Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

Sara Ogilvie

Author Links

Sara Ogilvie

  • 5 stars across 22 books
    Richmal Crompton was born in Lancashire in 1890. The first story about William Brown appeared in Home magazine in 1919, and the first collection of William stories was published in book form three years later. In all, thirty-eight William books were published, the last one in 1970, after Richmal Crompton's death.
    28th February 2017

    The Detective Dog

    When a crime needs solving, there's only one dog for the job! Join Nell the Detective and help solve the mystery of ... More

    (33 reviews)
    Review
    10th August 2017

    Izzy Gizmo

    Meet Izzy Gizmo - a fabulously feisty new character from Pip Jones ( Squishy McFluff ; ... More

    (13 reviews)
    Review
    4th October 2018

    Dave the Lonely Monster

    Monstrous beasts have feelings too! This lively story of a lonely monster called Dave , who lives all alone... More

    (11 reviews)
    Review
    26th September 2017

    The Wildest Cowboy

    Way out in the West there ' s a town they call Fear And only the roughest and toughest live here . . . ... More

    (9 reviews)
    Review
    25th February 2016

    A Storey Street novel: Superhero Street

    'A laugh-out-loud read full of capes and japes! If you like Superheroes this is right down your Street!' - Danny Wal... More

    (6 reviews)
    Review
    28th April 2011

    Rhinos Don't Eat Pancakes

    Daisy's mum and dad are always too busy to listen to a word that she says, so when, one day, she tells them that a big p... More

    (5 reviews)
    Review
    7th May 2015

    A Storey Street novel: Demolition Dad

    CBBC Book of the Month, June 2017 P erfect for fans of David Walliams, Roald Dahl and Liz Pichon, this... More

    (4 reviews)
    Review
    14th June 2018

    The Boy Who Grew Dragons

    LONGLISTED FOR THE BLUE PETER BOOK AWARDS 2019 'Irresistible ... a modern classic' GUARDIAN 'A warm-hearted debut ... ... More

    (4 reviews)
    Review
    1st August 2013

    Do Not Enter The Monster Zoo

    What would you do if you received an invitation to run a zoo full of huge, scary monsters? The brave little boy in this ... More

    (3 reviews)
    Review
    6th October 2016

    A Storey Street novel: The War Next Door

    The third hilarious children's novel from Demolition Dad and Superhero Street author Phil Earle, illustrated by Watersto... More

    (3 reviews)
    Review
    2nd January 2014

    Meet the Parents

    You may think your parents just boss you around and tell you what to do. And there's no getting away from it - they do h... More

    (2 reviews)
    Review
    29th August 2018

    The Boy Who Lived with Dragons

    The second book in a wonderfully funny and sparky series: THE BOY WHO GREW DRAGONS was longlisted for the Blue Peter Boo... More

    (2 reviews)
    Review
    8th September 2011

    Oxford Reading Tree Traditional Tales: Level 6: The Bear Lost Its Tail

    In this Norwegian story we learn about how bears lost their tails. Fox is jealous of Bear's big, fluffy tail so he decid... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    8th September 2011

    Oxford Reading Tree Traditional Tales: Level 6: Class Pack of 24

    The Oxford Reading Tree Traditional Tales series includes 40 of the best known stories from all over the world, which ha... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    5th January 2016

    William the Outlaw

    Watch out William's about! Some words to not apply to William Brown: sweet, charming, 'dear little boy' . . . T... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    2nd May 2016

    Once Upon a Wish

    What would you do if your wishes came true? Meet the wishgiver boy - with lotions and potions and secret ingredients, ... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    3rd May 2018

    Read with Oxford: Stage 4: Phonics: The Frog Prince and Other Tales

    Four well-loved traditional tales that have been retold in line with your child's phonics learning at school. This Read... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    10th July 2018

    The Detective Dog Sticker Book

    Join Detective Dog Nell, her owner Peter and all his friends in this must-have sticker book based on the bestselling... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    10th January 2019

    The Boy Who Flew with Dragons

    The third book in a wonderfully sparky, funny and warm series: THE BOY WHO GREW DRAGONS was longlisted for the Blue Pete... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    17th October 2019

    Izzy Gizmo and the Invention Convention

    Izzy Gizmo has been invited to Technoff Isle's Genius Convention where the inventor of the best machine will win covet... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    17th October 2019

    Izzy Gizmo and the Invention Convention

    Izzy Gizmo has been invited to Technoff Isle's Genius Convention where the inventor of the best machine will win covet... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    View all Books

    New Book

    Most Popular Book

    Recent Reviews

    • Izzy Gizmo

      Izzy Gizmo

      by VedaL

      I liked this because Izzy makes really cool things....

    • Izzy Gizmo

      Izzy Gizmo

      We love to read about child inventors making incredible machines and this book showed how frustrating it can be if things don't go quite right, but wi...

    • The Boy Who Grew Dragons

      The Boy Who Grew Dragons

      I really like this book. The main character is loveable and the story line was easy to follow. I'm looking forward to reading this with my class. ...