Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

Midnight for Charlie Bone

by

Midnight for Charlie Bone Reviews | Toppsta

Book Rating: 5 based on 1
1 Review
Write a Review

Classic magic and mystery from one of Britain's best-loved authors of fantasy adventure. Perfect for fans of Harry Potter, Eva Ibbotson, Cornelia Funke's Inkheart and Shane Hegarty's Darkmouth .

An Academy for magic and special talents. A destiny unfulfilled. A secret legacy.
The first instalment of the international best-selling fantasy series from Jenny Nimmo starring Charlie Bone.
Since his father died, Charlie Bone has lived with his mother and her mother, in the house of his other grandmother, Grandma Bone. Looking at a picture of a couple with a baby and a cat, he suddenly discovers he can hear their voices. Although he tries to hide his new gift, Grandma Bone and her scary sisters soon find out, and send him to Bloor's Academy. Charlie quickly finds life at Bloor's pretty tough, with its strict rules and the malevolent head boy, Manfred, set against him. When Charlie discovers that the child in the photograph is being held, hypnotised, against her will, he and his new friends with 'gifts' try to awaken her. But can they overcome Manfred's sinister hypnotic gifts?
Have you collected all of the Charlie Bone books?
Midnight for Charlie Bone
Charlie Bone and the Time Twister
Charlie Bone and t he Blue Boa
Charlie Bone and t he Castle of Mirrors
Charlie Bone and the Hidden King
Charlie Bone and the Wilderness Wolf
Charlie Bone and the Shadow of Badlock
Charlie Bone and the Red Knight
Also look out for The Snow Spider trilogy.
`Dark, funny, crackling with magic' - author Artemis Cooper on Midnight for Charlie Bone
`A fast moving, dialogue driven romp with plenty of cliff-hangers for those first hooked into reading by Harry Potter' - Bookseller on Midnight for Charlie Bone
Jenny Nimmo is the acclaimed author of the Charlie Bone books for children. She has won several significant awards for her children's books, including the Nestle Smarties Book Prize and the Tir na n-Og Welsh Arts Council award for The Snow Spider. She lives in Wales with her husband, David.

Midnight for Charlie Bone Reviews | Toppsta

9781405225434

Share on

Featured Book
The Ghost Garden
The Ghost Garden

BOOK OF THE MONTH: A powerful and spine-tingling story of childhood set in 1914, by Emma Carroll.

View book
Featured Books

Videos

If you would like to provide a video review please sign up to our video panel.

Series

This is Book 1 in the Charlie Bone Series. See all Charlie Bone books here.

Category

See More Fantasy & magical realism

Sign up to our newsletter for...

Free Book Giveaways, Recommendations & more

Show More (0)
ajax loader

REVIEWER'S AGE

   
Age 10
Featured Book
The Ghost Garden
The Ghost Garden

BOOK OF THE MONTH: A powerful and spine-tingling story of childhood set in 1914, by Emma Carroll.

View book
Featured Books

About Jenny Nimmo

Jenny Nimmo was born in Berkshire, but has lived in a converted watermill in Wales for the past thirty four years. Her husband is a painter and printmaker and they have three children and three grandchildren. She has worked in the theatre, in television and as a governess in Italy.


For as long as she can remember, Jenny has loved books. She was six when sh

More about Jenny Nimmo

Ratings

  • (1 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)