Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

Great Children's Books for International Women's Day

International Women's Day

International Women's Day (8th March) celebrates the social, economic, cultural and political achievements of women and this year's theme is #EmbraceEquity

We can all work towards a more gender-balanced world. We can celebrate women's achievements. Raise awareness against bias. Take action for equality. All of this starts when we're young (although it's never too late!) and helping the next generation to understand the importance of gender balance is a responsibility we must all bear. If you'd like to run an event for International Women's Day you can find a step by step guide here.

International Women's Day is a global celebration and began well over 100 years ago. 2018 marked 100 years since British women were allowed to vote, but this wasn't a universal right for all women, only those women who were aged over 30 and either owned land or were married to men who owned land, were granted the vote. It wasn't until The Equal Franchise Act in 1928 when British women were given equal voting rights to British men.

Below we have a selection of books to help children discover more about women who have helped make history, click through to find out more.

Toppsta
2023-04-02
Great Children's Books for International Women's Day
Book pages Placeholder Book

Fantastically Great Women Who Changed The World

Meet some of the most brave, brilliant and ground-breaking women in history with this full-colour picture book for ages 4+! 


Kate Pankhurst, descendent of suffragette Emmeline Pankhurst, has created a wildly wonderful and accessible book about women who really changed the world. Discover fascinating facts about some of the most amazing women on our planet, from incredible explorer and pilot Amelia Earhart and medical pioneer Mary Seacole, to civil rights activist Rosa Parks and superstar novelist Jane Austen! This book is so brilliant, it’s gone on to become an entire series and a hit musical! You will not want to miss out.

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

Have You Heard Of?: Rosa Parks: Flip Flap, Turn and Play!

This child-friendly novelty biography of Rosa parts is full of flips and flaps and even a wheel!! 

Rosa Parks was a human rights activist who changed the course of history forever. And now, even the youngest of little ones can learn all about her in this exciting novelty book from Pat-a-Cake! Rosa’s story is brought to life by lifting the flaps and turning the wheel! Play and learn by helping Rosa Parks get ready for her day. Discover the differences people can make in the world. This is just one book in a brilliant series of flip-flap, turn and play interactive novelty books that introduce important people in pop culture, history, literature, art, activism, science and more.

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

Michelle Obama: The Fantastically Feminist (and Totally True) Story of the Inspirational Activist and Campaigner

This is the fantastically feminist and totally true fully illustrated story of global icon Michelle Obama for readers aged 5+! 

Meet the marvellous Michelle Obama: A+ student, passionate piano player and a girl who's not afraid to dream big. And those dreams come true … today, Michelle gets to work in helping the community in many incredible ways. With her husband, ex US-president Barack Obama, who is equally passionate about changing the world, she has achieved incredible things and has helped millions of people. An inspiring, empowering, fantastically feminist and totally true story, perfect for fans of Little People, Big Dreams and Fantastically Great Women!

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

This Girl Can Do Anything

Meet Ruby. Ruby can do ANYTHING. She knows what she wants, and NOTHING is going to stop her - not a rainy day, a hard-to-reach treehouse or a pesky skateboard. Just you wait and see . . . With expressive, retro illustrations from exciting new illustration talent Hazel Quintanilla, this empowering book celebrates strong girls the world over. Little ones will LOVE Ruby - the ultimate feisty role model to show young girls how to harness their voice and inner strength.

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

Civil Rights Stories: Women's Rights and Suffrage

This beautifully illustrated 32-page picture book for ages 7+ explains civil rights and the story of how the suffragettes fought for women’s rights! 

The book begins with a fantastic foreword by Dr Shola Mos-Shogbamimu, prominent lawyer, activist and author of This Is Why I Resist. Following is a brilliant timeline of movements and campaigners in the struggle for women's rights, examining suffrage movements around the world, how women are denied rights to work and education, violence against women, women in sport and racial inequality. All accompanied by sensitive illustrations. A vital resource to introduce young readers to these topics or who are studying them in school.

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

And Everything Will Be Glad to See You

This beautifully illustrated collection of poems by women and girls ages 6+ will inspire and EMPOWER! 

From well-loved poets, including Maya Angelou and Christina Rossetti, to newer voices such as Amanda Gorman and Ada Limon, this outstanding collection from talented anthologist Ella Risbridger has poems for every mood and every moment. This is also a beautiful book to gift to someone you love, with its cloth binding, full colour illustrations throughout, textured paper jacket and even a ribbon marker! This is the book young girls will cherish from childhood into womanhood. Step into the magic that is a lifelong love of poetry…


View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

When I Became Your Granny

This heart-warming picture book is a rhyming bedtime celebration of the love we have for our grandmothers … to read to little ones from their very first year! 

For one little panda cub, days spent with Granny are always the BEST days of all. From chewing on bamboo and playing in the grass, to sheltering from a snowstorm and snuggling up in a tree as night falls, Granny is there to share, play, help and cuddle. The world is a wonderful place when grandma panda is in it! With pictures AND shimmery silver foil on every page, this timeless and beautiful book also makes a very special gift to send your most treasured granny.


View Book COMPARE PRICES

Fantastically Great Women Who... (Bloomsbury) - Ages 5+

Toppsta
2023-04-02
Great Children's Books for International Women's Day

little people, big dreams (frances lincoln) - ages 4+

Toppsta
2023-04-02
Great Children's Books for International Women's Day

Fantastically Feminist (Wren & Rook) - Ages 5+

Toppsta
2023-04-02
Great Children's Books for International Women's Day

little guides to great lives (laurence king) - Ages 5+

Toppsta
2023-04-02
Great Children's Books for International Women's Day

first names (david fickling) - ages 5+

Toppsta
2023-04-02
Great Children's Books for International Women's Day

extraordinary lives (puffin) - ages 7+

Toppsta
2023-04-02
Great Children's Books for International Women's Day

Trailblazers (Stripes) - ages 7+

Toppsta
2023-04-02
Great Children's Books for International Women's Day

more to explore

Toppsta
2023-04-02
Great Children's Books for International Women's Day

1st March 2023

Share this read with others...

Tweet Email