Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

Poetry Books

Poetry books

For many adults, poetry brings back memories of school days and can even sound slightly intimidating. But children have a completely different experience. Children are exposed to rhymes and songs from the earliest age with nursery rhymes, picture books and music. Children are usually more passionate about poetry than their parents and more creative too! It is our job as adults to keep that passion alive as poetry is recognised across the board to be great for the memory, the imagination, for public speaking and of course for literacy, which is why memorising and writing poetry is a key part of the National Curriculum.
 
From limericks to haikus, poetry can be funny, moving and beautiful and poems teach children the joy of word play, metaphors and tongue twisters. They can also sweep us back to our own childhoods, as we rediscover rhymes that we thought we had long since forgotten. There is plenty to explore for every age group: classic poems as well as new ones from diverse modern poets who are bringing the genre to a new audience.

National Poetry Day is the UK's annual celebration of poetry and this year (2020) it takes place on Thursday 1st October. The theme is "Vision" and you can find out how you can join in and download free resources for your school from the National Poetry Day website

Toppsta
2020-09-18
Poetry Books
Book pages Placeholder Book

Pirate Stew: The show-stopping new picture book from Neil Gaiman and Chris Riddell

Meet LONG JOHN McRON, SHIP'S COOK . . . and the most unusual babysitter you've ever seen. Long John has a whole crew of wild pirates in tow, and - for two intrepid children - he's about to transform a perfectly ordinary evening into a riotous adventure beneath a pirate moon. It's time to make some PIRATE STEW. Pirate Stew! Pirate Stew! Pirate Stew for me and you! Pirate Stew, Pirate Stew Eat it and you won't be blue You can be a pirate too! Marvellously silly and gloriously entertaining, this tale of pirates, flying ships, donut feasts and some rather magical stew is perfect for all pirates, both young and old. With a deliciously rhyming text from master storyteller Neil Gaiman, and spellbinding illustrations by the supremely talented Chris Riddell, three-times-winner of the Kate Greenaway Medal, this is the picture book of the year! Joyful, quirky and action-packed, it makes a spectacular and magical gift.

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

Tiger, Tiger, Burning Bright! - An Animal Poem for Every Day of the Year: National Trust

A glorious and ambitious sequel to I Am the Seed That Grew the Tree - winner of Waterstones Children's Gift of the Year 2018 and Red Magazine's Children's Illustrated Book of the Year 2019, and described by Julia Donaldson as "An absolutely beautiful book." This lavishly illustrated gift book treasury of 366 animal poems - one for every day of the year - ranges from unforgettable classics to contemporary works from around the world, including poetry in translation. The spectacular range of poems for children includes work by Roger McGough, William Blake, Dick King-Smith, Ted Hughes, Grace Nichols, Lewis Carroll, Christina Rossetti, Emily Dickinson. Britta Teckentrup's breathtaking illustrations bring together all the richness and wonder of the animal kingdom, making this poetry anthology a perfect gift that will be treasured by generations. With sumptuous finishes including cloth binding, full colour illustrations throughout, textured paper jacket, ribbon marker, and head and tail bands. The perfect gift for any child or adult to treasure.

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

Zombierella: Fairy Tales Gone Bad

The first in a funny, deliciously dark, three-part series of twisted classics, written in verse by award-winning poet Joseph Coelho and illustrated by Freya Hartas.
A yellow moon hangs in a satin sky the night Cinderella, barefoot and in hand-me-downs, slips at the top of the stairs ... and dies . But not for long. The Shadow of Death arrives to breathe life back into her bones and, for three nights only, Cinderella goes forth as ZOMBIERELLA. With her skin as cold as ice and her faithful horse Lumpkin back by her side, can she seek revenge on her three cruel, fake sisters, once and for all?

Crawl out of the grave and step into your mushroom carriage for this haunting and humorous adventure of the undead girl searching for her happily ever after.

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

Poems to Save the World With

This absolutely beautiful gift book anthology contains classic and modern poems to galvanize, uplift and inspire you which are brought to life with exquisite, intricate artwork.

Chosen and illustrated by Chris Riddell, Poems to Save the World With -the follow-up to Poems to Live Your Life By and Poems to Fall in Love With - will ignite your inner activist and provide comfort and inspiration. These poems speak of hope, happiness, rebellion and living through a pandemic.

This beautiful book features famous poems, old and new, and a few surprises. Classic verses sit alongside the modern to create the ultimate collection. Includes poems from Neil Gaiman, Nikita Gill, Maggie Smith, Brian Bilston, Raymond Antrobus, Fiona Benson, Lewis Carroll and many more.

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

Midnight Magic

   Black cats born at midnight
  Are different indeed
  A mischievous, odd
  And peculiar breed
 
   
  In the middle of winter, three kittens are born in a barn. Two are ordinary, but the third, jet black and born on the stroke of midnight, is brimming with magic from whiskers to tail - even sparking life into a dusty old broomstick! While her siblings pounce at rats, Midnight perfects her flying skills on the broom, not noticing how her mother disapproves of her magical ways...
   
  When Midnight finds herself abandoned, the little black kitten sets out to find a new home with only her loyal broom Twiggy at her side. The pair soon befriend a kind-hearted girl called Trixie. But how will Trixie's family react to Midnight's extraordinary powers and taste for mischief?
   
   A bewitching new series from the best-selling author of  A PINCH OF MAGIC  , Michelle Harrison. Told in rhyming verse and illustrated in colour throughout, this is perfect for readers of SQUISHY MCFLUFF, HUBBLE BUBBLE and  GOBBOLINO  .  
   
  PRAISE FOR  MIDNIGHT MAGIC  :
   
   "This is the perfect next step after picture books with fun rhyming text and sweet illustrations - a gorgeous young fiction book with plenty of sparkle!" - Toppsta  
 

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

The Great Realisation: The Post-Pandemic Poem That Has Captured the Hearts of Millions

We now call it The Great Realisation
and, yes, since then there have been many.

But that's the story of how it started ...
and why hindsight's 2020.

First performed online in response to the Covid-19 pandemic, Tomos Roberts'heartfelt poem, with its message of hope and resilience, has been viewed over 60 million times, translated into over 20 languages.

Now available as an audio edition!

Written in the form of a bedtime story, The Great Realisation is a celebration of the many things from simple acts of kindness, to applauding the heroic efforts of our key workers that have brought us together at a time of global crisis. It has captured, with magical resonance, the thoughts and feelings of millions in lockdown, as we adapt to a new way of life, find joy in unexpected places, cast aside old habits and reflect on what truly matters to us.

The Great Realisation is a story for any reader, young or old, who dares to dream of a brighter future of a fairer, kinder, more sustainable world. It is a timely reminder that, even during our most challenging moments, there is always hope.

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

Fire Burn, Cauldron Bubble: Magical Poems Chosen by Paul Cookson

Can you hear the distant dragon's rumble of thunder? And smell the sweet swampy aroma of the ogre? Can you taste the tangy tarantula tarts? And see the girl who's really a wizard? From magic carpets and wands to unicorns, potions, creams and lotions, Paul Cookson's brewing a spell of fantastically magic poems. On this tattered magic carpet You can choose your destination For nothing's quite as magical As your imagination Beautifully illustrated by Eilidh Muldoon, this enchanting anthology brings together work from a range of classic, established and rising poets. Whether you're in the mood for a haunting or a spell gone wrong, this collection of mesmerising poems will have you bewitched from beginning to end! Poets include: William Shakespeare, Lewis Carroll, Benjamin Zephaniah, John Agard, Valerie Bloom, Matt Goodfellow, Joshua Seigal and A.F. Harrold.

View Book COMPARE PRICES

Baby Books in verse

Toppsta
2020-09-18
Poetry Books

Picture Books in verse

Toppsta
2020-09-18
Poetry Books

Poetry Collections

Toppsta
2020-09-18
Poetry Books

7+ Fiction in Verse

Toppsta
2020-09-18
Poetry Books

9+ Fiction in Verse

Toppsta
2020-09-18
Poetry Books

11+ Fiction in Verse

Toppsta
2020-09-18
Poetry Books

Creative Writing

Toppsta
2020-09-18
Poetry Books

27th September 2019

Share this read with others...

Tweet Email