Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

Tom McLaughlin

  • 4 stars across 30 books
    Tom McLaughlin Biography
    Having started life as a political cartoonist and then an animator, Tom McLaughlin is now best-known for his picture books, including The Diabolical Mr Tiddles, The Story Machine and The Cloudspotter. His first novel, The Accidental Prime Minister was shortlisted for 12 regional UK prizes. Tom's second novel for middle-grade readers, The Accidental Secret Agent, was published in June 2016. 

    Additional Resources

    2nd April 2015

    The Accidental Prime Minister

    When Joe tells a local news reporter exactly what he would do if he were leader of the country, the video goes viral and... More

    (15 reviews)
    Review
    6th July 2017

    The Accidental Billionaire

    A new, hilarious book from author Tom McLaughlin, creator of the highly-acclaimed The Accidental Prime Minister. Funny b... More

    (11 reviews)
    Review
    4th January 2018

    The Day That Aliens (Nearly) Ate Our Brains

    A laugh-a-minute, action-packed alien adventure perfect for fans of Pamela Butchart and Frank Cottrell Boyce. B... More

    (10 reviews)
    Review
    2nd June 2016

    The Accidental Secret Agent

    Schoolboy turns secret agent in this hilarious spy spoof! Before you read this, I want you to carefully check that no-on... More

    (7 reviews)
    Review
    5th January 2012

    The Diabolical Mr Tiddles

    Meet Mr Tiddles - he's not your everyday cat. He's a cat with attitude! When Harry gets a cat of his own, he does eve... More

    (5 reviews)
    Review
    5th July 2018

    The Accidental President

    On a visit to the US things take a strange turn for 12-year-old Ajay when, completely at random and totally by accident,... More

    (5 reviews)
    Review
    5th April 2018

    Along Came a Different

    Reds love being red. Yellows love being yellow. And Blues love being blue. The problem is that they just don't like each... More

    (5 reviews)
    Review
    11th February 2016

    The Cloudspotter

    His real name was Franklin. But everyone called him The Cloudspotter ... Have you ever looked up at the sky to see a wh... More

    (4 reviews)
    Review
    15th January 2015

    The Story Machine

    Elliott is a boy who likes to find things and, one day, he stumbles across a machine. At first, he can't work out what t... More

    (4 reviews)
    Review
    4th July 2019

    The Accidental Rock Star

    It should never have happened, but somehow-with the aid of a recorder, keyboard, and very disturbed cat-Hector and Ollie... More

    (3 reviews)
    Review
    Image to show page is loading Show More Books

    Most Popular Book

    Coming Soon

    Goodfellows Goodfellows

    Goodfellows

    Paperback
    5th August 2021

    Recent Reviews

    • The Accidental Billionaire

      The Accidental Billionaire

      by KyranWu

      In his own words ~ Kyran said this book is very very good and extremely funny! Every page is guaranteed to give you a laugh!...

    • The Accidental Prime Minister

      The Accidental Prime Minister

      by KyranWu

      Kyran found this book very funny! It is about a boy named Joe who shouts at the unpopular Prime Minister who then signs the job over to Joe!! Kyran al...

    • The Accidental Rock Star

      The Accidental Rock Star

      by KyranWu

      Kyran thought was really funny! He thought it was hilarious when Hector ate a lot of sugary snacks and still wanted more and ended up having a wild su...