Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

Wonder

by

Wonder Reviews | Toppsta

Book Rating: 5 based on 131
131 Reviews
Write a Review

Now an Oscar nominated film starring Julia Roberts, Owen Wilson and Jacob Tremblay. 'My name is August. I won't describe what I look like. Whatever you're thinking, it's probably worse.'

Auggie wants to be an ordinary ten-year-old. He does ordinary things - eating ice cream, playing on his Xbox. He feels ordinary - inside. But ordinary kids don't make other ordinary kids run away screaming in playgrounds. Ordinary kids aren't stared at wherever they go. Born with a terrible facial abnormality, Auggie has been home-schooled by his parents his whole life. Now, for the first time, he's being sent to a real school - and he's dreading it. All he wants is to be accepted - but can he convince his new classmates that he's just like them, underneath it all? WONDER is a funny, frank, astonishingly moving debut to read in one sitting, pass on to others, and remember long after the final page.

Wonder Reviews | Toppsta

9780552565974

Share on

Featured Book
Book pages Dragon Mountain
Dragon Mountain

BOOK OF THE MONTH: The first adventure in the ROAR some DRAGON REALM series for 9+ readers! Perfect for fans of PERCY JACKSON and BEAST QUEST!

View book
Featured Book
Book pages Football School Epic Heroes: 50 true tales that shook the world
Football School Epic Heroes: 50 true tales that shook the world

Celebrate the greatest names and teams in football history with this collection of 50 true stories in this popular football series.

View book

Additional Resources

Videos

If you would like to provide a video review please sign up to our video panel.

youtube video play button

First Line

"I know I'm not an ordinary ten-year-old kid. I mean, sure, I do ordinary things. I eat ice cream. I ride my bike. I have an XBox. Stuff like that makes me ordinary. I guess. And I feel ordinary. Inside. But I know ordinary kids don't make other ordinary kids run away screaming in playgrounds. I know ordinary kids don' get stared at wherever they go."

Toppsta Comment

Now an Oscar nominated film starring Julia Roberts, Owen Wilson and Jacob Tremblay.

Sign up to our newsletter for...

Free Book Giveaways, Recommendations & more

Quotes

  • It’s not enough to be friendly. You have to be a friend.
  • When given the choice between being right or being kind, choose kind.
  • Kinder than is necessary. Because it's not enough to be kind. One should be kinder than needed.
Show More (0)
ajax loader

REVIEWER'S AGE

             
Age 9 10 11 12 13 14
Featured Book
Book pages Dragon Mountain
Dragon Mountain

BOOK OF THE MONTH: The first adventure in the ROAR some DRAGON REALM series for 9+ readers! Perfect for fans of PERCY JACKSON and BEAST QUEST!

View book
Featured Book
Book pages Football School Epic Heroes: 50 true tales that shook the world
Football School Epic Heroes: 50 true tales that shook the world

Celebrate the greatest names and teams in football history with this collection of 50 true stories in this popular football series.

View book

About R J Palacio

R. J. Palacio was born and raised in New York City. She attended the High School of Art and Design and the Parsons School of Design, where she majored in illustration. She was a graphic designer and an art director for many years before writing her critically acclaimed debut novel, Wonder , which has been on the New York Times bestseller list

More about R J Palacio

Ratings

  • (119 Reviews)
  • (10 Reviews)
  • (1 Reviews)
  • (1 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)