Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

Start a new Book Series

30th December 2018

Start a New Children's Book Series

As a parent I LOVE book series because if you can get your child hooked on a good series, they are OFF! So whether you're into Tom Gates books or Hetty Feather there are plenty of brilliant book series for kids of all ages and we have book one of some brilliant series available for you to win and review for us today. 

Book pages Placeholder Book

Captain Pug

For ages 5+

Pug is going on a seafaring adventure. He's had jam tarts for breakfast. He's wearing a smart sailor suit. There's just one problem. Pug is afraid of the water!

Captain Pug is the first book in a glorious illustrated series for fans of Claude and Squishy McFluff.

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

Witch Wars

For Ages 6+ 

When Fran the Fabulous Fairy turns up in Tiga Whicabim's shed to tell her she's a witch, Tiga doesn't believe her. Or at least not until Fran points out that TIGA WHICABIM is actually an anagram of I AM A BIG WITCH and magics her away down the drainpipes to compete in Witch Wars - the competition to crown the next Top Witch of Ritzy City.

Filled with silly spells, delectable dresses, ridiculous riddles and a serious shoe problem, Witch Wars is a witch story like no other. Although if you enjoyed The Worst Witch, you'll love this too!

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

Dog Diaries

For ages 6+ 

'A perfect story to tickle the funny bone of any young reader!' Megan Rix

Oh boy, oh boy, oh boy!

I've been waiting ages to tell my story, and now it's finally happening!

Being Rafe's dog isn't always easy, but it is always EXCITING!

I've got so much to tell you about:

The amazing Catch-A-Doggy-Bone kennel
My favorite places for hiding snacks
And my ultimate nemesis - THE VACUUM CLEANER!

All the most important parts of a dog's life.

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

Kid Normal

For ages 7+ 

The first book in a laugh-out-loud funny adventure series for 8+ readers from broadcast stars Greg James and Chris Smith

Murph Cooper has a problem.

His new school is top secret, and super weird. His classmates can all fly or control the weather or conjure tiny horses from thin air. And what's Murph's extraordinary skill? Um, oh yeah - he hasn't got one.

Just as well there are no revolting supervillains lurking nearby, their minds abuzz with evil plans. There are!? Right. Ok, then...

It's time for Kid Normal to become a hero!

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

The School for Good and Evil

For ages 8+ 

A dark and enchanting fantasy adventure perfect for girls who prefer their fairytales with a twist.

Every four years, two girls are kidnapped from the village of Gavaldon. Legend has it these lost children are sent to the School for Good and Evil, the fabled institution where they become fairytale heroes or villains.

Sophie, the most beautiful girl in town, has always dreamed of her place at the School for Good while her friend Agatha, with her dark disposition seems destined for the School for Evil. But when the two are kidnapped they find their fortunes reversed...

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

Malamander

For ages 9+

We have proofs (early copies) of book one in this amazing new series from Harry Potter illustrator, Thomas Taylor!

Nobody visits Eerie-on-Sea in the winter. Especially not when darkness falls and the wind howls around Maw Rocks and the wreck of the battleship Leviathan, where even now some swear they have seen the unctuous Malamander creep...

Herbert Lemon, Lost-and-Founder at the Grand Nautilus Hotel, knows that returning lost things to their rightful owners is not easy - especially when the lost thing is not a thing at all, but a girl. No one knows what happened to Violet Parma's parents twelve years ago, and when she engages Herbie to help her find them, the pair discover that their disappearance might have something to do with the legendary sea-monster, the Malamander. Eerie-on-Sea has always been a mysteriously chilling place, where strange stories seem to wash up. And it just got stranger...

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

Skulduggery Pleasant

For ages 9+

Meet the great Skulduggery Pleasant: wise-cracking detective, powerful magician, master of dirty tricks and burglary (in the name of the greater good, of course).

Oh yeah. And dead.

Then there's his sidekick, Stephanie. She's... well, she's a twelve-year-old girl. With a pair like this on the case, evil had better watch out...

"So you won't keep anything from me again?"

He put his hand to his chest. "Cross my heart and hope to die."
"Okay then. Though you don't actually have a heart," she said.
"I know."
"And technically, you've already died."
"I know that too."
"Just so we're clear."

Stephanie's uncle Gordon is a writer of horror fiction. But when he dies and leaves her his estate, Stephanie learns that while he may have written horror, it certainly wasn't fiction.

Pursued by evil forces intent on recovering a mysterious key, Stephanie finds help from an unusual source - the wisecracking skeleton of a dead wizard.

When all hell breaks loose, it's lucky for Skulduggery that he's already dead. Though he's about to discover that being a skeleton doesn't stop you from being tortured, if the torturer is determined enough. And if there's anything Skulduggery hates, it's torture... Will evil win the day? Will Stephanie and Skulduggery stop bickering long enough to stop it? One thing's for sure: evil won't know what's hit it.

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

Begone the Raggedy Witches (The Wild Magic Trilogy, Book One)

For ages 9+

From multi-award-winning Irish author Celine Kiernan comes a dark fantasy adventure about witches

A middle-grade fantasy  adventure perfect for fans of Frances Hardinge, Katherine Rundell and Sally Gardner. On the night that Aunty dies  the Raggedy Witches come for Mup's mam. Pale, cold, relentless, they  will do anything to coax Mam back to Witches Borough. When they kidnap  Mup's dad, Mup and her mam must leave the mundane world to rescue him.  But Mam is strange on this side of the border - striding, powerful, and  distant. Even if they can save Dad, Mup is not sure anything will ever  be the same again...

View Book COMPARE PRICES

Share this read with others...

Tweet Email