Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

Ben Mantle

  • 5 stars across 34 books
    Ben Mantle began his illustration career early, picking up his first award in a local library colouring-in competition aged seven. He went on to study Animation at the Surrey Institute of Art & Design before working as an animator. Ben illustrated Callum's Incredible Construction Kit for Egmont which won the Bishop's Stortford Picture Book Award. He is also the illustrator of Giggle, Giggle What's so Funny? (Campbell) as well as Bigger Digger and Rocket Racers for Random House. The Best Christmas Present Ever! is the sequel to Ben's Macmillan debut, The Best Birthday Present Ever! (winner of the 2016 Dundee Picture Book Award). Ben lives and works in Brighton where every year he holds a Christmas cheese party very aptly called 'Merry Cheesemas'.
    5th August 2002

    Hug

    A tiny chimp invokes the universal language, uniting his friends in a group hug to end all group hugs. Just try to r... More

    (14 reviews)
    Review
    1st August 2019

    The Land of Roar

    The first in a new children's fantasy adventure series, full of imagination, humour and heart, and with echoes of Peter... More

    (13 reviews)
    Review
    28th March 2011

    Peepo!

    Peepo! is the much-loved picture book classic by Janet and Allan Ahlberg. Peepo! is a modern classic that c... More

    (12 reviews)
    Review
    1st September 2018

    Follow the Track All the Way Back

    Little Train is going out on the track, all by himself, for the very first time! But before he goes, his mummy and dad... More

    (8 reviews)
    Review
    22nd September 2014

    Rudey's Windy Christmas

    A hilarious story full of noises and naughtiness. A sure-fire Christmas cracker of a book! "Oh, dearie m... More

    (5 reviews)
    Review
    25th January 2018

    Little Red Reading Hood

    Whilst leaving footpaths should never be done, Straying from stories is all sorts of fun! Little Red Read... More

    (4 reviews)
    Review
    14th May 2019

    BOOT small robot, BIG adventure: Book 1

    For fans of Toy Story and Charlie Changes into a Chicken, this is a hilarious, warm-hearted story about a small robo... More

    (4 reviews)
    Review
    14th December 2015

    Giant Jelly Jaws and The Pirates

    A rollicking, swashbuckling adventure, full of cheeky humour! From the creators of Rudey's Windy Christmas. ... More

    (3 reviews)
    Review
    1st February 2010

    Treasure Island

    Among the host of dastardly characters meet Long John Silver, ship's cook and charming villain - is he young Jim's best ... More

    (2 reviews)
    Review
    29th March 2012

    Bigger Digger

    Part of the My First Picture Book series: perfect for every toddler to help encourage language skills, understanding, en... More

    (2 reviews)
    Review
    Image to show page is loading Show More Books

    New Book

    Most Popular Book

    Coming Soon

    Bunnies on the Bus Bunnies on the Bus

    Bunnies on the Bus

    Hardback
    5th December 2019

    Recent Reviews