Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

Great Children's Books for International Women's Day

4th March 2019

International Women's Day

International Women's Day (8th March) celebrates the social, economic, cultural and political achievements of women and this year's theme is balance.

We can all work towards a more gender-balanced world. We can celebrate women's achievements. Raise awareness against bias. Take action for equality. All of this starts when we're young (although it's never too late!) and helping the next generation to understand the importance of gender balance is a responsibility we must all bear. If you'd like to run an event for International Women's Day you can find a step by step guide here.

International Women's Day is a global celebration and began well over 100 years ago. 2018 marked 100 years since British women were allowed to vote, but this wasn't a universal right for all women, only those women who were aged over 30 and either owned land or were married to men who owned land, were granted the vote. It wasn't until The Equal Franchise Act in 1928 when British women were given equal voting rights to British men.

Below we have a selection of books to help children discover more about women who have helped make history, click through to find out more.

Book pages Placeholder Book

Fantastically Great Women Who Worked Wonders

Kate Pankhurst, descendent of Emmeline Pankhurst, is back with a brand new wildly brilliant and accessible book about incredible women in the world of work.

What do you want to be when you grow up? It's a BIG question that everyone is asked from an early age. Discover eye-opening facts about a collection of go-getting women who have pioneered careers in a kaleidoscope of different industries. Join scientists, doctors, athletes, hot-air balloonists and more, journey back in time with these brave, bold and brilliant women and discover that anything is possible when you make the most of YOUR talents.

Prepare yourself for a celebration of women who opened doors and made it possible for more women to achieve amazing things today. Overflowing with beautiful illustrations and astounding facts, Fantastically Great Women Who Worked Wonders is the perfect introduction to just a few of the most incredible women who helped shaped the world we live in.

List of women featured: Junko Tabei, Sophie Blanchard, Maria Merian, Elizabeth Magie, the London Matchgirls, Rosa May Billinghurst, Katherine Johnson, Annette Kellerman, Katia Krafft, Rosalind Franklin, James Barry, Madam C.J. Walker, Lotte Reiniger.

View Book
Book pages Placeholder Book

The Brontes: The Fantastically Feminist (and Totally True) Story of the Astonishing Authors

 An inspiring, empowering, fantastically feminist and totally true story, perfect for fans of Little People, Big Dreams and Goodnight Stories for Rebel Girls!  

Meet the incredible Bronte family - Charlotte, Emily, Anne and Branwell Bronte are no ordinary children. Growing up on the wild, lonely moors of Yorkshire, they have nothing to entertain them but their imaginations and each other. So they invent extraordinary imaginery worlds, full of wars and love stories, soldiers, heroes and villains, ruled over by powerful women. As they grow up, the Brontes discover that the real world isn't such a great place to be a girl. But they are so determined that their voices be heard, they overcome almost unbeatable odds to be bestselling authors.

This is the absolutely astonishing, fantastically feminist and, best of all, totally true story of one amazing family!

View Book
Book pages Placeholder Book

100 Women Who Made History: Remarkable women who shaped our world

If you thought that it was a man's world, think again! 100 Women Who Made History is the exciting story of the women who changed the world, from Anne Frank to J.K. Rowling.Meet the most talented and famous women in history, from politics, science, business, and the arts, from exciting entrepreneurs to clever creative. Discover landmark moments in the lives of amazing historical women from Joan of Arc to Marie Curie, up to and including modern game-changers such as Maya Angelou, Angela Merkel, Serena Williams, and Malala Yousafzai. With beautiful photography and fun illustrations, 100 Women Who Made History is a fascinating look at the pioneering and inspiring women in history, from ancient Greece to the present day. 100 Women Who Made History is the perfect book of history for kids aged 9 and up as they discover women who left their mark. For ages 7+

View book
Book pages Placeholder Book

Anthology of Amazing Women

This beautifully illustrated collection tells the awe-inspiring stories of 50 women who have pushed the boundaries of human excellence and endeavour. Standing out for their achievements in sport, science, the arts, politics, and history, these women have made huge contributions to today's society. Featuring incredible women from the past and present such as Beyonce, Sheryl Sandberg, Mary Anning, Emmeline Pankhurst and Malala. The Anthology of Amazing Women is a wonderful read for anyone wanting to read up on the incredible women who have lived and changed our lives. For ages 9+

View Book
Book pages Placeholder Book

Rebel Voices: The Rise of Votes for Women

The Week Junior Book of the Week! This is a very large, beautiful and bold compendium of women, country by country who said Time's Up on inequality. Discover how 40,000 Russian women marched through St Petersburg demanding their rights, one Canadian woman changed opinions with a play, and Kuwaiti women protested via text message. And read how women climbed mountains, walked a lion through the streets of Paris, and starved themselves, all in the name of having a voice and a choice. Tracing its history from New Zealand at the end of the 19th century, follow this empowering movement as it spread from Oceania to Europe and the Americas, then Africa and Asia up to the present day. For ages 9+

View Book
Book pages Placeholder Book

Women in Sport: Fifty Fearless Athletes Who Played to Win

Women in Sport celebrates the success of the tough, bold and fearless women who paved the way for today's athletes. The sportswomen featured include well-known figures like tennis player Serena Williams as well as lesser-known pioneers like Gertrude Ederle, the first woman to swim the English Channel. From the creator of the bestselling Women in Science, this richly illustrated book highlights the achievements and stories of fifty notable sportswomen from the 1800s to today. It also contains infographics on topics such as muscle anatomy, pay and media statistics for female athletes, and influential women's teams. For ages 9+

View Book
Book pages Placeholder Book

HerStory: 50 Women and Girls Who Shook the World

Instead of just studying history, let's think about HerStory too! In this uplifting and inspiring book, children can learn about 50 intrepid women from around the world and throughout history. Telling the stories of their childhood, the challenges they faced and the changes they made, each gorgeously illustrated spread is a celebration of girl power in its many forms. With a range of pioneering careers - from astronauts to activists, musicians to mathematicians and many more - young readers will be inspired to follow their own dreams and to make the world a better place. Compelling, motivating and brilliantly illustrated in equal measure, this is the perfect introduction to just some of the amazing women who have shaped our world. For ages 9+

View Book
Book pages Placeholder Book

What Would She Do?

Meet 25 of the most powerful and inspirational women of all time. From historical world leaders to modern pioneers and international muses, these are the incredible life stories of women from around the world to inspire and empower. Created by an all-women team and illustrated by internationally renowned artists, What Would She Do? packs a feminist punch. From Cleopatra to Amelia Earhart, Marie Curie to Malala Yousafzai, learn about powerful and inspiring women throughout history. These trailblazers not only accomplished great things, but overcame the same issues that girls all over the world have to face in modern society: inequality, gender stereotyping, body shaming, bullying and much more. Each profile concludes with a "What Would She Do..." scenario that applies the subject's attitude to a relatable situation. For ages 9+

View Book
Book pages Placeholder Book

Girls Who Changed the World

From the inspiring author of Girls Who Rocked the World comes another comprehensive collection of true, inspiring profiles of successful young women throughout history who made their mark on the world before turning twenty. Young women today crave strong, independent role models to look to for motivation. Girls Who Changed the World offers a fun and uplifting collection of influential stories with forty-five more movers and shakers who made a difference early on in life. From Cleopatra to Mindy Kaling, you'll get to know these capable queens of empires and courageous icons of entertainment. Also included are profiles of gutsy teenagers who are out there rocking the world right now and personal aspirations from today's young women. For ages 9+

View Book

Share this read with others...

Tweet Email