The Secret Detectives
Compare Prices Add to Wishlist

The Secret Detectives

by

The Secret Detectives Reviews | Toppsta

Book Rating: 5 based on 21
21 Reviews
Write a Review

A gripping, beautifully written historical mystery, from an incredible new voice in children's fiction.
The body seemed to fall for a long time. There was no splash, or if there was it was lost in the waves. Isobel was frozen to the spot for a moment - and then her common sense caught up with her, and she stepped back quickly into the shadows.
When Isobel Petty is orphaned, she finds herself being taken away from her home in India and sent to live with a distant uncle in England. On board the S.S. Marianna, she witnesses a shocking act - somebody being thrown overboard in the middle in the night. But when the ship's captain insists that nobody is missing, Isobel and her two new reluctant friends must solve two mysteries - the identities of both the murderer and the victim - before they reach England and the culprit has the chance to escape.
Inspired by The Secret Garden and the golden age of crime writing, The Secret Detectives is perfect for fans of Robin Stevens and Katherine Rundell.
"A thoroughly entertaining mystery and a heartening story of friendship. I loved it." - Katherine Woodfine, author of The Mystery of the Clockwork Sparrow

The Secret Detectives Reviews | Toppsta

9781788006002
  • ISBN: 9781788006002
  • Pub Date: 3rd June 2021
  • Publisher: Nosy Crow Ltd
  • Imprint: Nosy Crow Ltd
  • Format: Paperback
  • Number of Pages: 336

Share on

Additional Resources

Videos

If you would like to provide a video review please sign up to our video panel.

youtube video play button

Series

This is Book 1 in the The Secret Detectives Mysteries Series. See all The Secret Detectives Mysteries books here.

Category

See More Classic fiction

See More Historical fiction

Sign up to our newsletter for...

Free Book Giveaways, Recommendations & more

Show More (0)
ajax loader

REVIEWER'S AGE

             
Age 6 8 9 10 11 12

About Ella Risbridger

Ella Risbridger is a writer from London. Her first cook book, Midnight Chicken (& Other Recipes Worth Living For), was named a Book Of The Year 2019 by half a dozen different publications, including The Times, The Daily Mail, and The Observer. The Secret Detectives is her debut children's book.

More about Ella Risbridger

Ratings

  • (14 Reviews)
  • (7 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)