Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

Katy

by

Katy Reviews | Toppsta

Book Rating: 5 based on 19
19 Reviews
Write a Review

Katy's life changes in dramatic and unexpected ways after a serious accident.Inspired by the much-loved classic, What Katy Did, bestselling children's favourite Jacqueline Wilson creates an irresistible modern version for the twenty-first-century. Fans of Hetty Feather and Tracy Beaker will fall in love with Katy and her family too.

Katy Reviews | Toppsta

9780141353968
  • ISBN: 9780141353968
  • Pub Date: 30th July 2015
  • Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
  • Imprint: Puffin
  • Format: Hardback
  • Number of Pages: 480

Share on

Category

See More Family & home stories

Sign up to our newsletter for...

Free Book Giveaways, Recommendations & more

29th August '17
alexia read it themselves aged 10 aged 10
Katy 9780141353968
5 stars
This is a brilliant book and i would deffinetly recommend!
13th October '18
DaughterKitty read it themselves aged 7 aged 7
Katy 9780141353968
5 stars
This book was just so great, I love it!Katy is more for 6-10 year olds than 2-5. It’s about a cheeky girl called Katy Carr. I would love to be friends with her.lt’s a really exciting book and the end was such a surprise.
20th September '16
Nancybellbookworm read it themselves aged 9 aged 9
Katy 9780141353968
5 stars
It was good!!! That's all I can say really?
7th May '18
I read it myself (an adult) & to Sindy aged 10 aged 10
Katy 9780141353968
5 stars
I absolutely adored Four Children and It so when Wilson announced ANOTHER book inspired by classics I was over the moon. Katy is a modern version of the classic What Katy Did, mirroring the beginning but with an more realistic ending. I was reluctant to continue with this in the beginning (hence the four stars) but it picked up and got more interesting. Izzie was one of my favourite characters, growing a closer bond with Katy. Katy herself was very realistic, resolving to be strong yet still upset about the accident. I liked how JW showed how friendship and family can change - good and bad. Really made me think about the main dilemma in this book and was intriguing to read about a new perspective and experience.
21st December '16
SassyJ read it themselves aged 11 aged 11
Katy 9780141353968
5 stars
This book is honestly great and left me so emotional. Katy is a young girl full of spunk personality and courage. She considers herself extremely independent and strives to car care of the littlies, her younger siblings. She has a best friend called Cecy who she is extremely close to however she constantly misses her dear mother. This puts her relationship with her stepmother in a strenuous position. She cannot dare to like her as she feels this is betraying her late mother. After her accident Katy struggles to find herself and get back to normal life. Her peers now see her differently. Even Cecy. You should definitely read this before book because a little hope can go a long way. 
26th January '19
Lollypop read it themselves aged 9 aged 9
Katy 9780141353968
5 stars
I really like it!!!
1st December '15
Read to a child aged 8
Katy 9780141353968
5 stars
This story is very emotional. When I was 4 I was taken ill, I ended up paralyzed and had to learn to walk etc again. I am still left with some paralysis and sometimes feel excluded from certain activities. This book has given me the confidence to be me and understand that you can still be anything you want to be, it does not matter if you have a disability. I enjoyed this book from front cover to back and it really made me giggle out loud in places. Can't wait to read another Jacqueline Wilson book.
10th August '15
Elliemai read it themselves aged 8 aged 8
Katy 9780141353968
5 stars
This book is about a tall girl called Katy Carr. In the book she has an accident on a swing, not a proper swing like we go on, just a long rope attached to a tree but she did not tie it properly and it snaps, she moves a nerve in her back and can never walk again. I really enjoyed this book
15th March '18
KeaniH read it themselves aged 10 aged 10
Katy 9780141353968
5 stars
This book is really great! The bit where Katy and her sisters and brothers make cakes makes me fell very hungry! I am a bit like Dorry because I love food as much as he does! Imogen is my least favourite character because she turns her nose up at the tea when Katy invites her round to her house. It is very sad when Katy has a fall and has to have a wheelchair. She meets this boy called Dexter which is a coincidence because my brother is called Dexter! This book is well written so I rate it 5 stars! 
22nd February '19
AvaA read it themselves aged 11 aged 11
Katy 9780141353968
5 stars
This author never lets me down. I've read lots of her books and loved every one so far. It's about a girl called Katy who is eleven, the adventures she goes on, the chances she takes and how she copes with her new life in a wheelchair.
27th January '19
hpbooklover read it themselves aged 11 aged 11
Katy 9780141353968
5 stars
I read this book and found it so good but also so emotional. 
when Katy's accident turns her life upside down, its hard to find her place in the world again.
can she still fly if she can't even walk?
I loved this book so much and recommend it to readers aged 9 years old and over. I really hope that this review helped you choose a book to read!
25th June '18
I read it to Gymnastjay aged 5 aged 5
Katy 9780141353968
5 stars
My five year old son is thoroughly enjoying this book. About a girl who gets injured and has to learn how to face new challenges. Engaging and not frightening for young readers
19th October '17
Elliep123 read it themselves aged 10 aged 10
Katy 9780141353968
5 stars
Amazing book one of my favourite but it was really sad from time to time 
17th January '18
Elliep123 read it themselves aged 10 aged 10
Katy 9780141353968
5 stars
I really enjoyed reading this book, the story is quite sad though 
2nd August '18
I read it myself (an adult)
Katy 9780141353968
5 stars
Katy is the eldest of her siblings as she lives with her dad and step mum Izzie and the assortment of children they already had and had together from Katy, Elsie, Clover, Phil, Dorry, Jonnie and Cecy, her best friend too who's practically like another sister.

Usually the one to make up games and entertain her siblings, she often winds up in trouble somehow. But all the girls and boys are on their best behaviour when their dad's favourite ex patient comes to visit, Helen has rheumatoid arthritis and is in a wheelchair but hasn't let it hold her back as she's a highly successful academic becoming a doctor herself!

After Katy isn't allowed to have her skateboard back but goes behind her step mum's back to go out anyway, she tries to concoct a swing from a tree beach with a single piece of tied rope.

However, Katie asked to a changed life after her worried neighbour finds her and she gets whisked away to hospital where she remains for weeks of her school holiday. Once a life loving eleven year old looking forward to the summer holiday before secondary school starts, she hates the idea her life will now be wheelchair bound and limited.

Over the course of being in hospital, she has a kind nurse Jasmine, while she makes friends eventually with a boy called Dexter whom is a bit goth/emo/alternative and lives to draw graphic comic strips featuring baddies and the from reaper. They both relate as similar things have happened to them only as Dexter gets dumped by his girlfriend and Katy hates that her family get to go on holiday without her, or her dad as he's a doctor and choses to stay to see Katy, the pair keep up visiting and cheering each other up.

We then see Katy struggle adapting the life at home and school with Cecy as she faces life in a wheelchair and all it brings while she discovers it doesn't change her true character as she fits back in with her family and friends.

The book features many life changing moments for Katy from starting back at school and needing them to make changes to accommodate her as she has had to make for her life. The topic of everyday girl typical worries about weight come up as Katy wishes to just be able to take part normally in sport like the other students as well as the Paralympic games even being featured to inspire her. It puts day to day worries into perspective as Katy realises her life is changed forever and captures a true look at disability in children/teens and how it affects them.
20th August '18
bookworm2007 read it themselves aged 10 aged 10
Katy 9780141353968
3 stars
I liked this book because it really touched my heart. I nearly cried when Katy who is the main character went into to hospital if you want to find out what life changing things happends to Katy you should get this book.
Show More (0)

About Jacqueline Wilson

Jacqueline Wilson Biography

Jacqueline Wilson is a much loved and hugely successful English children’s book author. She was born in Bath in 1945 but grew up in Kingston Upon Thames, not far from London.

Her writing often deals with difficult but essential topics such as divorce, bullying and mental illness and her fans say they really feel she u...

More about Jacqueline Wilson

Ratings

    10 stars
  • (18 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (1 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)