Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

A Storey Street novel: Demolition Dad

by
,

A Storey Street novel: Demolition Dad Reviews | Toppsta

Book Rating: 5 based on 4
4 Reviews
Write a Review

CBBC Book of the Month, June 2017

P erfect for fans of David Walliams, Roald Dahl and Liz Pichon, this is a hilarious and warm-hearted story about family, friends and wrestling by multi-award-shortlisted author Phil Earle, illustrated by award-winning artist, Sara Ogilvie.

This is the story of Jake Biggs and his dad, George. George spends all week knocking down buildings ... and all weekend knocking down wrestlers! He's the Demolition Man, and Jake couldn't be prouder. But when Jake hears about a pro-wrestling competition in the USA, and persuades his beloved dad to apply, things don't quite turn out the way he expected ...

Phil Earle's first novel for younger readers of 9-11, DEMOLITION DAD is DANNY THE CHAMPION OF THE WORLD in Spandex, a book bursting with humour and heart. Perfect for Father's Day this June!

A Storey Street novel: Demolition Dad Reviews | Toppsta

9781444013863
  • ISBN: 9781444013863
  • Pub Date: 7th May 2015
  • Publisher: Hachette Children's Group
  • Imprint: Orion Children's Books
  • Format: Paperback
  • Number of Pages: 192

Share on

Series

This is Book 1 in the A Storey Street Novel Series. See all A Storey Street Novel books here.

Sign up to our newsletter for...

Free Book Giveaways, Recommendations & more

6th January '18
I read it myself (an adult)
A Storey Street novel: Demolition Dad 9781444013863
5 stars
Demolition Dad’ is the spectacular story of Jake Biggs and his dad, George. Jake and his Dad have a big secret. Whilst George spends all week knocking down buildings, he secretly spends the weekend knocking down wrestlers. He’s the Demolition Man, and Jake couldn’t be prouder. But when Jake hears about a pro-wrestling competition in the USA, and persuades his beloved dad to apply, things don’t quite turn out the way he expected. Brilliant characterisation and a plot full of humour and heart make this story a totally irresistible read. It reminded me so much of watching Big Daddy and Giant Hastings when I was growing up (younger readers may need to ask their parents about this), it’s pure comedy gold. Sara Ogilvie’s illustrations are smart, funny and packed with the most hilarious details. Together they’d be the winning combination in any literary fight!

 
11th September '15
Read to a child aged 10
A Storey Street novel: Demolition Dad 9781444013863
5 stars
I really enjoyed reading this book, it was full of great characters, had a good storyline, it made me feel very happy, it was a funny book with lots of action and excitement which I would recommend to other children, both boys and girls.
15th November '16
I read it to Jim-bob aged 11 aged 11
A Storey Street novel: Demolition Dad 9781444013863
5 stars
My son has just finished reading this book with his dad, and he has loved it. From what he told me the characters are very funny and I could hear plenty of giggles coming from his room. It is about a boy called Jake and his dad who is a wrestler. They have enjoyed reading this book and it is a great story for younger children too as it has fun illustrations.
8th June '15
Read to a child aged 10
A Storey Street novel: Demolition Dad 9781444013863
4 stars
I really enjoyed this book. I thought all the different wrestlers that you were told about were brilliant because they all had different themes and characteristics. I thought that the children in this book could have been a bit older because at times, they were shown to be a bit babyish. This book would be great for 7-8 year olds as I felt it was a bit too young for me but I still enjoyed it. I couldn't put it down because almost every chapter ends in a brilliant cliffhanger. I liked Mouse because I'm a superhero fanatic too.
Show More (0)

About Phil Earle

Phil Earle (Author)
Phil Earle was born in the great city of Hull in 1974, and spent the next eighteen years playing a lot of sport, messing around in plays and trying to sing in bands. He has had jobs as a care worker in a residential kids' home and a bookseller, and now works as sales and marketing director for David Fickling books. In...

More about Phil Earle

About Sara Ogilvie

Richmal Crompton was born in Lancashire in 1890. The first story about William Brown appeared in Home magazine in 1919, and the first collection of William stories was published in book form three years later. In all, thirty-eight William books were published, the last...

More about Sara Ogilvie

Ratings

  • (3 Reviews)
  • (1 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)