Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

Benji Davies

  • 5 stars across 13 books
    Benji Davies Biography
    Benji Davies is an illustrator, author and animation director best known for illustrating the Bizzy Bear series of books. The first picture book he wrote was The Storm Whale which won the Oscar’s Book Prize and was Dutch Picture Book Of The Year 2017. His second, Grandad’s Island, won the children’s book category of the AOI World Illustration Awards 2015 and was crowned Best Picture Book and overall Children’s Book of the Year at the Sainsbury’s Children’s Book Awards 2015.

    He has always loved drawing, and seeing his work in print is a childhood ambition fulfilled. Benji studied animation at university, and has since worked on a range of projects from picture books and animated short films to music videos, commercials and title sequences. His books have been translated into many languages and sold around the world.

    He lives in east London with his wife and daughter.

    Our favourite Benji Davies Book Characters
    Jack - from the Giant of Jum
    Noi - from The Storm Whale
    Bizzy - from the Bizzy Bear series
    22nd September 2016

    The Storm Whale in Winter

    A follow-up to the best-selling The Storm Whale , winner of the 2014 inaugural Oscar's First Book Prize in asso... More

    (23 reviews)
    Review
    15th August 2013

    The Storm Whale

    The stunning bestseller by Benji Davies. Noi and his father live in a house by the sea , his father wo... More

    (19 reviews)
    Review
    9th January 2020

    Tad

    Sometimes the biggest stories come from the smallest beginnings... Meet Tad.... More

    (18 reviews)
    Review
    1st July 2015

    Grandad's Island

    After the phenomenal success of The Storm Whale and On Sudden Hill , this new book by Benji Davies deals with t... More

    (16 reviews)
    Review
    18th October 2018

    Grandma Bird

    A tender and heart-warming new story from the world of The Storm Whale . Noi isn't at all sure about staying at Gra... More

    (15 reviews)
    Review
    7th September 2017

    The Grotlyn

    A stunningly illustrated picture book full of mystery and suspense, from the bestselling author of THE STORM WHALE and... More

    (13 reviews)
    Review
    4th October 2018

    The Storm Whale Book and Soft Toy

    This stunning set is the perfect gift for fans of Benji Davies and The Storm Whale , featuring a hardback edition o... More

    (1 review)
    Review
    30th April 2004

    On the Moon

    Combining full-colour illustrations with NASA photographs from the surface of the moon, this illustrated picture book ta... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    21st July 2011

    Bizzy Bear: Let's Get to Work!

    Introducing Bizzy Bear, the busiest bear on the block! With chunky sliders to push and pull, these robust little board b... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    5th October 2017

    Storm Whale Book and Puzzle

    A stunning set featuring the bestselling, award-winning The Storm Whale by Benji Davies, and a beautiful 6-block p... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    Image to show page is loading Show More Books

    New Book

    Most Popular Book

    Coming Soon

    The Snowflake The Snowflake

    The Snowflake

    Hardback
    15th October 2020

    Recent Reviews

    • Grandma Bird

      Grandma Bird

      On the one hand- this book has lovely illustrations, and a sweet story at its heart, about the relationship between a boy and his grandma. There isn't...

    • Tad

      Tad

      We loved how the little tadpole (tad!) Faced her biggest fears and navigated the pond life! My son loved the illustrations, as did I. It lovingly desc...

    • The Storm Whale Book and Soft Toy

      The Storm Whale Book and Soft Toy

      by stanray

      My son was soooooo delighted with this gift, he takes the storm whale to bed with him every night and we read the story over and over. It is such a be...

    Series by
    Benji Davies