Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

A Storey Street novel: Superhero Street

by
,

A Storey Street novel: Superhero Street Reviews | Toppsta

Book Rating: 4 based on 6
6 Reviews
Write a Review

'A laugh-out-loud read full of capes and japes! If you like Superheroes this is right down your Street!' - Danny Wallace, presenter and bestselling author.

Illustrated by Waterstones Children's Book Prize shortlisted artist, Sara Ogilvie, t his is t he second book in Demolition Dad author Phil Earle's children's series, Storey Street. P erfect for fans of Roald Dahl, Liz Pichon and David Walliams, each book in this laugh-out-loud series focuses on a different neighbour. Mouse is desperate to be a superhero. To find that power that will make him stand out in the crowd. But his every attempt ends in failure. He can't even get any attention at home as his five brothers (triplets AND twins) take every second of mum and dad's attention. When mum foils a bank robbery while on duty as a lollipop lady, she and Mouse are lauded as superheroes. Joining forces with Mouse are The Z List - a group of unlikely crime-fighters. But in their midst is a traitor hell-bent on revenge. Will Mouse be super enough to spot this danger, and is he brave enough to do anything about it?

A Storey Street novel: Superhero Street Reviews | Toppsta

9781444013887

Share on

Featured Book
Book pages Dennis in Jurassic Bark
Dennis in Jurassic Bark

Dennis's latest adventure is filled with epic fun and a series of interactive puzzles for YOU, the reader, to complete.

View book
Featured Book
Book pages The Girl, the Bear and the Magic Shoes
The Girl, the Bear and the Magic Shoes

A glittering magical adventure about a girl, a bear and some very special shoes!

View book

Series

This is Book 2 in the A Storey Street Novel Series. See all A Storey Street Novel books here.

Category

See More General fiction

See More Humorous stories

See More Adventure stories

Sign up to our newsletter for...

Free Book Giveaways, Recommendations & more

6th January '18
I read it myself (an adult)
A Storey Street novel: Superhero Street 9781444013887
5 stars
n ‘Superhero Street’ we meet Michael J Mouse whose life has gone steadily downhill since the birth of his twin brothers swiftly followed by triplet brothers. Virtually ignored by his parents, misunderstood and overlooked by his friends, the target of the school bullies it seems that Mouse is doomed for a life of misery. But his luck takes a dramatic shift for the better when his Mum unwittingly foils a diamond robbery and they find themselves thrust into the limelight.  Inevitably you will get caught up in the highs and lows of Mouse’s story as it unfolds. Whilst some of the humour is obvious who could resist a farting lullaby, crisps delicately flavoured with dandruff. It is the subtle witty observations captured by narrator’s voice which win me over every time. They give this book a real warmth and depth that I found truly delightful. Sara Ogilvie’s illustrations portray wonderfully the gauntlet of emotions that Mouse goes through from sadness to elation and finally the fear he feels when he faces a true villain.
14th June '16
Daria read it themselves aged 7 aged 7
A Storey Street novel: Superhero Street 9781444013887
5 stars
thank you for choosing me to review this book
i really enjoyed this book although i felt it was aimed more at boys than girls i still enjoyed it.
my favorite character was mouse who wanted to be a superhero. it was a funny story and had amazing illustrations 
8th May '16
MicahW read it themselves aged 6 aged 6
A Storey Street novel: Superhero Street 9781444013887
5 stars
I really enjoyed this book. About a regular boy called Michael mouse, known as mouse. He doesn't get any attention at home,nude to his dad disappearing in a magic act and mom looking after his siblings, and he gets bullied at school. All he wants is to be a superhero,,and he even wears a cape under his uniform just in case. It's a really funny book, there were bits that made me laugh out loud. It was easy to read and follow and I liked the black and white illustrations. I really liked Mouses' moms character and a Mouse himself was very likeable too. Mouse ends up living his dream when he helps foil a bank robbery, but will it all go to plan? i really want to read demolition dad after enjoying this book. 
11th August '16
KCJo08 read it themselves aged 7 aged 7
A Storey Street novel: Superhero Street 9781444013887
4 stars
This book is quite funny. If you like superheroes this is a good book for you. 
The characters were quite funny. Most of them were superheroes who you could call a bit less super and more hero. 
A superhero team name should probably be a bit more super sounding but, it's a name at least! Look out for it!
17th April '16
Lydib read it themselves aged 9 aged 9
A Storey Street novel: Superhero Street 9781444013887
4 stars
This book is really funny. Its about a character called Mouse and his family. Mouse really wants to be superhero which becomes possible when his mum accidentally foils a robbery. I really like his mums character. Its a good book for people who like David Walliams. I would recommend this to my friends.
19th April '16
Tommyg read it themselves aged 9 aged 9
A Storey Street novel: Superhero Street 9781444013887
3 stars
I am struggling with this book, tried to read it a few times but I found it hard to read, my mum has told me to leave it 6 months and try again, I have just turned 9.
Show More (0)
Featured Book
Book pages Dennis in Jurassic Bark
Dennis in Jurassic Bark

Dennis's latest adventure is filled with epic fun and a series of interactive puzzles for YOU, the reader, to complete.

View book
Featured Book
Book pages The Girl, the Bear and the Magic Shoes
The Girl, the Bear and the Magic Shoes

A glittering magical adventure about a girl, a bear and some very special shoes!

View book

About Phil Earle

Phil Earle was born in the great city of Hull in 1974, and spent the next eighteen years playing a lot of sport, messing around in plays and trying to sing in bands. He has had jobs as a care worker in a residential kids' home and a bookseller, and now works as sales and marketing director for David Fickling books. In 2016, Phil was appointed as Reading char...

More about Phil Earle

About Sara Ogilvie

Richmal Crompton was born in Lancashire in 1890. The first story about William Brown appeared in Home magazine in 1919, and the first collection of William stories was published in book form three years later. In all, thirty-eight William books were published, the last...

More about Sara Ogilvie

Ratings

  • (3 Reviews)
  • (2 Reviews)
  • (1 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)