Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

Benji Davies

  • 5 stars across 13 books
    Benji Davies Biography
    Benji Davies is an illustrator, author and animation director best known for illustrating the Bizzy Bear series of books. The first picture book he wrote was The Storm Whale which won the Oscar’s Book Prize and was Dutch Picture Book Of The Year 2017. His second, Grandad’s Island, won the children’s book category of the AOI World Illustration Awards 2015 and was crowned Best Picture Book and overall Children’s Book of the Year at the Sainsbury’s Children’s Book Awards 2015.

    He has always loved drawing, and seeing his work in print is a childhood ambition fulfilled. Benji studied animation at university, and has since worked on a range of projects from picture books and animated short films to music videos, commercials and title sequences. His books have been translated into many languages and sold around the world.

    He lives in east London with his wife and daughter.

    Our favourite Benji Davies Book Characters
    Jack - from the Giant of Jum
    Noi - from The Storm Whale
    Bizzy - from the Bizzy Bear series
    22nd September 2016

    The Storm Whale in Winter

    A follow-up to the best-selling The Storm Whale , winner of the 2014 inaugural Oscar's First Book Prize in asso... More

    (20 reviews)
    Review
    15th August 2013

    The Storm Whale

    The stunning bestseller by Benji Davies, now in a cased board format! Noi and his father live in a house ... More

    (12 reviews)
    Review
    1st July 2015

    Grandad's Island

    After the phenomenal success of The Storm Whale and On Sudden Hill , this new book by Benji Davies deals with t... More

    (10 reviews)
    Review
    7th September 2017

    The Grotlyn

    A stunningly illustrated picture book full of mystery and suspense, from the bestselling author of THE STORM WHALE and... More

    (8 reviews)
    Review
    18th October 2018

    Grandma Bird

    A tender and heart-warming new story from the world of The Storm Whale . Noi isn't at all sure about staying at Gra... More

    (8 reviews)
    Review
    30th April 2004

    On the Moon

    Combining full-colour illustrations with NASA photographs from the surface of the moon, this illustrated picture book ta... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    21st July 2011

    Bizzy Bear: Let's Get to Work!

    Introducing Bizzy Bear, the busiest bear on the block! With chunky sliders to push and pull, these robust little board b... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    5th October 2017

    Storm Whale Book and Puzzle

    A stunning set featuring the bestselling, award-winning The Storm Whale by Benji Davies, and a beautiful 6-block p... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    12th October 2017

    Morfil y Storm

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    7th March 2019

    Tad

    Sometimes the biggest stories come from the smallest beginnings... Meet Tad. She's the sma... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    1st March 2019

    Tad

    Sometimes the biggest stories come from the smallest beginnings... Meet Tad. She's the sma... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    4th October 2018

    The Storm Whale Book and Soft Toy

    This stunning set is the perfect gift for fans of Benji Davies and The Storm Whale , featuring a hardback edition o... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    View all Books

    New Book

    Most Popular Book

    Coming Soon

    Tad Tad

    Tad

    Hardback
    1st March 2019

    Recent Reviews

    • Grandad's Island

      Grandad's Island

      by Laura11

      Discovered this book at school and the children love it. It’s a great story to help with children learning about age and what might happen. It’s such...

    • The Storm Whale

      The Storm Whale

      by LA12

      Leo enjoyed this short story about a little boy and his father that live by the sea. One night, after a storm, the boy makes an unusual new friendship...

    • The Storm Whale in Winter

      The Storm Whale in Winter

      We loved reading the first storm whale book and this was was great too. The story works well as a stand alone story but has a little more meaning if y...