Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

Jenny Nimmo

Author Links

Jenny Nimmo

  • 5 stars across 64 books
    Jenny Nimmo was born in Berkshire, but has lived in a converted watermill in Wales for the past thirty four years. Her husband is a painter and printmaker and they have three children and three grandchildren. She has worked in the theatre, in television and as a governess in Italy.


    For as long as she can remember, Jenny has loved books. She was six when she went to boarding school and reading was a wonderful escape, it allowed her to believe that she was somewhere else. She begn to write her own stories when she was ten. She cannot help using magic in her work because myths legends and fairy-tales were her favourite reading as a child, and they have remained at the back of her mind ever since.


    In 1986 her book `The Snow Spider' won the Smarties Grand Prix and, in 1987, was awarded the Tir na n'Og by the Welsh Arts Council. `The Rinaldi Ring' was chosen as Guardian Book of the Week, and was shortlisted for the Carnegie medal, for which she received a commendation.Five of Jenny's eight books about Charlie Bone in `The Children of the Red King' series were on the New York Times bestseller list, and she has now completed `The Secret Kingdom Trilogy' a prequel to the Charlie Bone Books..
    28th July 2016

    Midnight for Charlie Bone

    Classic magic and mystery from one of Britain's best-loved authors of fantasy adventure. Perfect for fans of Harry Pot... More

    (4 reviews)
    Review
    6th October 2016

    The Snow Spider

    NOW SHOWING AS A MAJOR BBC ADAPTATION - Sundays at 6:05pm 'Ti... More

    (3 reviews)
    Review
    8th September 2016

    Henry and the Guardians of the Lost

    A spell-binding new children's book from one of Britain's best-loved authors of fantasy adventure. Perf... More

    (3 reviews)
    Review
    29th August 2013

    Leopards' Gold

    In the conclusion to this beautifully crafted trilogy, bestselling author Jenny Nimmo takes her readers on an extraordin... More

    (1 review)
    Review
    28th July 2016

    Charlie Bone and the Blue Boa

    Classic magic and mystery from one of Britain's best-loved authors of fantasy adventure. Perfect for fans of Harry Pot... More

    (1 review)
    Review
    28th July 2016

    Charlie Bone and the Hidden King

    Classic magic and mystery from one of Britain's best-loved authors of fantasy adventure. Perfect for fans of Harry Pot... More

    (1 review)
    Review
    31st January 2018

    Gabriel and the Phantom Sleepers

    Classic magic and mystery from one of Britain's best-loved authors of fantasy adventure, Jenny Nimmo. P... More

    (1 review)
    Review
    14th December 1990

    The Snow Spider

    (1 review)
    Review
    1st November 1995

    Granny Grimm's Gruesome Glasses

    Fiona Smiley thinks that wearing glasses will make her brainy like the rest of her family. So when she sees Granny Grimm... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    Image to show page is loading Show More Books

    New Book

    Most Popular Book

    Recent Reviews

    • Midnight for Charlie Bone

      Midnight for Charlie Bone

      The book was about a boy called charlie Bone who was an ordinary boy, but when voices in photos start to whisper to Charlie his life is not normal. Wh...

    • The Snow Spider

      The Snow Spider

      I borrowed this book from the school library. This is a very interesting book about magicians, spiders and friendship.
      This book shows that it's not...

    • Midnight for Charlie Bone

      Midnight for Charlie Bone

      I first read this book aged 8 but it was just as enjoyable reading at the age of 13. The series introduces a young boy called Charlie Bone. At the beg...