Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

BOOT: The Creaky Creatures: Book 3

by
,

BOOT: The Creaky Creatures: Book 3 Reviews | Toppsta

Book Rating: 4 based on 4
4 Reviews
Write a Review

This is a thrill-ride of an adventure, with illustrations by Ben Mantle bringing Boot's world to life. Fans of Toy Story and Charlie Changes into a Chicken will love this hilarious, warm-hearted story about a small robot on a big adventure: full of fun, friendship, and a large number of malfunctioning robot pets.

'Fast, funny and furious. These are definitely my favourite robots.' Eoin Colfer

Boot was once a toy robot, but it has come a long way since it was scrapped and woke back up with only two-and-a-half glitchy memories. When Boot catches sight of a robot pet it used to know - Mr Piggles - our hero and pals follow it to a beautiful green square in the city of skyscrapers.

Here they find not just real nature, but also a haven for broken and rejected pets. They also meet the children who look after the pets, and for whom this green space is a sanctuary too. But Boot is distracted by its emotions, swinging from happy to sad ... maybe Boot is broken? Can it work out what is wrong, with the help of its friends?

Illustrated throughout in glorious black and white by the award-winning Ben Mantle, this is an unforgettable tale of resilience and hope.

Read more of Boot's adventures - shortlisted for the Sainsbury's Book Award - including Boot: small robot, BIG adventure and The Rusty Rescue .

BOOT: The Creaky Creatures: Book 3 Reviews | Toppsta

9781444949414

Share on

Featured Book
The Primrose Railway Children
The Primrose Railway Children

BOOK OF THE MONTH - From bestselling author Jacqueline Wilson and inspired by E. Nesbit's timeless classic, The Primrose Railway Children is a gorgeous, heartwarming story of family secrets and new adventures perfect for ages 7+.

View book
Featured Books

Additional Resources

Videos

If you would like to provide a video review please sign up to our video panel.

Series

This is Book 3 in the BOOT Series. See all BOOT books here.

Category

See More Adventure stories

See More Humorous stories

Sign up to our newsletter for...

Free Book Giveaways, Recommendations & more

Show More (0)
ajax loader

REVIEWER'S AGE

       
Age 6 7 8
Featured Book
The Primrose Railway Children
The Primrose Railway Children

BOOK OF THE MONTH - From bestselling author Jacqueline Wilson and inspired by E. Nesbit's timeless classic, The Primrose Railway Children is a gorgeous, heartwarming story of family secrets and new adventures perfect for ages 7+.

View book
Featured Books

About Shane Hegarty

Shane Hegarty was the Arts Editor of the Irish Times, but left to be a full time writer after DARKMOUTH sold in a frenzied auction at Bologna Book Fair in 2013. He lives with his family near Dublin.

More about Shane Hegarty

About Ben Mantle

Ben Mantle began his illustration career early, picking up his first award in a local library colouring-in competition aged seven. He went on to study Animation at the Surrey Institute of Art & Design before working as an animator. Ben illustrated Callum's Incredible Constru

More about Ben Mantle

Ratings

  • (1 Reviews)
  • (2 Reviews)
  • (1 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)