Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

BOOT small robot, BIG adventure: Book 1

by
,

BOOT small robot, BIG adventure: Book 1 Reviews | Toppsta

Book Rating: 5 based on 6
6 Reviews
Write a Review

*Shortlisted for the Sainsbury's Book Award* For fans of Toy Story and Charlie Changes into a Chicken , this is a hilarious, warm-hearted story about a small robot on a big adventure. With illustrations by Ben Mantle bringing Boot's world to life, this is a thrill-ride of an adventure, stuffed with fun, friendship ... and Boot's quest to find out why humans are so leaky and weird. 'Fast, funny and furious. These are definitely my favourite robots.' Eoin Colfer When toy robot, Boot, wakes up at a scrapyard, it has no idea how it got there and why it isn't with its owner, Beth. It only has two and a half glitchy memories, but it knows it was loved, which means something important to humans. Boot soon realises its emotions make it different to other robots, who just function and don't think. Boot is scared but tries to be brave, which is hard when its screen keeps showing a wobbly, worried face. Luckily Boot meets Noke and Red - other 'advanced' robots who have learned to survive in secret. With its new friends by its side, Boot is determined to find Beth and the gang set off on a dangerous adventure. Everything Boot thought it knew about the world is changing, and things aren't as simple as it remembers . . . Illustrated throughout in glorious black and white by the award-winning Ben Mantle, this is an unforgettable tale of resilience and hope. It will take you by surprise and make you think about the world around you. Read on with the second Boot story in The Rusty Rescue !

BOOT small robot, BIG adventure: Book 1 Reviews | Toppsta

9781444949360

Share on

Featured Book
Book pages BOOT: The Rusty Rescue: Book 2
BOOT: The Rusty Rescue: Book 2

This is the second hilarious, warm-hearted, illustrated story about a small robot on a big adventure. For ages 7+

View book

Videos

If you would like to provide a video review please sign up to our video panel.

Series

This is Book 1 in the BOOT Series. See all BOOT books here.

Category

See More Adventure stories

See More Humorous stories

Sign up to our newsletter for...

Free Book Giveaways, Recommendations & more

Show More (0)
ajax loader

REVIEWER'S AGE

       
Age 7 8 9
Featured Book
Book pages BOOT: The Rusty Rescue: Book 2
BOOT: The Rusty Rescue: Book 2

This is the second hilarious, warm-hearted, illustrated story about a small robot on a big adventure. For ages 7+

View book

About Shane Hegarty

Shane Hegarty was the Arts Editor of the Irish Times, but left to be a full time writer after DARKMOUTH sold in a frenzied auction at Bologna Book Fair in 2013. He lives with his family near Dublin.

...

More about Shane Hegarty

About Ben Mantle

Ben Mantle began his illustration career early, picking up his first award in a local library colouring-in competition aged seven. He went on to study Animation at the Surrey Institute of Art & Design before working as an animator. Ben illustrated Callum's Incredible Constru...

More about Ben Mantle

Ratings

  • (3 Reviews)
  • (2 Reviews)
  • (1 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)