Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

Petr Horacek

  • 4 stars across 35 books
    Petr Horacek Biography
    Petra Horacek is an award-winning author and illustrator. His first books Strawberries Are Red and What Is Black and White? won him the Books for Children Newcomer Award 2001. 

    Petr was born in the Czech Republic and loved looking at pictures in books from a very early age. His love for drawing began and he used to listen to plays and stories on the radio or watch a film and then sketch pictures he imagined from the story. Petr attended the Academy of Fine Art in Prague before working as a graphic designer. He later married his English wife and they moved to England. 

    Petra Horacek Facts
    Every autumn Petr travels back to the Czech Republic where he stays in a cottage in the middle of nowhere surrounded by woods. He paints, walks and thinks about new stories before returning home with ideas for new books.

    Our favourite Petr Horacek Book Characters
    Mouse - from A Surprise for Tiny Mouse
    Goat - from The Greedy Goat
    Suzy - from Silly Suzy Goose
    1st March 2012

    Puffin Peter

    Delightful and witty, this is a simple story of mistaken identity! Peter and Paul are the best of friends, but when Pet... More

    (12 reviews)
    Review
    1st July 2017

    The Greedy Goat

    A funny, read-aloud farmyard tale that teaches colours and days of the week from award-winning illustrator Petr Horacek.... More

    (7 reviews)
    Review
    1st March 2006

    A New House for Mouse

    An ingenious, colourful novelty book with peep-through holes. Mouse is little and so is her house - but her apple is hu... More

    (5 reviews)
    Review
    1st November 2015

    Blue Penguin

    A heat-warming fable about a friendship and belonging from the award-winning illustrator Petr Horacek. A heat-warming f... More

    (4 reviews)
    Review
    1st September 2014

    Silly Suzy Goose

    A celebrated picture book is brought to life as a Mini Pop-Up Classic. Ever wanted to be different? Suzy Goose has - sh... More

    (3 reviews)
    Review
    4th September 2008

    Dogger

    When Dave loses his favourite toy, Dogger, he is very sad. But when Dogger turns up on a stall at the garden fete, every... More

    (2 reviews)
    Review
    1st April 2007

    Choo Choo

    (1 review)
    Review
    21st May 2014

    The Mouse Who Ate the Moon

    A beautiful peep-through story book about a mouse, a tasty piece of the moon and the importance of friendship. When Lit... More

    (1 review)
    Review
    29th January 2018

    The Mouse Who Wasn't Scared

    A charming lift the flap story about bravery, perfect for fans of Eric Carle. Little Mouse wants to play in the woods. ... More

    (1 review)
    Review
    2nd August 2012

    Butterfly, Butterfly

    Peep through holes with Lucy to discover all the coloured insects in the garden in this radiant picture book with a pop-... More

    (1 review)
    Review
    1st August 2015

    The Mouse Who Reached the Sky

    Little Mouse has a big plan in this charming lift-the-flap story book by the award-winning Petr Horacek. A beautifully ... More

    (1 review)
    Review
    22nd July 2014

    A Surprise for Tiny Mouse

    A turn-the-wheel concept book from the award-winning Petr Horacek. Tiny Mouse loves nibbling corn in the sunshine. She ... More

    (1 review)
    Review
    1st June 2013

    Honk, Honk! Baa, Baa!

    A colourful baby board book from a beloved author/illustrator with charming animals and a novelty surprise. "Heehaw," s... More

    (1 review)
    Review
    29th May 2013

    Time for Bed Board Book

    Snuggle in, turn the pages and follow the timeless rituals of getting ready for bed in this adorable board book from mul... More

    (1 review)
    Review
    1st November 2016

    Blue Penguin

    A heart-warming fable about a friendship and belonging from the award-winning illustrator Petr Horacek. A heart-warming... More

    (1 review)
    Review
    7th April 2008

    Leon Spreads His Wings: Walker Stories

    A humorous and touching set of three illustrated, linked stories about a young boy who faces up to his fear of flying. ... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    1st November 2005

    When the Moon Smiled: A First Counting Book

    One night on the farm everything is topsy-turvy and the moon will only smile when things are put right. It's time for hi... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    1st October 2010

    Suzy Goose and the Christmas Star

    Suzy, the silly goose with a mind of her own, returns in a brand new read-aloud Christmas picture book. When Suzy Goose... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    1st May 2011

    The Fly

    Hello! It's me - the house fly. Open my book and take a look inside. There's never a dull moment. The Fly doesn't under... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    1st August 2013

    Animal Opposites

    A pop-up introduction to opposites from award-winning artist, Petr Horacek.Turn the pages, lift the flaps and see animal... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    7th December 2009

    Run, Mouse, Run!

    A sturdy new edition of a classic novelty board book for babies and toddlers. Watch mouse run about the house! Over the... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    5th July 2010

    Kasia's Surprise

    A heartwarming story about a feisty young Polish girl determined to be unhappy in her new life in England - but who find... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    7th December 2009

    What Is Black and White?

    A sturdy new edition of a classic novelty board book for babies and toddlers. Combining graphic pictures with ingenious... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    4th December 2009

    Beep Beep

    Lots of fun with cars in this board book that's perfect for little hands to explore. Vroom, vroom. Turn the shaped page... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    27th August 2014

    Animal Counting

    New series to help toddlers and children learn to count using fun counting games for kids Follow the clues and ... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    7th December 2009

    Strawberries Are Red

    A sturdy new edition of a classic novelty board book for babies and toddlers. Combining graphic pictures with ingenious... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    1st May 2001

    What Is Black And White?

    Two stylish die-cut board books that introduce the concept of colours. These two colours concept books are part of Walke... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    1st May 2001

    Strawberries Are Red Board Book

    Two stylish die-cut board books that introduce the concept of colours. These two colours concept books are part of Walke... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    1st July 2018

    When the Moon Smiled: A First Counting Book

    A charming farmyard counting book from the award-winning illustrator Petr Horacek, perfect for reading bedtime. It's ni... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    1st October 2018

    Grumpy Duck

    Can anyone cheer up Grumpy Duck? A funny farmyard tale illustrated by the award-winning Petr Horacek. Duck is grumpy. T... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    View all Books

    New Book

    Most Popular Book

    Recent Reviews

    • Blue Penguin

      Blue Penguin

      We are massive fans of Petr Horáček, this was a must choose from the library.  

      A standing out from the crowd, trying to belong, accepting who you...

    • Blue Penguin

      Blue Penguin

      We thought the pictures in this story were beautiful and enjoyed spotting the whale. The story is a good lesson in being kind, but we didn't like the...

    • The Mouse Who Wasn't Scared

      The Mouse Who Wasn't Scared

      We both really love and enjoy Petr Horáček’s books as both an author and illustrator.  Gorgeous animal illustrations as usual.  Little  mouse is defin...