Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

View all Blogs
Featured Book
Bumble and Snug and the Angry Pirates: Book 1
Bumble and Snug and the Angry Pirates: Book 1

BOOK OF THE WEEK - We love this full-colour, graphic novel, pirate adventure. It's perfect for young readers and fans of Dog Man.

View book

Best books by age

The Best Non-Fiction Books for Kids

Test

One of the first things we recommend when children don’t like reading, is trying more non-fiction. Lots of us just prefer facts to fiction, true stories to made-up ones.

Non-fiction children’s books can help explain the world and satisfy curious minds. There is plenty of choice for young readers, from fascinating true stories to practical guides and reference books. Whatever your child is into - science, animals, football, space, cooking, coding - there are plenty of fantastic books to support their interests.

From non-fiction books for preschoolers through to inspirational non-fiction books for teens, check out our recommendations for every age and stage. All these books have 5 stars from the most important critics of all - kids!   

You may also like:
Books Based on True Stories
Inspirational Books for Teenagers
Early Learning Books for Babies & Toddlers 

Toppsta
2021-06-17
The Best Non-Fiction Books for Kids
Book pages Placeholder Book

Climate Action: The future is in our hands

This is a book about climate change.
In this book, we share the facts, but we also share hope. Learn about the causes of climate change and how it is affecting our world. Explore the human impact and what it means to have a carbon footprint. Read about creative ideas for tackling the climate crisis. Be inspired by the positive stories from young changemakers around the globe. Get tips on how to take actions and reduce your carbon footprint.
Our planet needs us, and we need our planet.
One tree will be planted for every book sold in the UK.

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

Dunkleosteus

TV scientist Ben Garrod presents the biggest extinction events ever, told from the point of view of evolution's superstars, the most incredible animals ever to swim, stalk, slither or walk our planet. Whether you're 9 or 90, his unique exploration of the most destructive, yet most creative, force in nature makes top level science fun.

Here are the superstars of the story of life, from the super-weird to the super-ferocious. Usually a species has 10 million years or so of evolving, eating, chasing, playing, maybe doing homework, or even going to the moon before it goes extinct.

Dunkleosteus was super-snappy. With a bite 10 times stronger than a great white shark, it could snap its jaws 5 times faster than you can blink! Discover its habitat, what it ate and what it was like to live in the shadow of this one-tonne predator until it went extinct at the end of the Age of Fishes.

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

How to Grow Up and Feel Amazing!: The No-Worries Guide for Boys

The nation's favourite doctor, Dr Ranj, is here to explain everything you ever wanted to know about puberty - plus lots more.

What does it mean to be a boy? And I'm not just talking about what you have between your legs, but what life is really like for boys. Growing up is a real minefield! So I've put everything I've learned both from my career as an NHS doctor and my own life experiences into this twenty-first century guide to being a boy.

It covers the obvious things like the physical changes you'll go through during puberty and adolescence (hello, pubic hair and voice breaking!), but also helps you to figure out how to manage your emotions, deal with friends and family and learn about healthy relationships.

Filled with easy-to-understand explanations, down-to-earth advice and cheeky illustrations, this growing-up guide by trusted paediatrician Dr Ranj is perfect for readers aged 10+ who want to discover the confidence to be the very best version of themselves.

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

Football School Terrific Teams: 50 True Stories of Football's Greatest Sides

Discover the incredible true stories behind the most famous clubs in football.  

Find out the stories behind the most legendary clubs in football history, such as Manchester United, Real Madrid and Liverpool. Explore how these teams have overcome failure and tragedy to win leagues and lift trophies and enter the record books. Also discover fascinating facts about more unknown clubs, including the German team with skull and crossbones logo and the most eco-friendly club in the world. Perfect for fans of  Football School: Star Players  and  Football School: Epic Heroes  , this collection of fifty true stories is a must-read for any young football fan.

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

R is for Rabbit

Turn storytime into a fun learning experience with this charming alphabet book about rabbits!

Introduce your little one to adorable rabbits! This gorgeously illustrated children's book teaches kids rabbit-related first words beginning with the letter R.

This delightful little educational book is great for sharing with preschool animal lovers.

- Clear, simple read-aloud text for young ones
- Filled with wonderfully engaging full-colour illustrations
- Each page provides an excellent introduction to key animal terms
- Safe, sturdy board book for little hands

Run, hop and have fun with rabbits! The friendly, read-aloud text and exciting illustrations will capture the attention of young nature-lovers in no time! Babies and toddlers will love learning new words about rabbits while practising their R letter sound. This baby book is ideal for promoting early learning and language development.

R is for rest! Did you know that rabbits sleep a lot? They're awake at dusk and dawn. Packed with bright pictures and short text, this engaging animal book provides curious children with lots to talk about and look at!

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

Draw With Rob: Build a Story

The internet phenomenon #DrawWithRob is now an incredible activity book for you to draw with Rob at home - filled with drawing and story time fun! As seen everywhere on YouTube, Facebook, TikTok, TV, and more, from the creative genius and bestselling author Rob Biddulph!

At home and wondering what to do? Pick up your pencils and join thousands of children around the world and #DrawWithRob - story time has never been so much fun! Learn how to build your own story, and even create your own book, step-by-step!

The first DRAW WITH ROB activity book went to Number One in the charts and was named 'Book of the Year' at the 2020 Sainsbury's Children's Book Awards! Now every family can share this spectacularly story-filled new art activity book. Join Rob and learn to draw your favourite storybook characters - from unicorns to dragons and from knights to monsters, this perfect present is packed with arts, crafts and family fun.

The bestselling and award-winning author/illustrator Rob Biddulph is the genius behind the phenomenal, viral sensation that is DRAW WITH ROB and the accompanying activity book, and now the sensational DRAW WITH ROB: STORY TIME - bringing joy to families everywhere with his easy to follow instructions and warm-hearted humour. So whether you're in home education, home-schooling, learning to draw or just having fun, let Rob show you that anyone can learn to #DrawWithRob!

*WITH PERFORATED PAGES SO YOU CAN EASILY TEAR OUT AND DISPLAY YOUR ART!*

View Book COMPARE PRICES

books about climate change

Toppsta
2021-06-17
The Best Non-Fiction Books for Kids

real-life stories

Toppsta
2021-06-17
The Best Non-Fiction Books for Kids

activity books

Toppsta
2021-06-17
The Best Non-Fiction Books for Kids

non-fiction for preschoolers

Toppsta
2021-06-17
The Best Non-Fiction Books for Kids

Science & Nature

Toppsta
2021-06-17
The Best Non-Fiction Books for Kids

sports & hobbies

Toppsta
2021-06-17
The Best Non-Fiction Books for Kids

non-fiction picture books

Toppsta
2021-06-17
The Best Non-Fiction Books for Kids

reference books

Toppsta
2021-06-17
The Best Non-Fiction Books for Kids

motivational books

Toppsta
2021-06-17
The Best Non-Fiction Books for Kids

17th June 2021

Share this read with others...

Tweet Email
Featured Book
Bumble and Snug and the Angry Pirates: Book 1
Bumble and Snug and the Angry Pirates: Book 1

BOOK OF THE WEEK - We love this full-colour, graphic novel, pirate adventure. It's perfect for young readers and fans of Dog Man.

View book