Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

Stephan Pastis

  • 5 stars across 17 books
    Stephan Pastis Biography
    Stephan Pastis is an American illustrator and the creator of the hugely popular Pearls Before Swine, an acclaimed comic strip that appears in more than 600 newspapers. In 2013, Stephan was inspired to write his first children’s book, Timmy Failure: Mistakes Were Made, which became an instant New York Times bestseller. Mistakes Were Made was quickly followed by three other instalments in the popular middle-grade series starring a brilliantly bad detective with a sidekick polar bear. 

    Stephan Pastis was born in 1968 and grew up in California, USA. He graduated with a degree in Political Science from the University of California at Berkley and went on to law school before becoming an attorney. He'd always loved drawing since his mum first gave him some pens and paper as a child and he continued to draw comic strip ideas while practising law. He drew Pearls Before Swine in the late 1990s and it debuted in newspapers in January 2002. He left his law practise that August and hasn't looked back since!

    Stephan lives with his family in Northern California.

    Stephan Pastis Facts
    Pastis was nominated for the National Cartoonists Society Newspaper Comic Strip Award for 2002, 2003, 2006 and 2007. He won the 2003 and 2006 awards. He was also nominated for The National Cartoonists Society Reuben Award for Cartoonist of the Year for every year since 2008.

    Our favourite Stephan Pastis Book Character
    Timmy Failure - from the Timmy Failure series

    Our favourite Timmy Failure Book Quotes
    "When you lose hope, find it." (Timmy Failure: Now Look What You've Done)
    29th September 2015

    Timmy Failure: Sanitized for Your Protection

    The fourth book in the New York Times bestselling series sees Timmy Failure take to the road - with the usual disastrous... More

    (15 reviews)
    Review
    5th June 2014

    Timmy Failure: Mistakes Were Made

    The hilarious and ever-optimistic Timmy Failure, and his sidekick polar bear, Total, create chaos as they attempt to mak... More

    (13 reviews)
    Review
    4th June 2015

    Timmy Failure: Now Look What You've Done

    The clueless, comically self-confident kid detective returns with style in the second book in the Timmy Failure series. ... More

    (12 reviews)
    Review
    27th April 2017

    Timmy Failure: The Cat Stole My Pants

    In  the sixth book in Stephan Pastis's New York Times bestselling series, Timmy is being  threatened and must rely on hi... More

    (11 reviews)
    Review
    1st June 2017

    Timmy Failure: The Book You're Not Supposed to Have

    Timmy Failure returns once more in the fifth book in the New York Times bestselling series. Fans of Wimpy Kid and Tom G... More

    (10 reviews)
    Review
    7th January 2016

    Timmy Failure: We Meet Again

    The third book in the New York Times bestselling Timmy Failure series is sure to have readers laughing out loud once aga... More

    (9 reviews)
    Review
    6th September 2018

    Timmy Failure: It's the End When I Say It's the End

    In the series finale, Timmy Failure and his class create a hilarious film about his life - just in time for the holidays... More

    (2 reviews)
    Review
    18th July 2013

    Beginning Pearls

    Fans of Pearls Before Swineknow that, in addition to being hilarious, it can be outrageous and even controversial. Death... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    1st July 2014

    The Croc Ate My Homework: A Pearls Before Swine Collection

    Always witty and clever, and sometimes irreverent, Pearls Before Swine's sarcastic take on life appeals to fans of all a... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    13th August 2015

    Skip School, Fly to Space: A Pearls Before Swine Collection

    Skip School, Fly to Spacecontinues the ongoing repartee of this crazy cast of characters. The irascible Rat is housemate... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    30th October 2014

    Timmy Failure Book 3: We Meet Again

    From the New York Times bestselling creator of Timmy Failure comes a third adventure about the comically overconfident s... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    2nd June 2016

    I'm Only in This for Me: A Pearls Before Swine Collection

    Are you tired of America's broken politics, tired partisan bickering, and really lame newspaper comics? Well, Stephan P... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    11th August 2016

    When Crocs Fly: A Pearls Before Swine Collection

    From Stephan Pastis, the New York Times best-selling author of Timmy Failure , comes the always hilarious cast of... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    9th April 2011

    Peanuts: Happiness Is a Warm Blanket, Charlie Brown!

    Charles Schulz s world-renowned comic strip PEANUTS comes to graphic novels for the first time! For the first time ever,... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    29th September 2016

    Timmy Failure Totally Catastrophic Boxset

    Take Timmy Failure - the clueless, comically self-confident CEO of a budding investigative empire. Add his impressively ... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    1st August 2017

    Suit Your Selfie: A Pearls Before Swine Collection

    Even Rat cracks a smile in this fifth Pearls Before Swine collection tailored for middle-grade readers. Witty, wacky... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    1st September 2017

    I Scream, You Scream, We All Scream Because Puns Suck: A Pearls Before Swine Collection

    We know it's coming. The telltale signs are all there: the oddly specific setup, the unusual word choice, and, just visi... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    View all Books

    Recent Reviews