Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

Captain Pug

by
,

Captain Pug Reviews | Toppsta

Book Rating: 5 based on 5
5 Reviews
Write a Review

Pug is going on a seafaring adventure. He's had jam tarts for breakfast. He's wearing a smart sailor suit. There's just one problem. Pug is afraid of the water!

Captain Pug is the first book in a glorious illustrated series for fans of Claude and Squishy McFluff.

Captain Pug Reviews | Toppsta

9781408866368

Share on

Series

This is Book 1 in the The Adventures of Pug Series. See all The Adventures of Pug books here.

Sign up to our newsletter for...

Free Book Giveaways, Recommendations & more

18th May '17
joshgok read it themselves aged 6 aged 6
Captain Pug 9781408866368
5 stars
We picked up this book in the shop because we could see it was about a pug, which my children love!

Flicking through the pages reveals the wonderful larger font, and colourful pictures.  Great for children who feel overwhelmed by thousands of words on a page, and those aged 6+ who still prefer to read colourful picture books.

My son couldn't put this book down, and he was able to read it so easily, it really gave him a confidence boost! 

A lovely series of books, we will continue to buy them and keep them!
30th December '18
I read it to Brobee aged 6 aged 6 & to Toodee aged 4 aged 4
Captain Pug 9781408866368
5 stars
We all enjoyed this book much more than we expected and would recommend it to younger readers or as a longer bedtime book to share over a few evenings. Pug is quite a cheeky little character and we all thought that his incredibly posh owner was really funny. We enjoyed seeing Pug bravely conquering his fear of the water through the adventure too. We are looking forward to reading the rest of the series.
6th May '16
Connor08 read it themselves aged 7 aged 7
Captain Pug 9781408866368
5 stars
There is a girl called Lady Miranda and she has a little pet pug. They are both invited to a birthday party which is on a boat. The little pug does not want to go as he is too scared of water. Lady Miranda finds a boat captains outfit for her pug and then he wants to be a captain. This was book was good, because I love pugs and I have not seen story about them before. It is a funny book, I liked when the pug got his face covered in jam from his favourite food jam tarts. It is an easy to read book and I can't wait to read the next one when it is out next year.
10th May '16
I read it myself (an adult)
Captain Pug 9781408866368
5 stars
I LOVE this.
I got it in a giveaway for an honest review, was really looking forward to this one, and it did not disappoint.

A charming story about Pug's water related adventure, a fun plotline with great humour, all surrounded with wonderful illustrations.

Now to pass on to my 9 and 7 yr old as I know they will like the story, and could easily read it by themselves. I believe there will only be a couple of trickier words that they might need help with.

I'll be looking out for future books
1st August '18
I read it to CassidyDenness aged 8 aged 8
Captain Pug 9781408866368
4 stars
I don't get what the appeal of Pugs are but they seem to be slowly taking over the world and both my kids love them.

This book contains some lovely illustrations, a lot of care has been taken drawing Captain Pug and you can't help but laugh at a few of the scenes. The story flows nicely, a good little adventure with a bit of mild danger. Seeing as my youngest is a big fan of pugs she absolutely loved the book, she did have one concern though, Captain Pug did seem to be eating a lot of cakes, she said he was naughty and should be eating dog food.

Entertaining read and I expect we'll be getting the second adventure when it comes out.
Show More (0)

About Laura James

Laura James's love of storytelling began at an early age and led her to undertake a degree in Film Studies and an MA in Writing for Young People at Bath Spa University. Laura's debut novel Captain Pug was shortlisted for the Waterstones Children's Book Prize in 2017. Laura lives near Bath with her two dachshunds, Brian and Florence.

Emily Fox is a Bristol-...

More about Laura James

About Eglantine Ceulemans

Laura James's love of storytelling began at an early age and led her to undertake a degree in Film Studies and an MA in Writing for Young People at Bath Spa University. Laura's debut novel Captain Pug was shortlisted for the Waterstones Children's Book Prize in 2017. Laura lives...

More about Eglantine Ceulemans

Books by this illustrator

Ratings

  • (4 Reviews)
  • (1 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)