The Bartimaeus Sequence Series

by
(1 review)

If you're looking for a new YA fantasy series about parallel universes and alternate history, inspired by mythology from around the world, stop scrolling! We've got another great series from Jonathan Stroud, the creator behind all Lockwood & Co. books, now a major Netflix series. But danger awaits, you've been warned...

In late 1900s/early 2000s London, teenage magician Nathaniel lives in a parallel universe where demons can be summoned for biddings and are used to obtain power and empire control. That's how the British Empire has overcome the whole of Europe, thanks to its magical oligarchy of elite magicians who are the gatekeepers of all power.

The series follows twelve-year-old Nathaniel as he grows older, working his way up from magician's apprentice to junior magician entering the government ranks, to finally becoming senior magician and a key part of the ruling council.

Throughout each book, Nathaniel will find himself overcoming all sorts of challenges in this magical alternate world, with the help of Bartimaeus, a five-thousand-year-old djinni he has summoned. He will steal a powerful amulet that makes him immune to all magic, defeat enemies and summoned demons, meet invincible golems, research magic and spirits, and even overthrow the British Empire itself. He will make enemies, but also some friends, along the way...

The thrilogy is also complete with a fast-paced and thrilling sequel, The Ring of Solomon, following Bartimaeus' story as he served at the court of King Solomon in 950 BC Jerusalem and must help a girl assassin sent by the Queen of Sheba to steal the all-powerful Ring of Solomon.

This is a fantastic YA series for all lovers of YA Fantasy Books and possibly even Dystopian Novels. Great for fans of Cassandra Clare, The Dragonlance Chronicles and The Inheritance Cycle. And it will draw in any reader who is looking for a mixture of politics, economics, magic and modern-day worlds.

If you'd like to read more from this author, we of course recommend the amazing Lockwood & Co. books, but do also check out his Scarlett and Browne books or The Ghost of Shadow Vale.

All the Bartimaeus Sequence books in order:

Book 1: The Amulet of Samarkand (2003)
Book 2: The Golem's Eye (2004)
Book 3: Ptolemy's Gate (2005)

Prequel: The Ring of Solomon (2010)

Book 1
Book 1

The Amulet of Samarkand

The first volume in the brilliant, bestselling Bartimaeus sequence. When the 5,000-year-old djinni Bartimaeus is summone... MoreThe Amulet of Samarkand

(0 reviews)
Review
Book 1
Book 1

The Amulet of Samarkand Graphic Novel

The first volume in the brilliant, bestselling Bartimaeus sequence, now adapted into a stunning graphic novel format - t... MoreThe Amulet of Samarkand Graphic Novel

(1 review)
Review
Book 2
Book 2

The Golem's Eye

This second volume of the brilliant, bestselling Bartimaeus sequence. Two years have passed since the events of The Amul... MoreThe Golem's Eye

(0 reviews)
Review
Book 3
Book 3

Ptolemy's Gate

The tremendous climax of the Bartimaeus sequence. Three years on from the events in The Golem's Eye, the magicians' rule... MorePtolemy's Gate

(0 reviews)
Review
Book 4
Book 4

The Ring of Solomon

Fans of the Bartimaeus sequence will devour this book – a cracking adventure brimming with magic, intrigue and a treasur... MoreThe Ring of Solomon

(0 reviews)
Review
View all Books

New Book

Most Popular Book

Recent Reviews