Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

Ben Mantle

  • 5 stars across 55 books
    Ben Mantle began his illustration career early, picking up his first award in a local library colouring-in competition aged seven. He went on to study Animation at the Surrey Institute of Art & Design before working as an animator. Ben illustrated Callum's Incredible Construction Kit for Egmont which won the Bishop's Stortford Picture Book Award. He is also the illustrator of Giggle, Giggle What's so Funny? (Campbell) as well as Bigger Digger and Rocket Racers for Random House. The Best Christmas Present Ever! is the sequel to Ben's Macmillan debut, The Best Birthday Present Ever! (winner of the 2016 Dundee Picture Book Award). Ben lives and works in Brighton where every year he holds a Christmas cheese party very aptly called 'Merry Cheesemas'.
    1st August 2019

    The Land of Roar

    The first in a new children's fantasy adventure series, full of imagination, humour and heart, and with echoes of Pe... More

    (71 reviews)
    Review
    6th August 2020

    Return to Roar

    The magical new book in the bestselling middle-grade fantasy adventure series, The Land of Roar. ... More

    (24 reviews)
    Review
    20th August 2020

    King of the Swamp

    A striking and unique story perfect for little people interested in climate awareness and looking after nature. ... More

    (22 reviews)
    Review
    5th December 2019

    Bunnies on the Bus

    Watch out! Move out of the way! Hold onto your tails! There are ... BUNNIES ON THE BUS! And they aren't stopping for... More

    (17 reviews)
    Review
    16th May 2019

    BOOT small robot, BIG adventure: Book 1

    *Shortlisted for the Sainsbury's Book Award* This is a thrill-ride of an adventure, with illustrations by Ben Mantle... More

    (16 reviews)
    Review
    20th January 2022

    The Case of the Smuggler's Curse

    The first in a series of gripping adventure stories, perfect for fans of Enid Blyton. Lucy, Max, Charlie and J... More

    (16 reviews)
    Review
    25th January 2018

    Little Red Reading Hood

    Whilst leaving footpaths should never be done, Straying from stories is all sorts of fun! Little Red Read... More

    (14 reviews)
    Review
    20th February 2020

    BOOT: The Rusty Rescue: Book 2

    This is a thrill-ride of an adventure, with illustrations by Ben Mantle bringing Boot's world to life. Fans of T... More

    (14 reviews)
    Review
    3rd September 2020

    BOOT: The Creaky Creatures: Book 3

    For fans of Toy Story and Charlie Changes into a Chicken, this is the third hilarious, warm-hearted story about a s... More

    (14 reviews)
    Review
    3rd March 2022

    Bunnies in a Boat

    Watch out! Hold onto your tails! The bunnies are back. And this time they're in ... a BOAT! The bunnies are bac... More

    (12 reviews)
    Review
    Image to show page is loading Show More Books

    Most Popular Book

    Coming Soon

    Recent Reviews

    • King of the Swamp

      King of the Swamp

      by Fwb

      Story is about McDarkly a creature that loves living in a swamp and looks after it. One a day a king comes to the swamp and wants to build a skate par...

    • Dracula Spectacular

      Dracula Spectacular

      A sweet story about a boy who was born to stand out. Not following the stereotype of a 'monster' life he wants more colour and vibrance in his life! W...

    • A Hero Called Wolf

      A Hero Called Wolf

      Aww, Wolf wants to be the hero in a book for a change. Everyone sees him as the bad guy. Until the librarian suggests he needs to change his story by...