Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

Flamingo Boy

by

Flamingo Boy Reviews | Toppsta

Book Rating: 5 based on 12
12 Reviews
Write a Review

A stunning new classic from master storyteller Michael Morpurgo for readers of 9+, in the vein of PRIVATE PEACEFUL and THE BUTTERFLY LION

This is a landmark new novel from the nation's favourite storyteller, set in the unique landscape of the Camargue in the South of France during WW2. There, a young autistic boy lives on his parents' farm among the salt flats, and the flamingos that live there. There are lots of things he doesn't understand: but he does know how to heal animals. He loves routine, and music too: and every week he goes to market with his mother, to ride his special horse on the town carousel.

But then the Germans come, with their guns, and take the town. A soldier shoots a flamingo from the sky, and it falls to earth terribly injured. And even worse is to come: the carousel is damaged, the horses broken. For this vulnerable boy, everything is falling apart. Only there's a kind sergeant among the Germans - a man with a young boy of his own at home, a man who trained as a carpenter. Between them, perhaps boy and man can mend what has been broken - and maybe even the whole town...

Flamingo Boy Reviews | Toppsta

9780008134631

Share on

Featured Book
Book pages Starfell: Willow Moss and the Lost Day
Starfell: Willow Moss and the Lost Day

Misfit witch Willow Moss holds the fate of the magical world of Starfell in her rather unremarkable hands . . . A spellbinding new fantasy series for ages 8+

View book
Featured Book
Book pages Malamander
Malamander

Our reviewers LOVED this magical mystery set in Eerie-on-Sea, recommended for ages 8+

View book

Category

See More General fiction

Sign up to our newsletter for...

Free Book Giveaways, Recommendations & more

27th August '18
ChildGenius read it themselves aged 9 aged 9
Flamingo Boy 9780008134631
5 stars
Set in 1942, against the backdrop of World War 2, this heartwarming book is about a 10 year old vulnerable boy called Lorenzo. The story is based in Camargue, France. Lorenzo is my favourite character. This is another classic from the house of Michael Morpurgo. 
11th March '18
Westy10 read it themselves aged 12 aged 12
Flamingo Boy 9780008134631
5 stars
Michael morpurgo proves that you have to be different to make a difference 


Lorenzo is different , more in tune with his beloved flam flams then other children , he struggles his way through life , while being teasesd by other children . when kezia , the travelling daughter of the best of carousel owners , meets him in the court of the town of carmugue , there lives change for ever . they are inserprable , but when the Germans arrive , will kezias life style force them apart ? 


I really liked this book partically the wonderful relationship between animal and Lorenzo . Lorenzo was by far my favourite character , taking on all the sweetest roles as well as the more exciting ones . good for all ages , no gory and casual as any thing . a good introduction to morpurgo . 
25th March '18
I read it myself (an adult)
Flamingo Boy 9780008134631
5 stars
such a wonderful book that has been beautifully written. Lorenzo is such a heart warming character, and you soon fall in love with him. An overall brilliant book from Michael Morpurgo that I recommend to any fan of his.

absolutely brilliant!
24th April '18
Stjlib read it themselves aged 12 aged 12
Flamingo Boy 9780008134631
5 stars
Flamingo Boy by Michael Morpurgo

I really enjoyed this book. This book is based during World War Two. It is about a boy called Vincent who gets lost, has a fever and wakes up on a couch with two strangers. There is a woman named Kezia and an autistic man called Lorenzo. Kezia tells Vincent the story of how she and Lorenzo met and about the carousel her parents owned.
24th April '18
Hermione read it themselves aged 9 aged 9
Flamingo Boy 9780008134631
5 stars
This is the third Michael Morpurgo book I've read and I loved it just as much as I loved the other two!

This is an amazing book. I love reading about World War 2 and this was the best book I've ever read about it! Lorenzo is a really interesting character. The book made me laugh and made me cry. I've told all my friends that they should read this book too! 
16th June '18
Cwader read it themselves aged 13 aged 13
Flamingo Boy 9780008134631
4 stars
this book was not as good as others I have read by Michael morpurgo. I still enjoyed it as I like reading about ww2. It was about an austistic boy who when the Germans came changed everything he knew and liked. An enjoyable read
4th July '18
I read it to Iowmatilda aged 8 aged 8
Flamingo Boy 9780008134631
4 stars
I read this book to my daughter who has just turned 8 and I really enjoyed the story which was classic Morpurgo talent. I think the story and the setting in the context of WW2 may have been a little too much for her and the story is probably better suited to 9/10+ year olds & adults who would enjoy it just as much as children.
18th April '18
Tommyg read it themselves aged 11 aged 11
Flamingo Boy 9780008134631
4 stars
It wasnt my kind of book to be honest and I struggled to get into it. My uncle loves WW2 and he read it and thought it was a good story.
22nd June '18
Ollie05 read it themselves aged 13 aged 13
Flamingo Boy 9780008134631
4 stars
Another great book by Michael Morpurgo, beautifully written. I would recommend this book to friends who like a story set in the past. 
20th April '18
I read it myself (an adult)
Flamingo Boy 9780008134631
4 stars
This book was sent to Bellboo to review because she has loved previous Michael Morpurgo books.  Sadly she couldn't get into this one (not the books fault, I'm sure it's the pressures of the SATS). While I'm sure she will try again at a later date I decided to read it.

As typical Morpurgo Flamingo Boy is beautifully written and all inclusive. The story is set in the final years of ww2 and is mainly based upon a gypsy girl and an autistic boy.  I found this book to be a compelling and poignant read. 

Oh and I love the strapline on the cover 'it's the people who don't fit in who can change the world:
30th March '18
Yoloman read it themselves aged 12 aged 12
Flamingo Boy 9780008134631
3 stars
I was really looking forward to reading this book, I really enjoy anything WW2. I couldn't really get into the book, I felt it was too young for me but not a bad book.
7th September '18
Jim-bob read it themselves aged 12 aged 12
Flamingo Boy 9780008134631
3 stars
I tried to get into this book but although it sounds interesting I found it difficult to get into. I have tried other books my Michael Morpurgo and find that they are not as gripping as the books I normally enjoy. I think I will try this one again and see if I can read it with my family as a friend told me its is a good book. 
Show More (0)
ajax loader
Featured Book
Book pages Starfell: Willow Moss and the Lost Day
Starfell: Willow Moss and the Lost Day

Misfit witch Willow Moss holds the fate of the magical world of Starfell in her rather unremarkable hands . . . A spellbinding new fantasy series for ages 8+

View book
Featured Book
Book pages Malamander
Malamander

Our reviewers LOVED this magical mystery set in Eerie-on-Sea, recommended for ages 8+

View book

About Michael Morpurgo

Michael Morpurgo Biography
Michael Morpurgo is an award-winning English author, born in St. Alban’s in 1943. After attending St. Matthias primary school in London, Michael was sent away to boarding school, which he never liked and wrote about in his novel, Butterly Lion.

Later Mi...

More about Michael Morpurgo

Ratings

    4 stars
  • (5 Reviews)
  • (5 Reviews)
  • (2 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)