Maudlin Towers Series

by
(8 reviews)

For a creepy series with black-and-white illustrations for readers aged 7+, we should recommend this series about a gloom-laden, gargoyle-infested monstrosity of a school by the fantastic Chris Priestley.

Welcome to Maudlin Towers, the weirdest school ever, attended by two best friends and protagonists Mildew and Sponge. In each book our curious protagonists must solve a new mystery, whether it's getting to the bottom of who has stolen the School Spoon, finding a buried treasure to stop the school from closing, or  figuring out why a meteor has crash-landed in their school grounds. 

The books are filled with action, gothic vibes and school mishaps, perfect for fans of A Series Of Unfortunate EventsChris Riddell or Artemis Fowl.


All the Maudlin Towers books in order:

Book 1: Curse of the Werewolf Boy (2017)
Book 2: Treasure of the Golden Skull (2018)
Book 3: Attack of the Meteor Monsters (2019)

Book 1
Book 1

Curse of the Werewolf Boy

‘We shall be detectives, Sponge!’ exclaimed Mildew. ‘We shall solve the Mystery of the School Spoon!’ Mildew and Sponge... MoreCurse of the Werewolf Boy

(7 reviews)
Review
Book 2
Book 2

Treasure of the Golden Skull

Return to the weird and wonderful world of Maudlin Towers for a second adventure – brilliantly written and illustrated t... MoreTreasure of the Golden Skull

(1 review)
Review
Book 3
Book 3

Attack of the Meteor Monsters

Discover the weird and wonderful world of Maudlin Towers – brilliantly written and illustrated throughout by Chris Pries... MoreAttack of the Meteor Monsters

(0 reviews)
Review
View all Books

New Book

Most Popular Book

Recent Reviews

  • Curse of the Werewolf Boy

    Curse of the Werewolf Boy

    I really enjoyed reading this book. I will definitely read more books by this author as I enjoyed it. My favourite character would have to be Sponge a...

  • Curse of the Werewolf Boy

    Curse of the Werewolf Boy

    The world of Maudlin Towers is all new to me (I particularly liked the in-joke of ‘Professor Riddell’ as art teacher). It took a little while to warm...

  • Curse of the Werewolf Boy

    Curse of the Werewolf Boy

    This books is funny and I would recommend it to other children between the ages of 9-10. It is the BEST book I have read so far!...