Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

The Missing: The True Story of My Family in World War II

by

The Missing: The True Story of My Family in World War II Reviews | Toppsta

Book Rating: 5 based on 10
10 Reviews
Write a Review

***As heard on The Jeremy Vine Show***

***As heard on The Cerys Matthews Show***

"Michael Rosen is a master of pace and clarity... Essential reading." - The Time s, Children's Book of the Week

" Five stars ... extraordinary and affecting. " - The Telegraph , Children 's Book of the Week

" Rosen handles the difficult topic as sensitively and thoughtfully as you would expect, always writing in a straightforward and accessible way for children. " - BookTrust, the UK 's largest reading charity

A personal, powerful and resonant account of the Holocaust by one of this country's best-loved children's authors. By turns charming, shocking and heart-breaking, this is the true story of Michael Rosen's search for his relatives who "went missing" during the Second World War - told through prose, poetry, maps and pictures.

When Michael was growing up, stories often hung in the air about his great-uncles: one was a clock-mender and the other a dentist. They were there before the war , his dad would say, and weren't after .

Over many years, Michael tried to find out exactly what happened: he interviewed family members, scoured the internet, pored over books and traveled to America and France. The story he uncovered was one of terrible persecution - and it has inspired his poetry for years since.

Here, poems old and new are balanced against an immensely readable narrative; both an extraordinary account and a powerful tool for talking to children about the Holocaust.

Supported and checked by the UCL Centre for Holocaust Education.

"F ascinating, chilling and poignantly personal " - Financial Times

" The Missing may ostensibly concern the Holocaust but, as Rosen makes clear, this is a book about facing down prejudice, defying those who would sow the seeds of hatred and opening our arms to those in need. " - Independent

The Missing: The True Story of My Family in World War II Reviews | Toppsta

9781406386752

Share on

Featured Book
Book pages The Wizards of Once: Knock Three Times: Book 3
The Wizards of Once: Knock Three Times: Book 3

BOOK OF THE MONTH: Book three in the bestselling series from current Children's Laureate and author of How To Train Your Dragon, Cressida Cowell.

View book
Featured Book
Book pages The Strangeworlds Travel Agency
The Strangeworlds Travel Agency

Pack your suitcase for a magical adventure! Perfect for fans of The Train to Impossible Places and The Polar Bear Explorers' Club.

View book

Additional Resources

Videos

If you would like to provide a video review please sign up to our video panel.

Sign up to our newsletter for...

Free Book Giveaways, Recommendations & more

Show More (0)
ajax loader

REVIEWER'S AGE

             
Age 7 8 9 10 11 12
Featured Book
Book pages The Wizards of Once: Knock Three Times: Book 3
The Wizards of Once: Knock Three Times: Book 3

BOOK OF THE MONTH: Book three in the bestselling series from current Children's Laureate and author of How To Train Your Dragon, Cressida Cowell.

View book
Featured Book
Book pages The Strangeworlds Travel Agency
The Strangeworlds Travel Agency

Pack your suitcase for a magical adventure! Perfect for fans of The Train to Impossible Places and The Polar Bear Explorers' Club.

View book

About Michael Rosen

Born in Harrow in 1946, Michael Rosen is a brilliant and energetic author and poet. He has written 140 books on a wide variety of subjects, from Shakespeare to fellow author Roald Dahl but is probably best known for his fabulous and quirky poems.

At seventeen he decided he would like to be a doctor

More about Michael Rosen

Ratings

  • (7 Reviews)
  • (3 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)