Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

Stephan Pastis

  • 5 stars across 8 books
    Stephan Pastis Biography
    Stephan Pastis is an American illustrator and the creator of the hugely popular Pearls Before Swine, an acclaimed comic strip that appears in more than 600 newspapers. In 2013, Stephan was inspired to write his first children’s book, Timmy Failure: Mistakes Were Made, which became an instant New York Times bestseller. Mistakes Were Made was quickly followed by three other instalments in the popular middle-grade series starring a brilliantly bad detective with a sidekick polar bear. 

    Stephan Pastis was born in 1968 and grew up in California, USA. He graduated with a degree in Political Science from the University of California at Berkley and went on to law school before becoming an attorney. He'd always loved drawing since his mum first gave him some pens and paper as a child and he continued to draw comic strip ideas while practising law. He drew Pearls Before Swine in the late 1990s and it debuted in newspapers in January 2002. He left his law practise that August and hasn't looked back since!

    Stephan lives with his family in Northern California.

    Stephan Pastis Facts
    Pastis was nominated for the National Cartoonists Society Newspaper Comic Strip Award for 2002, 2003, 2006 and 2007. He won the 2003 and 2006 awards. He was also nominated for The National Cartoonists Society Reuben Award for Cartoonist of the Year for every year since 2008.

    Our favourite Stephan Pastis Book Character
    Timmy Failure - from the Timmy Failure series

    Our favourite Timmy Failure Book Quotes
    "When you lose hope, find it." (Timmy Failure: Now Look What You've Done)
    29th September 2015

    Timmy Failure: Sanitized for Your Protection

    The fourth book in the New York Times bestselling series sees Timmy Failure take to the road - with the usual disastrous... More

    (15 reviews)
    Review
    5th June 2014

    Timmy Failure: Mistakes Were Made

    The hilarious and ever-optimistic Timmy Failure, and his sidekick polar bear, Total, create chaos as they attempt to mak... More

    (13 reviews)
    Review
    4th June 2015

    Timmy Failure: Now Look What You've Done

    The clueless, comically self-confident kid detective returns with style in the second book in the Timmy Failure series. ... More

    (12 reviews)
    Review
    27th April 2017

    Timmy Failure: The Cat Stole My Pants

    In  the sixth book in Stephan Pastis's New York Times bestselling series, Timmy is being  threatened and must rely on hi... More

    (11 reviews)
    Review
    1st June 2017

    Timmy Failure: The Book You're Not Supposed to Have

    Timmy Failure returns once more in the fifth book in the New York Times bestselling series. Fans of Wimpy Kid and Tom G... More

    (10 reviews)
    Review
    7th January 2016

    Timmy Failure: We Meet Again

    The third book in the New York Times bestselling Timmy Failure series is sure to have readers laughing out loud once aga... More

    (9 reviews)
    Review
    6th September 2018

    Timmy Failure: It's the End When I Say It's the End

    In the series finale, Timmy Failure and his class create a hilarious film about his life - just in time for the holidays... More

    (2 reviews)
    Review
    6th June 2019

    Timmy Failure: We Meet Again

    Perfect for fans of Wimpy Kid, Tom Gates and Barry Loser, the third book in Stephan Pastis's New York Times bestselling ... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    Image to show page is loading Show More Books

    Coming Soon

    Recent Reviews

    Series by
    Stephan Pastis