Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

Captain Pug

by
,

Captain Pug Reviews | Toppsta

Book Rating: 5 based on 17
17 Reviews
Write a Review

Pug is going on a seafaring adventure. He's had jam tarts for breakfast. He's wearing a smart sailor suit. There's just one problem. Pug is afraid of the water!

Captain Pug is the first book in a glorious illustrated series for fans of Claude and Squishy McFluff.

Captain Pug Reviews | Toppsta

9781408866368

Share on

Series

This is Book 1 in the The Adventures of Pug Series. See all The Adventures of Pug books here.

Category

See More General fiction

See More Humorous stories

See More Animal stories

Sign up to our newsletter for...

Free Book Giveaways, Recommendations & more

30th January '19
I read it to Puffin Class aged 2 to 14
Captain Pug 9781408866368
5 stars
I had previously read Pirate Pug to my class as an introduction to a class topic on pirates. My kids loved it so much that we decided to read Captain Pug as our story at the end of a day. My class loved it just as much. They loved following the adventure of Captain Pug and Lady Miranda and comparing it to Pirate Pug. The illustrations are fantastic and really spark the children's imagination. I would 100% recommend this book to anyone with children.
30th January '19
I read it to Squirt aged 5 aged 5
Captain Pug 9781408866368
5 stars
This book was thoroughly enjoyed by my daughter who has previously had Pirate Pug. The story is a silly one from the dogs point of view and made my 5 yr old laugh. She particularly liked the pictures-great that they're there as they break up the writing and make it much more fun to read. We loved Pugs character and how his owner Lady Miranda saves the day. 
5th February '19
I read it to Noah aged 8 aged 8 & to Flynn aged 5 aged 5
Captain Pug 9781408866368
5 stars
This is the first book in a series of stories about a lovely little dog called Pug. He is extremely fond of jam tarts but no so fond of water. Having previously read Pirate Pug we were already fans of Pug and his owner Lady Miranda. In this story Lady Miranda has a birthday party on the boating lake to go to so she decides to make Pug a Captain and finds him a suitable outfit. Their day starts off well enough but when Pug gets distracted by a picnic basket everything gets a bit mixed up. Lady Miranda has to try and catch up with Pug as he goes on an amazing adventure with lots of boats and lots of water. This book has some lovely characters, colourful illustrations and the writing is a good size. We loved reading it and will definitely seek out more of Pug's adventure stories.
11th February '19
Sammy19 read it themselves aged 7 aged 7
Captain Pug 9781408866368
5 stars
I loved everything about the book. The characters were good, I liked captain pug because he was a captain. The pictures were good in the book because it showed me what was happening. This book made me feel happy. 
 
11th February '19
I read it to Sammy19 aged 7 aged 7
Captain Pug 9781408866368
5 stars
I read this to my son over a few nights before bed. He loved it! And even after the first chapter/night he was excited to find out what was going to happen next. I would definately recommend this book to people who have a child of similar age to my son (7) 
My son now can’t wait to read the other pug books in the series. 
1st February '19
I read it to aiwilford aged 7 aged 7 & to mrwilford aged 5 aged 5
Captain Pug 9781408866368
5 stars
We really enjoyed this book. Pug is such a sweet little dog who is so loyal to his owner. This book made us laugh out loud when he became the captain for the rowing boat, and he was barking as he was scared, so the rowers kept rowing harder. The pictures are gorgeous too. Great for those readers just starting to read independently. 
18th May '17
joshgok read it themselves aged 6 aged 6
Captain Pug 9781408866368
5 stars
We picked up this book in the shop because we could see it was about a pug, which my children love!

Flicking through the pages reveals the wonderful larger font, and colourful pictures.  Great for children who feel overwhelmed by thousands of words on a page, and those aged 6+ who still prefer to read colourful picture books.

My son couldn't put this book down, and he was able to read it so easily, it really gave him a confidence boost! 

A lovely series of books, we will continue to buy them and keep them!
7th February '19
ZMDA read it themselves aged 6 aged 6
Captain Pug 9781408866368
5 stars
I read this book myself. I really enjoyed it. I thought the pictures were very good. The story was funny. I can't wait to read some more of these books 
18th February '19
Amelie read it themselves aged 6 aged 6
Captain Pug 9781408866368
5 stars
This book is about a pug dog and Lady Miranda.  Pug loves jam tarts and doesn't like water very much.  He is very funny, I really liked the adventures he went on.

The pictures are really fun and I liked the book so much I read it in two days!  I have already bought another one to read.
30th December '18
I read it to Brobee aged 6 aged 6 & to Toodee aged 4 aged 4
Captain Pug 9781408866368
5 stars
We all enjoyed this book much more than we expected and would recommend it to younger readers or as a longer bedtime book to share over a few evenings. Pug is quite a cheeky little character and we all thought that his incredibly posh owner was really funny. We enjoyed seeing Pug bravely conquering his fear of the water through the adventure too. We are looking forward to reading the rest of the series.
6th May '16
Connor08 read it themselves aged 7 aged 7
Captain Pug 9781408866368
5 stars
There is a girl called Lady Miranda and she has a little pet pug. They are both invited to a birthday party which is on a boat. The little pug does not want to go as he is too scared of water. Lady Miranda finds a boat captains outfit for her pug and then he wants to be a captain. This was book was good, because I love pugs and I have not seen story about them before. It is a funny book, I liked when the pug got his face covered in jam from his favourite food jam tarts. It is an easy to read book and I can't wait to read the next one when it is out next year.
3rd February '19
Thogg read it themselves aged 7 aged 7
Captain Pug 9781408866368
5 stars
My 7 year Daughter loved this book, it was easy for her to read herself and the pictures kept her interested. She even read it to her 4 year old Brother.
She loved that the he kept eating as she likes to do this too so it was a great conversation starter.
She hopes there are more books to read as she enjoyed the different characters.
29th January '19
I read it to Rubiroo aged 6 aged 6
Captain Pug 9781408866368
5 stars
We were attracted to the book for the pug she is doing so well with her reading and asking for more grown up books. The book is set out well she especially liked the map at the front and the illustrations through out especially of the pug. She said they were funny and made her laugh. 
Chapters were a great size one a night and written so she could read most but the tricky words herself.
She loved the adventures that the pug had especially the jam tarts and the crew of the fearless and was pleased to know pug wasn’t going to be a pirate again.
She is now looking for more books of the series 
10th May '16
I read it myself (an adult)
Captain Pug 9781408866368
5 stars
I LOVE this.
I got it in a giveaway for an honest review, was really looking forward to this one, and it did not disappoint.

A charming story about Pug's water related adventure, a fun plotline with great humour, all surrounded with wonderful illustrations.

Now to pass on to my 9 and 7 yr old as I know they will like the story, and could easily read it by themselves. I believe there will only be a couple of trickier words that they might need help with.

I'll be looking out for future books
10th February '19
PMK read it themselves aged 8 aged 8
Captain Pug 9781408866368
5 stars
Our eight year old had never heard of these books until her brother won a Toppsta giveaway, and now she reads them in one sitting! A good variation in text presentation and illustrations that help lighten the load, with a good dollop of silliness to raise a smile and occasional chuckle.
1st August '18
I read it to CassidyDenness aged 8 aged 8
Captain Pug 9781408866368
4 stars
I don't get what the appeal of Pugs are but they seem to be slowly taking over the world and both my kids love them.

This book contains some lovely illustrations, a lot of care has been taken drawing Captain Pug and you can't help but laugh at a few of the scenes. The story flows nicely, a good little adventure with a bit of mild danger. Seeing as my youngest is a big fan of pugs she absolutely loved the book, she did have one concern though, Captain Pug did seem to be eating a lot of cakes, she said he was naughty and should be eating dog food.

Entertaining read and I expect we'll be getting the second adventure when it comes out.
7th February '19
I read it to eric_ aged 5 aged 5
Captain Pug 9781408866368
3 stars
I really like the fonts and spacing, and the amount of illustrations. Great for kids that are starting to read but can already start reading short chapter books by themselves. My son enjoyed his second Pug story and he had some laughs with Captain Pug. The story is placed in the present days, but at the same time, the pug's owner is Lady Miranda, who is privileged and even has two footmen who carry her around in a sedan chair and do everything for her. This is just so strange for me, but my son didn't seem to question or even understand this really, so he was quite fine with the story and enjoyed Pug's adventures.
Show More (0)

About Laura James

Laura James's love of storytelling began at an early age and led her to undertake a degree in Film Studies and an MA in Writing for Young People at Bath Spa University. Laura's debut novel Captain Pug was shortlisted for the Waterstones Children's Book Prize in 2017. Laura lives near Bath with her two dachshunds, Brian and Florence.

Emily Fox is a Bristo...

More about Laura James

About Eglantine Ceulemans

Laura James's love of storytelling began at an early age and led her to undertake a degree in Film Studies and an MA in Writing for Young People at Bath Spa University. Laura's debut novel Captain Pug was shortlisted for the Waterstones Children's Book Prize in 2017. Laura lives...

More about Eglantine Ceulemans

Books by this illustrator

Ratings

  • (15 Reviews)
  • (1 Reviews)
  • (1 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)