Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

View all Blogs
Featured Book
Loki: A Bad God's Guide to Taking the Blame
Loki: A Bad God's Guide to Taking the Blame

BOOK OF THE MONTH - The new book in this hilarious series from Louie Stowell, packed with doodles and comic strips. Can Loki clear his name and solve the mystery of the missing hammer?

View book
Featured Books

Best books by age

Poetry Books

Poetry books

For many adults, poetry brings back memories of school days and can even sound slightly intimidating. But children have a completely different experience. Children are exposed to rhymes and songs from the earliest age with nursery rhymes, picture books and music. Children are usually more passionate about poetry than their parents and more creative too! It is our job as adults to keep that passion alive as poetry is recognised across the board to be great for the memory, the imagination, for public speaking and of course for literacy, which is why memorising and writing poetry is a key part of the National Curriculum.
 
From limericks to haikus, poetry can be funny, moving and beautiful and poems teach children the joy of word play, metaphors and tongue twisters. They can also sweep us back to our own childhoods, as we rediscover rhymes that we thought we had long since forgotten. There is plenty to explore for every age group: classic poems as well as new ones from diverse modern poets who are bringing the genre to a new audience.

National Poetry Day is the UK's annual celebration of poetry and this year (2021) it takes place on Thursday 7th October. The theme is "Choice" and you can find out how you can join in and download free resources for your school from the National Poetry Day website

This year, if you have a young poet at home you can also enter this poetry competition to celebrate 150 years of state education. The deadline is 22nd October and the winning entries and schools will be crowned on 23rd November in the City of London Livery Hall.

Toppsta
2021-10-01
Poetry Books
Book pages Placeholder Book

Write Your Own Poems

Whether you want to dash off a limerick, ponder a sonnet or plot an epic poem, this write-in activity book is here to help. Each page is bursting with tips and inspiration for writing all kinds of poems - and inventing brand new styles too. With links to websites where you can listen to many of the poems in this book, and find more helpful writing tips.

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

Yapping Away: Poems by Joshua Seigal

Joshua Seigal, winner of the 2020 Laugh Out Loud Book Awards, brings his raucous humour, creativity and wit to another brilliant collection of poems. Ideal for fans of Michael Rosen, this book will delight all young readers and fans of funny books. From hilarious to heartfelt poems - and everything in between - this collection offers something for everyone. Discover the eight steps for having a successful tantrum, and why you should NEVER attend a Teddy Bear's Picnic (you have been warned). Packed full of fun illustrations by Sarah Horne, and covering a range of imaginative topics, Yapping Away is the perfect follow-up to Joshua Seigal's prize-winning collection I Bet I Can Make You Laugh. Ideal for children as young as 3 to read with adults, or for children aged 5-7 to read by themselves.

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

Everyone Sang: A Poem for Every Feeling

A magnificent anthology of poems themed around different moods, collected by the bestselling creator of The Poetry Pharmacy and illustrated by Emily Sutton.

This exquisite gift-book contains over a hundred poems, chosen by creator of the bestselling The Poetry Pharmacy , William Sieghart, and illustrated in sensational style by picture-book star Emily Sutton. Divided into four thoughtfully-curated sections, including Poems to Make You Smile, Poems to Move You, Poems to Give You Hope and Poems to Calm and Connect You, the poems originate from an extraordinary and diverse range of sources, from Maya Angelou to A.A. Milne, Lemn Sissay, Jackie Kay, Carol Ann Duffy, Joseph Coelho, Kae Tempest, W.B. Yeats, Christina Rossetti and Emily Dickinson, among many others. Combining traditional favourites with recent gems, here are poems to delight, inspire, entertain, intrigue, console and uplift readers of all ages.

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

Tomorrow Is Beautiful

Sometimes it's hard to find the right words. This poetry anthology provides the antidote, offering calm, hope and peace to all. Focusing on positivity, this is the perfect collection to dip into whenever you need a boost. Containing a selection of classic poems from Langston Hughes, Walt Whitman, Emily Dickinson and Christina Rossetti, as well as contemporary poems chosen by Sarah Crossan - the go-to verse novelist in the UK - this beautiful book will lift your spirits time and time again. An essential read and the perfect gift for anyone in need of comfort, joy and hope. For fans of The Poetry Pharmacy and Poems to Live Your Life By

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

The Dark Lady

A natural storyteller with a vision of his own, THE DARK LADY, Akala's debut novel for teens will enthuse and entertain teenagers and young adults, showing that reading is a true super-power.

A PICKPOCKET WITH AN EXCEPTIONAL GIFT
A PRISONER OF EXTRAORDINARY VALUE
AN ORPHAN HAUNTED BY DREAMS OF THE MYSTERIOUS DARK LADY

Henry is an orphan, an outsider, a thief. He is also a fifteen-year-old invested with magical powers ...

This brilliant, at times brutal, first novel from the amazing imagination that is Akala, will glue you to your seat as you are hurled into a time when London stank and boys like Henry were forced to find their own route through the tangled streets and out the other side.

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

One

Now available in a gorgeous new package, Sarah Crossan's exquisite multi award-winning novel explores the unbreakable bond and love between sisters. Here we are. And we are living. Isn't that amazing? How we manage to be here at all. Grace and Tippi don't like being stared and sneered at, but they're used to it. They're conjoined twins - united in blood and bone. What they want is to be looked at in turn, like they truly are two people. They want real friends. And what about love? But a heart-wrenching decision lies ahead for Tippi and Grace. One that could change their lives more than they ever asked for ... This moving and beautifully crafted novel about identity, sisterhood and love ultimately asks one question: what does it mean to want and have a soulmate?

View Book COMPARE PRICES

Baby Books in verse

Toppsta
2021-10-01
Poetry Books

Picture Books in verse

Toppsta
2021-10-01
Poetry Books

Poetry Collections

Toppsta
2021-10-01
Poetry Books

poetry anthologies

Toppsta
2021-10-01
Poetry Books

7+ Fiction in Verse

Toppsta
2021-10-01
Poetry Books

9+ Fiction in Verse

Toppsta
2021-10-01
Poetry Books

11+ Fiction in Verse

Toppsta
2021-10-01
Poetry Books

Creative Writing

Toppsta
2021-10-01
Poetry Books

1st October 2021

Share this read with others...

Tweet Email
Featured Book
Loki: A Bad God's Guide to Taking the Blame
Loki: A Bad God's Guide to Taking the Blame

BOOK OF THE MONTH - The new book in this hilarious series from Louie Stowell, packed with doodles and comic strips. Can Loki clear his name and solve the mystery of the missing hammer?

View book
Featured Books