Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

View all Blogs
Featured Book
Circus Maximus: Race to the Death
Circus Maximus: Race to the Death

BOOK OF THE MONTH: A gripping adventure for ages 9+, set in the ancient Roman world by up and coming debut author, Annelise Gray.

View book
Featured Books

Best books by age

Back to School Books

Back to school with illustration of coloured pencils

I'm sure we all have lots of mixed emotions about the kids going back to school this year. 

Whether your children are clamouring at the gates to get back or feeling anxious about returning, it is bound to be a big adjustment. But 'Back to School' doesn't have to be terror-inducing. 

Why not start preparing your children early with some brilliant books that will make them look forward to - rather than dread - the Big Day? 

We've picked our Top Back to School Books for you.

Toppsta
2020-08-31
Back to School Books
Book pages Placeholder Book

My School Unicorn

Starting school is an adventure - especially when you have a magical unicorn friend by your side!

It's almost time for Evie to go to school, but thinking about it makes her feel all wobbly and anxious. Nursery is lots of fun, but big school sounds a little bit scary.

But when Evie puts on her new school uniform, she makes a magical discovery. Hidden inside the pocket of her jumper is Bobby, a tiny school unicorn! Bobby has a very important job - helping children feel brave when they go to school. With her new magical friend by her side, Evie soon learns that starting school is LOTS of fun!

A magical tale of friendship to soothe your little one's starting-school worries. Includes instructions on how to make your very own school unicorn!

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

The Mega Magic Teacher Swap

In the follow-up to Rochelle Humes' bestselling debut, The Mega Magic Hair Swap, Mai discovers that although change might feel scary it can be a good thing. A heart-felt picture book about starting a new year at school which will resonate with young audiences and their parents alike. When best friends Mai and Rose return to school for a new year, they don't want to leave Mrs Bee, the best teacher ever! With a wish and a some help from My Little Coco, Mai and Rose find themselves back in Mrs Bee's class. They quickly discover that it's less fun without their friends, and they've already learnt these subjects before! When they meet their new teacher, Ms Daly, they quickly find out that change can be a good thing - and they even make a new friend!

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

I Have to Start at School Today

A riotously funny, but ultimately reassuring look at one child's far-fetched imaginings about starting school, from the writer of award-winning You Must Bring a Hat and Be More Bernard .

I have to start at school today.
"You'll have such fun!" my parents say.
I know they think I'll be okay,
But what if things don't go my way?


Starting at a new school is BIG deal at the best of times, so what if you also had to deal with a cross rhinoceros, a selfish bear taking up your chair and a weird baboon with a loud bassoon? Luckily, Grandma is on hand to reassure that there's no need for fright because what if it just all goes...right?

Simon Philip's spirited rhyme is perfectly paired with bright, bold, fabulously expressive illustrations from Ged Adamson, creator of Shark Dog .

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

My Headteacher Is an Evil Genius: And Nobody Knows but Me...

Highly illustrated school-based comedy adventure for middle-grade readers from an exciting new voice.

Meet Tom Ginger. She's shy! she's retiring! She's ... our only hope!
Not exactly the stuff that heroes are made of - or is it?


Shy girl Tom Ginger is the world's most unlikeliest hero - until she discovers that her new braces have the power to act as radio transmitters, allowing her to tune into the conversations of her new super-evil head teacher. Suddenly it's up to Tom to save the school from Miss Fortune's dastardly plans. Can she do it? Read the book to find out!

Perfect for fans of Sam Copeland's Charlie Changes into a Chicken and Danny Wallace's Hamish series.

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

Dare to Be You: Defy Self-Doubt, Fearlessly Follow Your Own Path and Be Confidently You!

From the bestselling, award-winning author of You Are Awesome comes the much-anticipated follow-up, Dare to Be You .

What would you dare to try if you stopped worrying about fitting in?

If you're the kind of person who thinks: I don't like standing out from the crowd ... I wish I could be more like the cool kids ... There's no point trying to change things ... then this book is for you.

Because guess what? There's no such thing as normal.

Drawing examples from sport, science and even business, Dare to Be You empowers young readers to follow their own path, love what makes them different and question the world around them. With You Are Awesome 's trademark mix of hilarious text, stylish illustration, personal insights and inspiring real-life examples, including Greta Thunberg and Malala Yousafzai, Matthew Syed introduces children to the power of diverse thinking.

When you stop doubting yourself, embrace change and let your kindness loose, you become your own action hero. This groundbreaking, practical and positive book will help kids develop the inner confidence to grow into happy adults who know - and, more importantly, LIKE - themselves.

Praise for You Are Awesome , children's book of the year 2019 and Sunday Times no. 1 bestseller:

"A very funny and inspiring read! Brilliantly practical with a wide variety of examples that make it relevant for both boys and girls (and adults)!" - Online customer review

"Genuinely funny and engaging ... It's a must read." - Online customer review

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

Question Everything!

CRITICAL LITERACY SKILLS FOR ALL! We live in an information jungle! Join us to find your way through it with essential critical literacy skills. From spotting fake news to solving mysteries and investigating disasters, you will be able to THINK FOR YOURSELF and QUESTION EVERYTHING!

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

Max Einstein: Rebels with a Cause

James Patterson has teamed up with the world's most famous genius to entertain and inspire a generation of children - with the first and only children's adventure series officially approved by the Albert Einstein archives.

Max Einstein's typical day is not your average 12-year-old's. She...

- TEACHES classes at a New York college
- Dodges KIDNAPPING attempts with her best friends
- Goes on SECRET MISSIONS for her billionaire boss
- Has a MYSTERIOUS CONNECTION to Albert Einstein

Just a day in the life of the Change Makers Institute's top agent!

A village outside Mumbai is having a water crisis that only a group of kid geniuses can fix - so Max and her friends travel to India. But it's hard to save the world when you're trying not to be kidnapped by a greedy corporation that profits when others suffer - and seems to know your every move. It's almost like the bad guys have a spy inside the Change Makers...

View Book COMPARE PRICES

Picture Books About School

Toppsta
2020-08-31
Back to School Books

Picture Books about Starting School

Toppsta
2020-08-31
Back to School Books

Getting ready for school

Toppsta
2020-08-31
Back to School Books

First School skills

Toppsta
2020-08-31
Back to School Books

Starting Nursery and Playgroup

Toppsta
2020-08-31
Back to School Books

Non-Fiction & Reference 6 to 8

Toppsta
2020-08-31
Back to School Books

Fiction set in a school 6 to 8

Toppsta
2020-08-31
Back to School Books

Fiction set in a School 9+

Toppsta
2020-08-31
Back to School Books

STARTING SECONDARY SCHOOL

Toppsta
2020-08-31
Back to School Books

31st August 2020

Share this read with others...

Tweet Email
Featured Book
Circus Maximus: Race to the Death
Circus Maximus: Race to the Death

BOOK OF THE MONTH: A gripping adventure for ages 9+, set in the ancient Roman world by up and coming debut author, Annelise Gray.

View book
Featured Books