Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

His Dark Materials Series

by
  • (58 reviews)

    Philip Pullman’s His Dark Materials trilogy started with the publication of The Northern Lights in 1995. The extraordinary fantasy world captured children’s and adult’s imaginations everywhere, with the books selling millions of copies and winning awards, including the Carnegie Medal in 1995 for The Northern Lights and the 2001 Whitbread Book of the Year for The Amber Spyglass.

    The Northern Lights books have been brought to life on stage and screen several times, most recently for the BBC in 2019. The Dark Materials cast included Dafne Keen as Lyra, Ruth Wilson as Mrs Coulter and James McAvoy as Lord Asriel. There has also been a His Dark Materials play in the West End and a Hollywood film starring Nicole Kidman.

    The story follows the coming of age of two children, Lyra Belacqua and Will Parry, born into different, parallel worlds but with the ability to travel between them. 

    The first book in the trilogy opens in Jordan College, Oxford. Lyra Belacqua, an orphan who lives with the scholars, runs wild through college, getting into scrapes with her daemon Pantalaimon and her best friend Roger. But before too long, Lyra’s Uncle, Lord Asriel, returns and she becomes embroiled in a world of magic, mystery and peril. When her friend Billy Costa becomes the latest in a string of Gyptian children to go missing, Lyra is compelled to investigate, putting herself and Roger into grave danger.

    Lyra’s adventures throughout the trilogy are as exciting as they are fantastic – travelling to the icy North and crossing into unknown worlds, Lyra and Pan make friends with the most unlikely companions, from Lee Scoresby the Texan balloonist to the fearsome queen of the witches, Serafina Pekkala and the disgraced armoured bear Iorek Byrnison.

    Lyra is one of the bravest heroines in literature – prepared to take on the Gobblers (General Oblation Board) who are stealing children, the terrifying Mrs Coulter and ultimately the Magisterium who rule Lyra’s universe. Her journey will have immense consequences, even beyond her own world. 

    We recommend the series for young adult readers, from age 10. You need to read Philip Pullman’s books in order, starting with book 1 The Northern Lights. We also highly recommend the His Dark Materials audiobooks. 

    For fans of His Dark Materials, Pullman’s second series The Book of Dust, tells more of Lyra’s story at different points in her life, as well as some other His Dark Materials characters, although this series is recommended for adults. 

    All the His Dark Materials books in order:

    Book 1: The Northern Lights (1995)
    Book 2: The Subtle Knife (1997)
    Book 3: The Amber Spyglass (known as The Golden Compass in the USA) (2000)
    Novella: Lyra’s Oxford (2003)
    Novella: Once Upon a Time in the North (2008)

    Book 1
    Book 1

    His Dark Materials: Northern Lights

    THE BOOK BEHIND THE BBC SERIES 'HIS DARK MATERIALS' - now with a TV tie-in cover "Without this child, we sh... More

    (28 reviews)
    Review
    Book 2
    Book 2

    The Subtle Knife

    NOW A MAJOR, CRITICALLY ACCLAIMED BBC/HBO TV SERIES"What is he? A friend, or an enemy?" "He is a murderer." ... More

    (15 reviews)
    Review
    Book 3
    Book 3

    The Amber Spyglass

    The third volume in Philip Pullman's incredible HIS DARK MATERIALS trilogy. First published in 2000, and acclaimed... More

    (10 reviews)
    Review

    Lyra's Oxford

    This is a wonderful new episode from the world of Philip Pullman's bestselling trilogy, His Dark Materials. In Lyra's Ox... More

    (2 reviews)
    Review

    Once Upon a Time in the North

    When Lyra is studying at Oxford University, she comes across the story of Lee Scoresby and Iorek Byrnisson's first mee... More

    (2 reviews)
    Review
    Book 9
    Book 9

    The Subtle Knife: award-winning, internationally b estselling, now full-colour illustrated ed

    A stunning full-colour illustrated gift hardback of the second book in Philip Pullman's world-famous and... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    Book 10
    Book 10

    The Subtle Knife: The Graphic Novel

    Enter the remarkable world of His Dark Materials like never before with this stunning, full-colour graphic novel. ... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    Book 11
    Book 11

    The Imagination Chamber

    Master storyteller Philip Pullman returns to the world of Lyra and Will, Mrs Coulter and Lee Scoresby, P... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    Book 12
    Book 12

    His Dark Materials: The Amber Spyglass (Tv tie-in edition)

    THE BOOK BEHIND THE BBC SERIES 'HIS DARK MATERIALS' The third volume in Philip Pullman's groun... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    View all Books
    Featured Book
    The Good Turn
    The Good Turn

    BOOK OF THE MONTH - Our young readers loved this sharp, funny middle grade adventure with themes of real-life activism and how to help others from award winning author Sharna Jackson.

    View book
    Featured Books

    Most Popular Book

    Recent Reviews

    • His Dark Materials: Northern Lights

      His Dark Materials: Northern Lights

      All i can say is this is an amazing start to an amazing series! Personally, my favorite is the Subtle Knife, but all the books are wonderful. If you l...

    • The Subtle Knife

      The Subtle Knife

      For me, this is the best book of His Dark Materials. I love how Lyra and Will finally meet up, with Mrs Coulter and Boreal try to find them in the Cit...

    • The Amber Spyglass

      The Amber Spyglass

      This is an amazing series- just as good as the BBC Iplayer drama! I love how the Spyglass is not found, but made- that was surprising! The Subt...