Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

Blackbeard's Treasure

by

Blackbeard's Treasure Reviews | Toppsta

Book Rating: 4 based on 8
8 Reviews
Write a Review

A riveting pirate tale set in the eighteenth century during the golden age of piracy in the Caribbean, perfect for fans of Emma Carroll and Jacqueline Wilson.

It's 1718: pirate ships sail the oceans and brutal slave masters control the plantations.
Eleven-year-old Abigail Buckler lives with her father in the Caribbean. Her clothes are made of finest muslin so she can't play in them, not that there's anyone to play with anyway. She isn't even allowed to go out alone. But when pirates attack Abigail's life will change forever. Suddenly her old certainties about right and wrong, good and bad start to unravel.
Maybe Abigail doesn't have to be so ladylike after all...
Packed with historical detail about the Atlantic slave trade, the ravages of empire and human cost of providing luxuries like sugar, cotton and tobacco to Europe, Blackbeard's Treasure is a page-turning, swashbuckling adventure which takes a look at the real pirates of the Caribbean.

Blackbeard's Treasure Reviews | Toppsta

9781801990967

Share on

Featured Book
The Last Hours: Chain of Thorns
The Last Hours: Chain of Thorns

BOOK OF THE MONTH - The exciting and much-awaited conclusion to Cassandra Clare's Last Hours series, you will not want to miss this!

View book
Featured Books

Videos

If you would like to provide a video review please sign up to our video panel.

Series

This is Book 4 in the Flashbacks Series. See all Flashbacks books here.

Category

See More Historical fiction

See More Adventure stories

Sign up to our newsletter for...

Free Book Giveaways, Recommendations & more

Show More (0)
ajax loader

REVIEWER'S AGE

         
Age 6 8 9 10
Featured Book
The Last Hours: Chain of Thorns
The Last Hours: Chain of Thorns

BOOK OF THE MONTH - The exciting and much-awaited conclusion to Cassandra Clare's Last Hours series, you will not want to miss this!

View book
Featured Books

About Iszi Lawrence

Iszi Lawrence is a comedian, podcaster and history presenter. She is the co-host of BBC Radio 4's Making History and runs workshops for academic institutions teaching people to be engaging public speakers. Iszi is a purple belt in Japanese style Jiu Jitsu so she also spends time in the week helping to teach short people (7-11 year olds) how to punch her in t

More about Iszi Lawrence

Ratings

  • (4 Reviews)
  • (1 Reviews)
  • (2 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (1 Reviews)