Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

Ben Mantle

  • 5 stars across 48 books
    Ben Mantle began his illustration career early, picking up his first award in a local library colouring-in competition aged seven. He went on to study Animation at the Surrey Institute of Art & Design before working as an animator. Ben illustrated Callum's Incredible Construction Kit for Egmont which won the Bishop's Stortford Picture Book Award. He is also the illustrator of Giggle, Giggle What's so Funny? (Campbell) as well as Bigger Digger and Rocket Racers for Random House. The Best Christmas Present Ever! is the sequel to Ben's Macmillan debut, The Best Birthday Present Ever! (winner of the 2016 Dundee Picture Book Award). Ben lives and works in Brighton where every year he holds a Christmas cheese party very aptly called 'Merry Cheesemas'.
    1st August 2019

    The Land of Roar

    The first in a new children's fantasy adventure series, full of imagination, humour and heart, and with echoes of Pe... More

    (59 reviews)
    Review
    1st March 2016

    Treasure Island

    (38 reviews)
    Review
    6th August 2020

    Return to Roar

    The magical new book in the bestselling middle-grade fantasy adventure series, The Land of Roar. ... More

    (19 reviews)
    Review
    2nd September 2002

    Hug

    A tiny chimp invokes the universal language, uniting his friends in a group hug to end all group hugs. Just try to r... More

    (17 reviews)
    Review
    5th December 2019

    Bunnies on the Bus

    Watch out! Move out of the way! Hold onto your tails! There are ... BUNNIES ON THE BUS! And they aren't stopping for... More

    (17 reviews)
    Review
    7th April 2011

    Peepo!

    Peepo! is the much-loved picture book classic by Janet and Allan Ahlberg. Peepo! is a modern classic that c... More

    (16 reviews)
    Review
    20th August 2020

    King of the Swamp

    A striking and unique story perfect for little people interested in climate awareness and looking after nature. ... More

    (15 reviews)
    Review
    20th February 2020

    BOOT: The Rusty Rescue: Book 2

    This is a thrill-ride of an adventure, with illustrations by Ben Mantle bringing Boot's world to life. Fans of T... More

    (13 reviews)
    Review
    16th May 2019

    BOOT small robot, BIG adventure: Book 1

    *Shortlisted for the Sainsbury's Book Award* This is a thrill-ride of an adventure, with illustrations by Ben Mantle... More

    (11 reviews)
    Review
    3rd September 2020

    BOOT: The Creaky Creatures: Book 3

    For fans of Toy Story and Charlie Changes into a Chicken, this is the third hilarious, warm-hearted story about a s... More

    (11 reviews)
    Review
    Image to show page is loading Show More Books

    New Book

    Most Popular Book

    Coming Soon

    The Battle for Roar The Battle for Roar

    The Battle for Roar

    Paperback
    8th July 2021

    Recent Reviews

    • Tom's Magnificent Machines

      Tom's Magnificent Machines

      This book was recommended to me and I really like it! Both my boys are very inventive and enjoyed the storyline. It has fun pictures of inventions the...

    • Return to Roar

      Return to Roar

      One year has passed as Rose and Arthur head back to Roar... to try and prevent Crowky from opening the Box and revealing the things that scare Rose an...

    • The Three Little Pigs and the Big Bad Book

      The Three Little Pigs and the Big Bad Book

      I read this book to my class online for National Storytelling Week during Lockdown. The children really enjoyed this book and enjoyed a different take...