2018 CILIP Kate Greenaway Medal

15th March 2018

Test

Today (Thursday 15th March), the shortlist for the 2018 CILIP Kate Greenaway Medal and 2018 CILIP Carnegie Medal were announced. The CILIP Kate Greenaway Medal was established in 1955 and named after the popular nineteenth century artist, known for her beautiful children's illustrations and designs. The award celebrates the best in children's illustrated books and is judged by children's librarians. 

You can see the 2017 CILIP Kate Greenaway Shortlist and Winner here and the winners will be announced on Monday 18th June 2018 at a special event at The British Library where the winners will each receive £500 worth of books to donate to their local library, a specially commissioned golden medal and a £5,000 Colin Mears Award cash prize.

This year, there are three author-illustrators on the seven-strong Kate Greenaway Medal shortlist: Kate Greenaway contenders Debi Gliori’s Night Shift, Pam Smy’s Thornhill and Britta Teckentrup’s Under the Same Sky are shortlisted for the quality of their illustration, but in all three cases the illustrators have also written the books. They are joined on the shortlist by former Kate Greenaway winner Levi Pinfold, with one of his first commissions to illustrate a novel (The Song from Somewhere Else), and picture book offerings from Laura Carlin (King of the Sky), Petr Horáček (A First Book of Animals) and Sydney Smith (Town is by the Sea). Of the seven books, three illustrators have been shortlisted before (Pinfold, Gliori and Smith).

Book pages Placeholder Book

King of the Sky

A powerful and beautifully illustrated story about migration and the meaning of home, from the award-winning team behind The Promise. A breathtaking new picture book by children's author Nicola Davies, illustrated by Laura Carlin, winner of the Bratislava Illustration Biennale and the Bologna Ragazzi Prize for Illustration. Starting a new life in a new country, a young boy feels lost and alone - until he meets an old man who keeps racing pigeons. Together they pin their hopes on a race across Europe and the special bird they believe can win it: King of the Sky. (Walker Books)

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

A First Book of Animals

A dazzling collection of poems by Nicola Davies, featuring over fifty different kinds of animals - beautifully illustrated by Petr Horacek. Nicola Davies, the award-winning author of A First Book of Nature, presents a spellbinding treasury of poems about the animal world, illustrated in breathtaking detail by Petr Horacek. Polar bears playing on the ice, tigers hunting in the jungle, fireflies twinkling in the evening sky and nightingales singing in the heart of the woods - there are animals everywhere. From blue whales to bumblebee bats and everything in between, A First Book of Animals takes you all over the planet to visit all kinds of different creatures. (Walker Books)

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

Night Shift: An insight into depression that words often struggle to reach

A groundbreaking picture book on depression with stunning illustrations.

With stunning black and white illustration and deceptively simple text, author and illustrator Debi Gliori examines how depression affects one's whole outlook upon life, and shows that there can be an escape - it may not be easy to find, but it is there. Drawn from Debi's own experiences and with a moving testimony at the end of the book explaining how depression has affected her and how she continues to cope, Debi hopes that by sharing her own experience she can help others who suffer from depression, and to find that subtle shift that will show the way out. (Hot Key Books)

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

The Song from Somewhere Else

Frank doesn't know how to feel when Nick Underbridge rescues her from bullies one afternoon. No one likes Nick. He's big, he's weird and he smells - or so everyone in Frank's class thinks.

And yet, there's something nice about Nick's house. There's strange music playing there, and it feels light and good and makes Frank feel happy for the first time in forever.

But there's more to Nick, and to his house, than meets the eye, and soon Frank realises she isn't the only one keeping secrets. Or the only one who needs help ...

A poignant, darkly comic and deeply moving story about the power of the extraordinary, and finding friendship where you least expect it. Written by A.F. Harrold, the author of the critically acclaimed The Imaginary and illustrated by award-winning illustrator Levi Pinfold, this is perfect for fans of Roald Dahl and Neil Gaiman. (Bloomsbury)

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

Town Is by the Sea

Stunning illustrations by Sydney Smith, the award-winning illustrator of Footpath Flowers, show the striking contrast between a sparkling seaside day and the darkness underground where the miners dig. This beautifully understated and haunting story brings a piece of mining history to life. The ever-present ocean and inevitable pattern of life in a mining town will enthral children and move adult readers, as a young boy wakes up to the sound of the sea, visits his grandfather's grave after lunch and comes home to a cosy dinner with his family, but all the while his mind strays to his father digging for coal deep down under the sea. Written by Joanne Schwartz. (Walker Books)

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

Thornhill

As she unpacks in her new bedroom, Ella is irresistibly drawn to the big old house that she can see out of her window. Surrounded by overgrown gardens, barbed wire fences and 'keep out' signs, it looks derelict. But that night, a light goes on in one of the windows. And the next day she sees a girl in the grounds. Ella is hooked. The house has a story to tell. She is sure of it. Enter Thornhill, Institute for Children, and discover the dark secrets that lie within.But once inside, will you ever leave? Written by Pam Smy. (David Fickling Books)

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

Under the Same Sky

We sing the same songs, caught on the breeze... We sing the same songs, across the same seas.

Written and illustrated by the award-winning Britta Teckentrup, this beautiful and heart-warming peek-through picture book celebrates the closeness of the world's communities through their shared hopes and dreams. (Little Tiger Press)

View Book COMPARE PRICES

Share this read with others...

Tweet Email