Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

Billie Swift Takes Flight

by

Billie Swift Takes Flight Reviews | Toppsta

Book Rating: 4 based on 5
5 Reviews
Write a Review

A gripping, entertaining and empowering WWII adventure about the women of the Air Transport Auxiliary, perfect for fans of Emma Carroll, Michael Morpurgo and Hilary McKay.

The story of WWII starring the brilliant pilots you've never heard of... the women of the Air Transport Auxiliary (ATA) who battled against the odds to get the air force's planes to the front lines.
When twelve-year-old Billie is out exploring with her pet chicken, she sees a plane crash into a field and is left wondering if the pilot even survived. Determined to find out more, Billie finds a way into the ATA - a group of amazing pilots who defy the odds to get planes from the factories to the front lines - and her life changes for ever. Some of the pilots are men who are too old, or too injured for the air force. But many more are women. Intrepid, inspiring women who show Billie what she might grow up to become.
With missions including ferrying turkeys over from Ireland and flying unfamiliar, broken planes, Billie is desperate to help. But piloting fighter planes could turn out to be more than she bargained for...

Billie Swift Takes Flight Reviews | Toppsta

9781472988171

Share on

Featured Book
Eddie Albert and the Amazing Animal Gang: The Amsterdam Adventure
Eddie Albert and the Amazing Animal Gang: The Amsterdam Adventure

BOOK OF THE MONTH: The hilarious and action-packed middle grade adventure from beloved comedian and bestselling author Paul O’Grady. Perfect for ages 8+

View book
Featured Books

Videos

If you would like to provide a video review please sign up to our video panel.

Sign up to our newsletter for...

Free Book Giveaways, Recommendations & more

Show More (0)
ajax loader

REVIEWER'S AGE

         
Age 8 9 10 11
Featured Book
Eddie Albert and the Amazing Animal Gang: The Amsterdam Adventure
Eddie Albert and the Amazing Animal Gang: The Amsterdam Adventure

BOOK OF THE MONTH: The hilarious and action-packed middle grade adventure from beloved comedian and bestselling author Paul O’Grady. Perfect for ages 8+

View book
Featured Books

About Iszi Lawrence

Iszi Lawrence is a comedian, podcaster and history presenter. She is the co-host of BBC Radio 4's Making History and runs workshops for academic institutions teaching people to be engaging public speakers. Iszi is a purple belt in Japanese style Jiu Jitsu so she also spends time in the week helping to teach short people (7-11 year olds) how to punch her in t

More about Iszi Lawrence

Ratings

  • (2 Reviews)
  • (2 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (1 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)