Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

Stephan Pastis

  • 4 stars across 7 books
    Stephan Pastis Biography
    Stephan Pastis is an American illustrator and the creator of the hugely popular Pearls Before Swine, an acclaimed comic strip that appears in more than 600 newspapers. In 2013, Stephan was inspired to write his first children’s book, Timmy Failure: Mistakes Were Made, which became an instant New York Times bestseller. Mistakes Were Made was quickly followed by three other instalments in the popular middle-grade series starring a brilliantly bad detective with a sidekick polar bear. 

    Stephan Pastis was born in 1968 and grew up in California, USA. He graduated with a degree in Political Science from the University of California at Berkley and went on to law school before becoming an attorney. He'd always loved drawing since his mum first gave him some pens and paper as a child and he continued to draw comic strip ideas while practising law. He drew Pearls Before Swine in the late 1990s and it debuted in newspapers in January 2002. He left his law practise that August and hasn't looked back since!

    Stephan lives with his family in Northern California.

    Stephan Pastis Facts
    Pastis was nominated for the National Cartoonists Society Newspaper Comic Strip Award for 2002, 2003, 2006 and 2007. He won the 2003 and 2006 awards. He was also nominated for The National Cartoonists Society Reuben Award for Cartoonist of the Year for every year since 2008.

    Our favourite Stephan Pastis Book Character
    Timmy Failure - from the Timmy Failure series

    Our favourite Timmy Failure Book Quotes
    "When you lose hope, find it." (Timmy Failure: Now Look What You've Done)
    6th June 2019

    Timmy Failure: Mistakes Were Made

    The hilarious and ever-optimistic Timmy Failure, and his polar bear sidekick Total, create chaos as they attempt to ... More

    (15 reviews)
    Review
    5th September 2019

    Timmy Failure: Sanitized for Your Protection

    Timmy Failure takes to the road in the fourth book in the New York Times bestselling series, perfect for fans of... More

    (15 reviews)
    Review
    6th June 2019

    Timmy Failure: Now Look What You've Done

    Timmy Failure is back and he's as clueless as ever in this New York Times bestselling sequel to Timmy Failure:... More

    (13 reviews)
    Review
    5th September 2019

    Timmy Failure: The Cat Stole My Pants

    Everyone's favourite best worst detective is back in the sixth book in the New York Times bestselling series tha... More

    (12 reviews)
    Review
    5th September 2019

    Timmy Failure: The Book You're Not Supposed to Have

    Timmy Failure returns once more in the hilarious fifth book in the New York Times bestselling series, perfect fo... More

    (10 reviews)
    Review
    6th June 2019

    Timmy Failure: We Meet Again

    Perfect for fans of Wimpy Kid, Tom Gates and Barry Loser, the third book in Stephan Pastis's New York Times best... More

    (9 reviews)
    Review
    6th June 2019

    Timmy Failure: It's the End When I Say It's the End

    Everyone's favourite best worst detective is back in the seventh, and final, book in the bestselling series that's p... More

    (2 reviews)
    Review
    Image to show page is loading Show More Books

    Most Popular Book

    Recent Reviews

    Series by
    Stephan Pastis