Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

Flamingo Boy

by

Flamingo Boy Reviews | Toppsta

Book Rating: 5 based on 13
13 Reviews
Write a Review

A stunning new classic from master storyteller Michael Morpurgo for readers of 9+, in the vein of PRIVATE PEACEFUL and THE BUTTERFLY LION
This is a landmark new novel from the nation's favourite storyteller, set in the unique landscape of the Camargue in the South of France during WW2. There, a young autistic boy lives on his parents' farm among the salt flats, and the flamingos that live there. There are lots of things he doesn't understand: but he does know how to heal animals. He loves routine, and music too: and every week he goes to market with his mother, to ride his special horse on the town carousel.
But then the Germans come, with their guns, and take the town. A soldier shoots a flamingo from the sky, and it falls to earth terribly injured. And even worse is to come: the carousel is damaged, the horses broken. For this vulnerable boy, everything is falling apart.
Only there's a kind sergeant among the Germans - a man with a young boy of his own at home, a man who trained as a carpenter. Between them, perhaps boy and man can mend what has been broken - and maybe even the whole town...

Flamingo Boy Reviews | Toppsta

9780008134631

Share on

Featured Book
Book pages The Snowman: Inspired by the original story by Raymond Briggs
The Snowman: Inspired by the original story by Raymond Briggs

Beloved children's author Michael Morpurgo has re-imagined Raymond Briggs' classic The Snowman for a new generation of readers.

View book
Featured Book
Book pages A Child of Books
A Child of Books

Combining elegant illustrations by Oliver Jeffers and Sam Winston’s astonishing typographical landscapes , this is the perfect picture book gift.

View book

Videos

If you would like to provide a video review please sign up to our video panel.

Category

See More General fiction

Sign up to our newsletter for...

Free Book Giveaways, Recommendations & more

Show More (0)
ajax loader

REVIEWER'S AGE

             
Age 8 9 10 11 12 13
Featured Book
Book pages The Snowman: Inspired by the original story by Raymond Briggs
The Snowman: Inspired by the original story by Raymond Briggs

Beloved children's author Michael Morpurgo has re-imagined Raymond Briggs' classic The Snowman for a new generation of readers.

View book
Featured Book
Book pages A Child of Books
A Child of Books

Combining elegant illustrations by Oliver Jeffers and Sam Winston’s astonishing typographical landscapes , this is the perfect picture book gift.

View book

About Michael Morpurgo

Michael Morpurgo Biography
Michael Morpurgo is an award-winning English author, born in St. Alban’s in 1943. After attending St. Matthias primary school in London, Michael was sent away to boarding school, which he never liked and wrote about in his novel, Butterly Lion.

Later Mi...

More about Michael Morpurgo

Ratings

  • (5 Reviews)
  • (6 Reviews)
  • (2 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)