Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

His Dark Materials Series

by
  • (52 reviews)

    Philip Pullman’s His Dark Materials trilogy started with the publication of The Northern Lights in 1995. The extraordinary fantasy world captured children’s and adult’s imaginations everywhere, with the books selling millions of copies and winning awards, including the Carnegie Medal in 1995 for The Northern Lights and the 2001 Whitbread Book of the Year for The Amber Spyglass.

    The Northern Lights books have been brought to life on stage and screen several times, most recently for the BBC in 2019. The Dark Materials cast included Dafne Keen as Lyra, Ruth Wilson as Mrs Coulter and James McAvoy as Lord Asriel. There has also been a His Dark Materials play in the West End and a Hollywood film starring Nicole Kidman.

    The story follows the coming of age of two children, Lyra Belacqua and Will Parry, born into different, parallel worlds but with the ability to travel between them. 

    The first book in the trilogy opens in Jordan College, Oxford. Lyra Belacqua, an orphan who lives with the scholars, runs wild through college, getting into scrapes with her daemon Pantalaimon and her best friend Roger. But before too long, Lyra’s Uncle, Lord Asriel, returns and she becomes embroiled in a world of magic, mystery and peril. When her friend Billy Costa becomes the latest in a string of Gyptian children to go missing, Lyra is compelled to investigate, putting herself and Roger into grave danger.

    Lyra’s adventures throughout the trilogy are as exciting as they are fantastic – travelling to the icy North and crossing into unknown worlds, Lyra and Pan make friends with the most unlikely companions, from Lee Scoresby the Texan balloonist to the fearsome queen of the witches, Serafina Pekkala and the disgraced armoured bear Iorek Byrnison.

    Lyra is one of the bravest heroines in literature – prepared to take on the Gobblers (General Oblation Board) who are stealing children, the terrifying Mrs Coulter and ultimately the Magisterium who rule Lyra’s universe. Her journey will have immense consequences, even beyond her own world. 

    We recommend the series for young adult readers, from age 10. You need to read Philip Pullman’s books in order, starting with book 1 The Northern Lights. We also highly recommend the His Dark Materials audiobooks. 

    For fans of His Dark Materials, Pullman’s second series The Book of Dust, tells more of Lyra’s story at different points in her life, as well as some other His Dark Materials characters, although this series is recommended for adults. 

    All the His Dark Materials books in order:

    Book 1: The Northern Lights (1995)
    Book 2: The Subtle Knife (1997)
    Book 3: The Amber Spyglass (known as The Golden Compass in the USA) (2000)
    Novella: Lyra’s Oxford (2003)
    Novella: Once Upon a Time in the North (2008)

    Book 1
    Book 1

    His Dark Materials: Northern Lights

    THE BOOK BEHIND THE BBC SERIES 'HIS DARK MATERIALS' - now with a TV tie-in cover "Without this child, we sh... More

    (10 reviews)
    Review
    Book 2
    Book 2

    The Subtle Knife

    NOW A MAJOR, CRITICALLY ACCLAIMED BBC/HBO TV SERIES"What is he? A friend, or an enemy?" "He is a murderer." ... More

    (12 reviews)
    Review
    Book 3
    Book 3

    The Amber Spyglass

    The third volume in Philip Pullman's incredible HIS DARK MATERIALS trilogy. First published in 2000, and acclaimed... More

    (4 reviews)
    Review

    Lyra's Oxford

    This is a wonderful new episode from the world of Philip Pullman's bestselling trilogy, His Dark Materials. In Lyra's Ox... More

    (2 reviews)
    Review

    Once Upon a Time in the North

    When Lyra is studying at Oxford University, she comes across the story of Lee Scoresby and Iorek Byrnisson's first mee... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    View all Books
    Featured Book
    Pop!: Fizzy drinks. A trillion dollars. The adventure that ends with a bang.
    Pop!: Fizzy drinks. A trillion dollars. The adventure that ends with a bang.

    BOOK OF THE MONTH: Mitch Johnson, bestselling author of Kick is back with another action-packed adventure about the power of courage. For ages 9+

    View book
    Featured Books

    Most Popular Book

    Recent Reviews

    • The Subtle Knife

      The Subtle Knife

      by EJRD

      The thing that I love about this is that it is an amazing adventure and it can get very tense sometimes, and even if you know what happens in the stor...

    • His Dark Materials: Northern Lights

      His Dark Materials: Northern Lights

      by EJRD

      The reason I like This book is that it is about a thrilling adventure. One thing I didn't like about it was that the idea of the daemons sometimes did...

    • His Dark Materials: Northern Lights

      His Dark Materials: Northern Lights

      I absolutely loved reading this book! I wasn’t instantly hooked but a few chapters on, I found that I was really engrossed. I found the end really sad...