Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

Jenny Nimmo

Author Links

Jenny Nimmo

  • 5 stars across 82 books
    Jenny Nimmo was born in Berkshire, but has lived in a converted watermill in Wales for the past thirty four years. Her husband is a painter and printmaker and they have three children and three grandchildren. She has worked in the theatre, in television and as a governess in Italy.


    For as long as she can remember, Jenny has loved books. She was six when she went to boarding school and reading was a wonderful escape, it allowed her to believe that she was somewhere else. She begn to write her own stories when she was ten. She cannot help using magic in her work because myths legends and fairy-tales were her favourite reading as a child, and they have remained at the back of her mind ever since.


    In 1986 her book `The Snow Spider' won the Smarties Grand Prix and, in 1987, was awarded the Tir na n'Og by the Welsh Arts Council. `The Rinaldi Ring' was chosen as Guardian Book of the Week, and was shortlisted for the Carnegie medal, for which she received a commendation.Five of Jenny's eight books about Charlie Bone in `The Children of the Red King' series were on the New York Times bestseller list, and she has now completed `The Secret Kingdom Trilogy' a prequel to the Charlie Bone Books..
    2nd June 2016

    The Snow Spider

    `Time to find out if you are a magician, Gwyn' Gwyn's grandmother leaves him five gifts: a brooch, a piece of dried se... More

    (2 reviews)
    Review
    8th September 2016

    Henry and the Guardians of the Lost

    A spell-binding new children's book from one of Britain's best-loved authors of fantasy adventure. Perfect for fans of E... More

    (1 review)
    Review
    5th September 1995

    Granny Grimm's Gruesome Glasses

    Fiona Smiley thinks that wearing glasses will make her brainy like the rest of her family. So when she sees Granny Grimm... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    2nd July 2007

    Dog Star

    A magical story about a young girl's longing for a dog named Star, from a Smarties Prize-winning author. Looking at the... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    15th February 2007

    Charlie Bone and the Hidden King

    Classic magic and mystery from one of Britain's best-loved authors of fantasy adventure. Perfect for fans of Harry Pot... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    29th August 2013

    Leopards' Gold

    In the conclusion to this beautifully crafted trilogy, bestselling author Jenny Nimmo takes her readers on an extraordin... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    2nd June 2008

    Charlie Bone and the Wilderness Wolf

    Classic magic and mystery from one of Britain's best-loved authors of fantasy adventure. Perfect for fans of Harry Pot... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    Image to show page is loading Show More Books

    New Book

    Most Popular Book

    Recent Reviews

    • 03 Charlie Bone And The Blue Boa

      03 Charlie Bone And The Blue Boa

      by animal

      I loved the storyline and characters, 

      When Charlie (the main character) was sad, upset, angry, happy or had any other strong feelings I could feel...

    • The Snow Spider

      The Snow Spider

      This is a beautifully written, wonderful book. It is about a boy called Gwyn whose sister Bethan ran away a while ago, and his family are still in mou...

    • The Snow Spider

      The Snow Spider

      This very special 30th Anniversary edition of Jenny Nimmo's classic is a joy to behold.  I've been reading this book to my class who have been drawn i...