Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

Tom McLaughlin

  • 5 stars across 28 books
    Tom McLaughlin Biography
    Having started life as a political cartoonist and then an animator, Tom McLaughlin is now best-known for his picture books, including The Diabolical Mr Tiddles, The Story Machine and The Cloudspotter. His first novel, The Accidental Prime Minister was shortlisted for 12 regional UK prizes. Tom's second novel for middle-grade readers, The Accidental Secret Agent, was published in June 2016. 
    4th January 2018

    The Day That Aliens (Nearly) Ate Our Brains

    A laugh-a-minute, action-packed alien adventure perfect for fans of Pamela Butchart and Frank Cottrell Boyce. B... More

    (10 reviews)
    Review
    17th March 2015

    The Accidental Prime Minister

    When Joe tells a local news reporter exactly what he would do if he were leader of the country, the video goes viral and... More

    (9 reviews)
    Review
    5th January 2012

    The Diabolical Mr Tiddles

    Meet Mr Tiddles - he's not your everyday cat. He's a cat with attitude! When Harry gets a cat of his own, he does eve... More

    (4 reviews)
    Review
    15th January 2015

    The Story Machine

    Elliott is a boy who likes to find things and, one day, he stumbles across a machine. At first, he can't work out what t... More

    (4 reviews)
    Review
    9th May 2017

    The Accidental Billionaire

    A new, hilarious book from author Tom McLaughlin, creator of the highly-acclaimed The Accidental Prime Minister. Funny b... More

    (4 reviews)
    Review
    5th April 2018

    Along Came a Different

    Reds love being red. Yellows love being yellow. And Blues love being blue. The problem is that they just don't like each... More

    (4 reviews)
    Review
    11th February 2016

    The Cloudspotter

    His real name was Franklin. But everyone called him The Cloudspotter ... Have you ever looked up at the sky to see a wh... More

    (3 reviews)
    Review
    19th May 2016

    The Accidental Secret Agent

    Schoolboy turns secret agent in this hilarious spy spoof! Before you read this, I want you to carefully check that no-on... More

    (3 reviews)
    Review
    16th January 2020

    Attack of the Smart Speakers

    There's a new craze in town for smart speakers and everyone has got one. At first they seem super helpful, but Tyler and... More

    (2 reviews)
    Review
    2nd April 2015

    Up Up and Away

    Gorgeous new concept board book by Frann Preston-Gannon featuring animals up above us! * Author's The Journey Home has b... More

    (1 review)
    Review
    Image to show page is loading Show More Books

    New Book

    Coming Soon

    Queen of King Street Queen of King Street

    Queen of King Street

    Paperback
    15th June 2020

    Recent Reviews

    • The Accidental Billionaire

      The Accidental Billionaire

      I'm always on the lookout for funny books and this is a fantastic one. There are lots of giggles along the way as Jasper's accidental invention change...

    • The Accidental President

      The Accidental President

      by TMatt79

      This book is about a boy called Ajay who becomes the president of the USA. He starts a feud with his opposition, Hank and the book tells the story of...

    • The Accidental Billionaire

      The Accidental Billionaire

      by TMatt79

      This is a good book. I read it after enjoying ‘The Accidental Prime Minister’.
      It is about a boy called Jasper who invents the Cat-Chat 2000. It mean...

    Series by
    Tom McLaughlin