash must embark on a desperate quest: to save every dog on earth, and maybe even all of humanity ...

... without actually leaving the room.

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

Captain Cat and the Treasure Map

Illustrated by the bestselling author and illustrator of Great Women Who Changed the World, Kate Pankhurst, Captain Cat and the Great Pirate Race is a laugh-out-loud piratical adventure from Sue Mongredien, perfect for newly confident reads or to enjoy together.

Patch is a ship's cat who lives aboard The Golden Earring. Along with her friends, Cutlass the parrot and Monty the monkey, Patch frequently gets the pirate crew out of trouble - although they never realize quite how much she does to save their skins . . .

In their first adventure, the pirate crew discover a treasure map and set out to find where X marks the spot. But little do they know that the treasure is cursed and it's up to Captain Cat to stop them, before it's too late!

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

Little Rabbit's Big Surprise

Little Rabbit is bored. Her brothers and sisters are busy with chores and her friends are out collecting worms. Her grandfather, Big Rabbit, offers to make her his assistant for the day - he's got lots of work she can help him with. Little Rabbit laughs; her grandfather doesn't have a job - he spends all day with his friends. "Why don't you come with me and see?" replies Big Rabbit.

First they visit Mole, who has a problem with his dark tunnels, before hopping over to visit Granny Hedgehog, who's suffering with a rather nasty cold. As they're leaving they meet Dormouse who's struggling to keep his babies happy while he forages for twigs for their nest. The last stop is Squirrel's den, but the usually acrobatic Squirrel has sprained her paw. After helping her, they head home - what a busy day! In the morning Little Rabbit wakes to find her grandfather has left her a list of things to collect. Little Rabbit's excited, certain that the things are for making a kite, but she's in for a big surprise...

A heartwarming story about helping others and spreading kindness. (Out February)

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

Little Fish and Mummy

Hello! I am Little Fish, swimming in the sea.
I love my mummy very much, and Mummy Fish loves me.

Join Little Fish and Mummy for a special day together! This heart-warming story follows Little Fish and Mummy on a rhyming adventure under the sea: swimming, blowing big bubbles and saying hello to all their fishy friends. Little ones will love this sturdy fish-shaped book that's all about the special bond between a mother and child.

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

Mini Rabbit Not Lost

A deliciously funny debut from a major new talent!

MiniRabbit is making a cake.

Cake, cake, cake!

But he's run out of berries.

No berries, no cake.

No cake? No way!

So off he goes to look for some...

He's not cold, not too small.

And, no, no, definitely NOT LOST...

or is he?

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

Perfectly Peculiar Pets

From armadillos, flamingos and umbrella birds to quokkas and iguanas, Elli Woollard presents a lovely collection of poems for younger children about pets which are just a little bit peculiar... Filled with fun rhymes, quirky black-and-white illustrations and exotic animals, this book is perfect for reading aloud. Some poems are hilarious, some are gruesome and some will make you want to wash your hair, but there's sure to be a pet poem here for every child and adult alike.

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

Dog Diaries

'A perfect story to tickle the funny bone of any young reader!' Megan Rix

Oh boy, oh boy, oh boy!

I've been waiting ages to tell my story, and now it's finally happening!

Being Rafe's dog isn't always easy, but it is always EXCITING!

I've got so much to tell you about:

The amazing Catch-A-Doggy-Bone kennel
My favorite places for hiding snacks
And my ultimate nemesis - THE VACUUM CLEANER!

All the most important parts of a dog's life.

View Book COMPARE PRICES

Animal Books for ages 7+

Toppsta
2019-09-21
Our new favourite animal books

Share this read with others...

Tweet Email