Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

Against All Gods

by

Against All Gods Reviews | Toppsta

Book Rating: 5 based on 3
3 Reviews
Write a Review

The fourth and final book in the hilarious bestselling WHO
LET THE GODS OUT series; perfect for fans of David Solomons!

'I
totally fell in love with Elliot and the gods, and I
think you're all
going to love them too.' ROBIN STEVENS on book 1

'One of the funniest new voices in children's literature.
The laughs come thick and fast' DAVID SOLOMONS on book 1

In
the series finale of Maz Evans' bestselling Who Let
the Gods Out? series, Elliot faces his darkest period yet. As
well as facing up to his fears, he realises that the future of mankind
- and the survival of everything he holds dear - is at stake.
But can a bunch of misfit gods, a lost constellation and a mortal
boy stand up to the daemon hordes?

Against All Gods Reviews | Toppsta

9781911077008

Share on

Series

This is Book 4 in the Who Let the Gods out? Series. See all Who Let the Gods out? books here.

Sign up to our newsletter for...

Free Book Giveaways, Recommendations & more

27th February '19
GSA Library read it themselves aged 11 to 18
Against All Gods 9781911077008
5 stars
The last adventure with Elliot, Virgo and the God Squad is a fitting finale to the series. Never shying away from pulling the emotional punches when it needs to (I cried, a lot), you'll also be spending a lot of time laughing, and cheering the characters on in their adventures.
We have loved every single one of the Who let the Gods out series and can't wait to see what author Maz(tastic) Evans has in store for us next.
15th March '19
I read it myself (an adult)
Against All Gods 9781911077008
5 stars
And so the time has come to say goodbye to Elliot, Virgo and the crazy collection of Gods, Daemons and other entities that have made this series of books such a must-read for so many people. Throwing us straight back in where 'Beyond the Odyssey' left off, this book is an emotional roller-coaster and one that you aren't sure if you want to get off and have a break, or just ride on through to the end. You will laugh and you will probably cry (several times) as Elliot and the gang struggle with all the situations thrown at them by the truly wonderful (and mad as a hatter!) Maz Evans. Wonderful story-telling that makes you want to turn the pages and heart-wrenching choices that make you want to give the characters a hug and tell them it will be alright. Reading this aloud to children will be an absolute joy, as I just know that Ares (the God of War) will require my very best Sean Connery! This is one of the best series of books I have read in a long time and I can not wait to see what Maz comes up with next.
23rd February '19
I read it myself (an adult)
Against All Gods 9781911077008
5 stars
The final book in the series is ,fittingly , an absolutely epic journey of emotion from start to finish. The reader is plunged immediately right back into the heart of the action and into the pain of Ellliot's ultimate dilemma - to hand all power to the Daemon of Death in exchange for the return of his mother or remain in charge of the Chaos stones but continue to be heartbroken. 
Against All Gods takes the reader on another breathless ride from the depths of the Underworld to the heights of Mount Olympus as mortals, Gods, Daemons( and everything in between) banter and battle it out .
It's an absolute joy to read and full of laugh out loud moments: hilarious,inventive scenes ( the battle at Stonehenge is brilliantly done)and some mischievously created characters . Who knew that Ares, the God of War, would sound suspiciously like Sean Connery! 
There are also some absolutely heart wrenching,heart breaking moments. Maz,again,outdoes herself in writing these scenes with her trademark tenderness,empathy and warmth.She lets the reader see and feel the pain of Elliot's predicament but also writes of the strength and beauty of our capability to love others so much. 
Ultimately, for me it was a bitter sweet read . Glorious,emotional ending but it's still sad to say goodbye to such an endearing and entertaining bunch of characters . Will just have to re read them all now I think!
Show More (0)

Ratings

    5 stars
  • (3 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)