Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

Barry Loser Series

by
  • (93 reviews)

    Barry Loser is a madcap illustrated series for kids aged 6+ and a must-read for any child that loves silly books.

    Barry Loser didn’t mind his name being “Loser” because his coolness “has always cancelled it out". But when Darren Darrenofski joins the school, he starts to tease him and call him names, the previous cool Barry suddenly becomes a loser for real. Can he come up with an amaze-keel plan to get him back on track?

    Written and illustrated by Jim Smith, the series has been awarded the Royal Dahl Funny Prize for the Funniest Book for I am Still Not a Loser. With silly jokes, pranks, funny drawings and plenty of burps and farts, the Barry Loser books are perfect for fans of Captain Underpants, Tom Gates and Diary of a Wimpy Kid.

    All the Barry Loser books in order:

    Book 1: I Am Not a Loser (2012)
    Book 2: I Am Still Not a Loser (2013)
    Book 3: I Am So Over Being a Loser (2013)
    Book 4: I Am Sort of a Loser (2014)
    Book 5: Barry Loser and the Holiday of Doom (2014)
    Book 6: Barry Loser and the Case of the Crumpled Carton (2015)
    Book 7: Barry Loser Hates Half Term (2016)
    Book 8: Barry Loser and the Birthday Billions (2017)
    Book 9: Barry Loser Worst School Trip Ever (2018)
    Book 10: Barry Loser is the best at football NOT (2018)

    Book 1
    Book 1

    Barry Loser: I am Not a Loser: Tom Fletcher Book Club 2017 Title

    Roald Dahl Funny Prize-winning series, perfect for fans of Dennis the Menace, Diary of a Wimpy Kid, Tom Gates, and... More

    (9 reviews)
    Review
    Book 2
    Book 2

    I am still not a Loser

    The second book in this madcap must-read series for 6+ boys You know when someone's horrible to you in a... More

    (8 reviews)
    Review
    Book 3
    Book 3

    I am so over being a Loser

    The third book in this funny madcap must-read series for 7+ boys and girls. If you liked The Diary of a Wimpy Kid, you... More

    (5 reviews)
    Review
    Book 4
    Book 4

    I am sort of a Loser

    Roald Dahl Funny Prize-winning series, perfect for fans of Dennis the Menace, Diary of a Wimpy Kid, Tom Gates, and Mr ... More

    (10 reviews)
    Review
    Book 5
    Book 5

    Barry Loser and the Holiday of Doom

    Roald Dahl Funny Prize-winning series, perfect for fans of Dennis the Menace, Diary of a Wimpy Kid, Tom Gates, and... More

    (6 reviews)
    Review
    Book 6
    Book 6

    Barry Loser and the Case of the Crumpled Carton

    The brilliant Roald Dahl Funny Prize winning BARRY LOSER series. Perfect for readers aged 7-10 years ol... More

    (7 reviews)
    Review
    Book 7
    Book 7

    Barry Loser Hates Half Term

    The seventh book in the brilliant Roald Dahl Funny Prize winning BARRY LOSER Loser series. Perfect for ... More

    (13 reviews)
    Review
    Book 8
    Book 8

    Barry Loser and the birthday billions

    The eighth book in the brilliant Roald Dahl Funny Prize winning BARRY LOSER series. Perfect for readers... More

    (13 reviews)
    Review
    Book 9
    Book 9

    Barry Loser: worst school trip ever!

    The ninth book in the brilliant Roald Dahl Funny Prize winning BARRY LOSER series. ... More

    (4 reviews)
    Review
    Book 10
    Book 10

    Barry Loser is the best at football NOT!

    The tenth book in the brilliant Roald Dahl Funny Prize winning BARRY LOSER series. ... More

    (4 reviews)
    Review
    Book 11
    Book 11

    Barry Loser's Christmas Joke Book

    Knock knock! Who's there? Barry Loser's Christmas Joke Book Wow! Really? It's snow joke... ... More

    (12 reviews)
    Review
    Book 12
    Book 12

    Barry Loser's Ultimate Book of Keelness

    The ultimate companion to the brilliant Roald Dahl Funny Prize winning BARRY LOSER series. Perfect for readers aged 7-10... More

    (1 review)
    Review
    Book 13
    Book 13

    I am still not a Loser

    The second book in this madcap must-read series for 6+ boys You know when someone's horrible to you in a... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    Book 14
    Book 14

    BARRY LOSER: TOTAL WINNER

    Brand new adventures for Barry Loser in this new series of full colour graphic novels - perfect for fan... More

    (1 review)
    Review
    Book 15
    Book 15

    Barry Loser: I am Not a Loser

    Roald Dahl Funny Prize-winning series, perfect for fans of Dennis the Menace, Diary of a Wimpy Kid, Tom Gates, and... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    View all Books
    Featured Book
    Neon's Secret Universe
    Neon's Secret Universe

    BOOK OF THE MONTH - Get ready to discover the real story behind unicorns in this funny, magical, new series for ages 7+ from bestselling author Sibéal Pounder.

    View book
    Featured Books

    New Book

    Most Popular Book

    Recent Reviews

    • BARRY LOSER: TOTAL WINNER

      BARRY LOSER: TOTAL WINNER

      by Dimi

      This book is great. I've read all Barry Loser books and this is the best one. I like that it is colourful and made like comic book and it also has epi...

    • I am still not a Loser

      I am still not a Loser

      This was the first book I have read in this series. It makes the Captain Underpants books look like literary giants. I have awarded 2 stars as it migh...

    • I am so over being a Loser

      I am so over being a Loser

      by 4CMa

      I would rate this book 5 out of 5 stars because I think it is really funny. It is similar to all of the Barry Loser books. My favourite part is when B...