Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

Izzy Gizmo

by
,

Izzy Gizmo Reviews | Toppsta

Book Rating: 5 based on 14
14 Reviews
Write a Review

Meet Izzy Gizmo - a fabulously feisty new character from Pip Jones ( Squishy McFluff ; Daddy's Sandwich ) brought brilliantly to life with exuberant and detailed illustrations from the best-selling illustrator of The Detective Dog , Sara Ogilvie .

Izzy Gizmo, a girl who LOVED to invent ,
carried her tool bag wherever she went
in case she discovered a thing to be mended,
or a gadget to tweak to make to make it more splendid.

Izabelle Gizmo just loves to invent, but her inventions never seem to work the way she wants them to. And that makes her really CROSS! When she finds a crow with a broken wing she just has to help. But will she be able to put her frustrations to one side and help her new friend to fly again?

Shortlisted for the Sainsbury's Children's Book Prize 2017 , this empowering book is perfect for fans of Rosie Revere, Engineer , Fantastically Great Women Who Changed the World and Good Night Stories for Rebel Girls .

`If you're looking for a new book with a determined, strong female role model then this is for you' Being a Mummy blog
`This was such a fun book. We need more books with girl inventors!' Twirling Book Princess blog
`This exuberantly riotous story... blends the fun of rhyme with the touching friendship between a charismatic crow and a never-say-die young inventor' Lancashire Evening Post
`A lovely story of ingenuity and determination' Parents in Touch
`I doubt many will fail to fall for Izzy and her mechanical mind. Pip Jones' rhyming narrative is a cracker to read aloud and Sara Ogilvie's imagination must be almost as fertile as young Izzy's... A real riot.' Red Reading Hub blog
`Jones's loping, engaging rhymes and Ogilvie's vivacious images evoke both inspiration and frustration' The Guardian

Izzy Gizmo Reviews | Toppsta

9780857075123

Share on

Featured Book
Book pages Kids Fight Plastic: How to be a #2minutesuperhero
Kids Fight Plastic: How to be a #2minutesuperhero

Read this essential book and find out how you can become a #2minutesuperhero by completing 50 missions to fight plastic at home, school and on your days out.

View book
Featured Book
Book pages The Land of Roar
The Land of Roar

What would you do if your imaginary world of dragons and mermaids, was real after all? A magical, new, fantasy, middle-grade adventure for ages 9+.

View book

Videos

If you would like to provide a video review please sign up to our video panel.

Category

See More Picture storybooks

Sign up to our newsletter for...

Free Book Giveaways, Recommendations & more

Show More (0)
ajax loader
Featured Book
Book pages Kids Fight Plastic: How to be a #2minutesuperhero
Kids Fight Plastic: How to be a #2minutesuperhero

Read this essential book and find out how you can become a #2minutesuperhero by completing 50 missions to fight plastic at home, school and on your days out.

View book
Featured Book
Book pages The Land of Roar
The Land of Roar

What would you do if your imaginary world of dragons and mermaids, was real after all? A magical, new, fantasy, middle-grade adventure for ages 9+.

View book

About Pip Jones

Pip Jones lives in East London with her partner, her two daughters and a real invisible cat. She writes a lot. Pip won the inaugural Greenhouse Funny Prize in 2012 with Squishy McFluff: The Invisible Cat, her first book. She is the author of six other Squishy McFluff books, several picture books (including Daddy's Sandwich and The Chocolate Monster) and her...

More about Pip Jones

About Sara Ogilvie

Richmal Crompton was born in Lancashire in 1890. The first story about William Brown appeared in Home magazine in 1919, and the first collection of William stories was published in book form three years later. In all, thirty-eight William books were published, the last...

More about Sara Ogilvie

Ratings

  • (14 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)