Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

How Trains Work

by
,
,

How Trains Work Reviews | Toppsta

Book Rating: 5 based on 13
13 Reviews
Write a Review

All aboard! From the fastest to the longest, the oldest to the newest, through tunnels, across bridges and up mountainsides, take a fascinating ride through the world of trains in this brilliant new book from illustrator James Gulliver Hancock. In this follow-up to How Cities Work and How Airports Work , young readers travel through history and around the world to find out everything they ever wanted to know about trains. Unfold pages and lift flaps to reveal bustling stations, old steam locomotives fuelled with coal, and high-speed trains zooming across Japan at almost 400 miles per hour! And that's not all. See how trains reach the top of mountains, transport people under cities, and work beneath the sea. And don't forget to dress up - we'll take you on some luxurious journeys including the Trans-Siberian Railway from Moscow to Vladivostok, and The Ghan, which runs all the way across Australia! How Trains Work is jam-packed with amazing facts and awesome illustrations, and was created in consultation with Anthony Coulls, Senior Curator of Rail Transport & Technology, National Railway Museum, UK. About Lonely Planet Kids: Lonely Planet Kids - an imprint of the world's leading travel authority Lonely Planet - published it(more...)

How Trains Work Reviews | Toppsta

9781788683272

Share on

Featured Book
The Astonishing Future of Alex Nobody
The Astonishing Future of Alex Nobody

BOOK OF THE MONTH - Have you ever thought what it might be like if you were famous in the future? A brilliant middle-grade adventure about friendship, courage and embracing our talents even when they make us stand out. Perfect for fans of Ross Welford and recommended for ages 8+

View book
Featured Books

Videos

If you would like to provide a video review please sign up to our video panel.

youtube video play button

Series

This is Book 112 in the Lonely Planet Kids Series. See all Lonely Planet Kids books here.

Category

See More Transport

Sign up to our newsletter for...

Free Book Giveaways, Recommendations & more

Show More (0)
ajax loader

REVIEWER'S AGE

             
Age 1 4 5 7 8 9
Featured Book
The Astonishing Future of Alex Nobody
The Astonishing Future of Alex Nobody

BOOK OF THE MONTH - Have you ever thought what it might be like if you were famous in the future? A brilliant middle-grade adventure about friendship, courage and embracing our talents even when they make us stand out. Perfect for fans of Ross Welford and recommended for ages 8+

View book
Featured Books

About Lonely Planet Kids

Lonely Planet Kids encourages children to discover more about our diverse world and its fascinating variety of people, places, cultures, creatures and environments. Created by our global team of experts, our products cover culture, sociology, geography, nature, history, space and more. With astonishing facts, engaging visuals and a sense of adventure, we ins

More about Lonely Planet Kids

About Clive Gifford

Clive Gifford is a highly experienced journalist and author who has more than 70 books in print for both adults and children. Among his children's titles are Spies (Kingfisher), Refugees (Belitha), and The Kingfisher Soccer Encyclopedia. He has written a number of highly acclaimed titles on the subject of robotics, including How to Be a Robot (OUP) and Insid

More about Clive Gifford

Ratings

  • (13 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)