Best Non-Fiction Series for 5 and 6 year olds

Non-fiction books hold a very special place in our hearts here at Toppsta. We love them because they show young readers the multifaceted world we live in, introduce them to new topics they might fall in love with, and bring true life into stories. 

If you'd like to introduce non-fiction into your 5 or 6 year old's everyday reading, know that it's not too early to start! A brilliant way to get started is by turning to series: a single series may explore a variety of different topics and themes, and through them you can get a feel of what most tickles your little non-fiction reader's fancy! 

The books in these trusty series share empowering stories of brave people, animal stories, historyscience facts and even activities

Toppsta
2024-05-09
Best Non-Fiction Series for 5 and 6 year olds
Book pages Placeholder Book

Fantastically Great Women Series

The Fantastically Great Women picture book series is empowering, inspiring and FUN! Now a series comprising fiction books for older readers, journals, activity books and even a major pop musical in London about women who made their mark in the world. 

View Fantastically Great Women Series
Book pages Placeholder Book

Little People, Big Dreams Series

Little People, Big Dreams is a wonderful illustrated series by Maria Isabel Sánchez Vegara, that explores the lives of outstanding people, from designers and artists to scientists and activists. All of them achieved incredible things, yet each began life as a child with a dream. We love these books for the empowering message for children of all ages – no matter who you are, or where you come from, you can achieve amazing things.

View Little People, Big Dreams Series
Book pages Placeholder Book

little leaders Series

Perfect for fans of Fantastically Great Women and Little People, Big Dreams, Little Leaders is an uplifting and inspiring picture book series about of brilliant women and men from all around the world who have made their dreams come true and achieved brilliant things against all the odds.

View little leaders Series
Book pages Placeholder Book

How to be a... Series

Learning about their parents jobs and the different types of careers is a big way children begin to make sense of the world. This series is a perfect picture book introduction to the varied and wonderful roles one can have in society!

View How to be a... Series
Book pages Placeholder Book

Step Inside Science Series

This is such a bright, fun and interactive series about different topics of science, starting with germs and the human body onwards to the weather and more. Each 14-page book is perfect for children aged 5+, with full-colour illustrations on each and every page.

View Step Inside Science Series
Book pages Placeholder Book

Protect the Planet Series

Budding ecologists aged 5+ will find out so many incredible facts about our planet's waste, its weather and the wonderful things we can do to look after it with this series written by experts in conservation and environmentalism. 

View Protect the Planet Series
Book pages Placeholder Book

draw with rob Series

With this step-by-step activity book series by award-winning YouTube phenomenon Rob Biddulph, children aged 5+ get to learn how to draw their favourite characters. This is one of the best activity book series on the market, winning the 2020 Sainsbury’s Children’s Book Award for ‘Book of the Year’.

View draw with rob Series

MORE TO EXPLORE

A Little Monster’s Guide to by Emily Snape (Summersdale Publishers)

Lift the Flap Questions and Answers by Katie Daynes and Marie-Eve Tremblay (Usborne)

SuperQuesters by Dr Thomas Bernard, Lisa Moss and Amy Willcox (QuestFriendz)

The Extraordinary Book by Various authors (Weldon Owen Children's Books)

Littles Guides to Nature by Nina Chakrabarti (Laurence King Publishing)

Do You Love... by Matt Robertson (Bloomsbury Publishing)

Can We Really Help by Katie Daynes and Roisin Hahessy (Usborne Publishing Ltd.)

Find Tom in Time by Fatti Burke (Nosy Crow Ltd)

And How it Works by Various authors (Usborne)
Toppsta
2024-05-09
Best Non-Fiction Series for 5 and 6 year olds

First published

Updated:

Share this read with others...

Tweet Email