Jenny Nimmo

Jenny Nimmo

  • 5 stars across 66 books
Jenny Nimmo was born in Berkshire, but has lived in a converted watermill in Wales for the past thirty four years. Her husband is a painter and printmaker and they have three children and three grandchildren. She has worked in the theatre, in television and as a governess in Italy.


For as long as she can remember, Jenny has loved books. She was six when she went to boarding school and reading was a wonderful escape, it allowed her to believe that she was somewhere else. She begn to write her own stories when she was ten. She cannot help using magic in her work because myths legends and fairy-tales were her favourite reading as a child, and they have remained at the back of her mind ever since.


In 1986 her book `The Snow Spider' won the Smarties Grand Prix and, in 1987, was awarded the Tir na n'Og by the Welsh Arts Council. `The Rinaldi Ring' was chosen as Guardian Book of the Week, and was shortlisted for the Carnegie medal, for which she received a commendation.Five of Jenny's eight books about Charlie Bone in `The Children of the Red King' series were on the New York Times bestseller list, and she has now completed `The Secret Kingdom Trilogy' a prequel to the Charlie Bone Books..
6th October 2016

The Snow Spider

NOW SHOWING AS A MAJOR BBC ADAPTATION – Sundays at 6:05pm ‘Time to find o... MoreThe Snow Spider

(7 reviews) Review
28th July 2016

Midnight for Charlie Bone

Classic magic and mystery from one of Britain’s best-loved authors of fantasy adventure. Perfect for fans of Harry Potte... MoreMidnight for Charlie Bone

(4 reviews) Review
8th September 2016

Henry and the Guardians of the Lost

A spell-binding new children's book from one of Britain's best-loved authors of fantasy adventure. Perf... MoreHenry and the Guardians of the Lost

(3 reviews) Review
28th July 2016

Charlie Bone and the Castle of Mirrors

Classic magic and mystery from one of Britain’s best-loved authors of fantasy adventure. Perfect for fans of Harry Potte... MoreCharlie Bone and the Castle of Mirrors

(2 reviews) Review
28th July 2016

Charlie Bone and the Blue Boa

Classic magic and mystery from one of Britain’s best-loved authors of fantasy adventure. Perfect for fans of Harry Potte... MoreCharlie Bone and the Blue Boa

(2 reviews) Review
28th July 2016

Charlie Bone and the Hidden King

Classic magic and mystery from one of Britain’s best-loved authors of fantasy adventure. Perfect for fans of Harry Potte... MoreCharlie Bone and the Hidden King

(2 reviews) Review
1st November 2018

The Snow Spider Trilogy

NOW SHOWING AS A MAJOR BBC FAMILY ADAPTATION – SUNDAYS AT 6:05PM AND ON CCBC ON THURSDAYS AT 5PM ... MoreThe Snow Spider Trilogy

(2 reviews) Review
29th August 2013

Leopards' Gold

In the conclusion to this beautifully crafted trilogy, bestselling author Jenny Nimmo takes her readers on an extraordin... MoreLeopards' Gold

(1 review) Review
28th July 2016

Charlie Bone and the Shadow of Badlock

Classic magic and mystery from one of Britain’s best-loved authors of fantasy adventure. Perfect for fans of Harry Potte... MoreCharlie Bone and the Shadow of Badlock

(1 review) Review
Image to show page is loading Show More Books

New Book

Most Popular Book

Recent Reviews

  • The Snow Spider

    The Snow Spider

    by 4RW

    I rate this book 5/5.Chapter IX it was really good. It's not similar to any other books that I've read. Quyn is my favourite character. I recommend th...

  • The Snow Spider Trilogy

    The Snow Spider Trilogy

    by 4RW

    I rate this 5/5 because it's wholesome! My favourite part was when they saved the day. I love happy endings! My favourite character is Gwyh because he...

  • The Snow Spider

    The Snow Spider

    5/5. No it is not simalar to any he saves the snow spider from drowning . Because it's heart- warming. someone who likes sparkles and spiders. this is...