Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

Tom McLaughlin

  • 5 stars across 26 books
    Tom McLaughlin Biography
    Having started life as a political cartoonist and then an animator, Tom McLaughlin is now best-known for his picture books, including The Diabolical Mr Tiddles, The Story Machine and The Cloudspotter. His first novel, The Accidental Prime Minister was shortlisted for 12 regional UK prizes. Tom's second novel for middle-grade readers, The Accidental Secret Agent, was published in June 2016. 
    4th January 2018

    The Day That Aliens (Nearly) Ate Our Brains

    A laugh-a-minute, action-packed alien adventure perfect for fans of Pamela Butchart and Frank Cottrell Boyce. B... More

    (10 reviews)
    Review
    17th March 2015

    The Accidental Prime Minister

    When Joe tells a local news reporter exactly what he would do if he were leader of the country, the video goes viral and... More

    (7 reviews)
    Review
    5th January 2012

    The Diabolical Mr Tiddles

    Meet Mr Tiddles - he's not your everyday cat. He's a cat with attitude! When Harry gets a cat of his own, he does eve... More

    (4 reviews)
    Review
    15th January 2015

    The Story Machine

    Elliott is a boy who likes to find things and, one day, he stumbles across a machine. At first, he can't work out what t... More

    (4 reviews)
    Review
    5th April 2018

    Along Came a Different

    Reds love being red. Yellows love being yellow. And Blues love being blue. The problem is that they just don't like each... More

    (4 reviews)
    Review
    11th February 2016

    The Cloudspotter

    His real name was Franklin. But everyone called him The Cloudspotter ... Have you ever looked up at the sky to see a wh... More

    (3 reviews)
    Review
    19th May 2016

    The Accidental Secret Agent

    Schoolboy turns secret agent in this hilarious spy spoof! Before you read this, I want you to carefully check that no-on... More

    (3 reviews)
    Review
    9th May 2017

    The Accidental Billionaire

    A new, hilarious book from author Tom McLaughlin, creator of the highly-acclaimed The Accidental Prime Minister. Funny b... More

    (2 reviews)
    Review
    17th May 2018

    Happyville High: Geek Tragedy

    Happyville High may seem like the perfect school, but scratch beneath the surface and there's something really weird goi... More

    (1 review)
    Review
    2nd April 2015

    Up Up and Away

    Gorgeous new concept board book by Frann Preston-Gannon featuring animals up above us! * Author's The Journey Home has b... More

    (1 review)
    Review
    Image to show page is loading Show More Books

    New Book

    Recent Reviews

    • The Diabolical Mr Tiddles

      The Diabolical Mr Tiddles

      This is about a little boy who always wanted a pet and finding gets a cat. Mr. Tiddles is very keen to keep his boy happy and so keeps getting him pre...

    • Along Came a Different

      Along Came a Different

      Lovely book that introduces diversity and acceptance to the very young reader. The bright colours and shapes are engaging too. ...

    • The Accidental Rock Star

      The Accidental Rock Star

      by Westy10

      I really enjoyed this crazy book , jammed with laughs! McLaughlin has a winning formula with side-splitting comedy , radical story lines and memorable...

    Series by
    Tom McLaughlin